我們長達四十年的安寧療護領導地位的歷史

VITAS的元老員工都對於公司從創立至今,持續對於病人、家屬、員工的福祉和安寧療護的發展以及涵蓋所有美國人的承保等項所做的努力感到驕傲。

VITAS Healthcare由衛理公會牧師修·維斯特布魯克(Hugh Westbrook)與擔任護士的意斯特·柯立佛勞爾(Esther Colliflower)在1978年創立,他們都認為美國需要一種有效、以慈悲為懷的生命末期療護。

在VITAS草創之初,曾經與修和意斯特共事過的VITAS員工描述,從白手建立一個醫療專業機構的艱困、活力及振奮人心到目睹它在數十年間的茁壯及擴大。

「四十年前,安寧療護還不是個普遍熟知的字眼,」資深的全國病人療護主管葛瑞絲·費爾南德斯(Grace Fernandez)回憶道。她認為現今一般大眾對於安寧療護的內容及提供方式有了較深入的了解。「我們現在照顧更多的病人,但是實際上,我們當時提供的服務也就是我們今天提供的服務……我認識的有些員工在VITAS工作了30、35年……這是一種使命。」

VITAS:安寧療護的創新先鋒

VITAS的元老員工都對於公司從創立至今,持續對於病人、家屬、員工的福祉和安寧療護的發展以及涵蓋所有美國人的承保等項所做的努力感到驕傲。

「這就是為什麼我們來這裡工作的原因,」曾經擔任VITAS靈性輔導師,現在是執行副總裁兼法規遵循總長的鮑伯‧米勒(Bob Miller)回憶道。「我們希望照顧病人及家屬。」

今天,VITAS聘僱超過12,000位的安寧療護倡議人士,他們每天在14個州及哥倫比亞特區照顧18,000位以上的病人。

對病人及家屬承諾的使命傳承

在其長達40多年的歷史中,VITAS的員工目睹公司開擴新市場、採取新科技、擴大支援服務以符合瞬息萬變的病人需求,並且建立不同疾病的照護施行規範,包括心臟病、慢性肺病、阿茲海默症/失智症、愛滋病及其他惡化疾病等。

「我們絕對是安寧療護的先鋒,對其他許多的計劃及療護機構與安寧療護服務已有著承先啟後的作用,」住院註冊護士,南希·奧斯特(Nancy Auster)表示。「他們以我們為榜樣。因此,我深深以VITAS為榮。」

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

Our Four-Decade History of Hospice Leadership

Long-time VITAS employees take pride in the company’s early and ongoing commitment to its patients, their families, its employees and the evolution of hospice care and coverage for all Americans.

VITAS Healthcare began in 1978, founded by Hugh Westbrook, a Methodist minister, and Esther Colliflower, a nurse, who shared the belief that America needed more effective, compassionate end-of-life care.

VITAS employees who worked with Hugh and Esther during VITAS’ formative years describe the challenges, energy and excitement of creating a healthcare specialty from the ground up—and watching it flourish and expand, decade after decade.

“Forty years ago, hospice was not a word that was common knowledge,” recalls Grace Fernandez, senior national patient care administrator who acknowledges greater public understanding today of what hospice is and how it is delivered. “We are serving more patients, but the truth is that what we did back then is what we do today … I have known employees who have been with VITAS for 30, 35 years…this is a calling.”

VITAS: Hospice Pioneers and Innovators

Long-time VITAS employees take pride in the company’s early and ongoing commitment to its patients, their families, its employees and the evolution of hospice care and coverage for all Americans.

“That is why we all came to work here,” recalls Bob Miller, a former VITAS chaplain who is now executive vice president and chief compliance officer. “We wanted to take care of patients and families.”

Today, VITAS employs over 12,000 hospice advocates who care for more than 18,000 patients daily in 14 states and the District of Columbia.

A Legacy of Commitment to Patients and Families

Throughout its more than 40-year history, VITAS employees have watched the company expand into new markets, embrace technology, expand supportive services to meet ever-changing patient needs, and create disease-specific care protocols for heart disease, chronic lung disease, Alzheimer’s/dementia, HIV/AIDs and other progressive illnesses.

“We are definitely pioneers and we have paved the way for a lot of other programs and healthcare institutions and other hospices,” says Nancy Auster, RN, an admissions nurse. “They modeled after us. I am so proud of VITAS for that.”

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文