愛滋病危機:1980年至90年期間,我們對病人療護及人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病準則的貢獻

一個無藥可治的不明疾病

在1980年代至90年代期間,為患有不明且不治之症疾病的瀕死病人提供安寧療護是什麼樣的情形?

對於在南佛羅里達州愛滋病病人照護專門團隊中工作的VITAS終身員工來說,他們記得那是一個艱困、痛苦、窩心但極有成就感的經驗,至今仍然讓他們駐足思考。

邁阿密唯一為人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病病人提供安寧療護服務的機構

註冊護士兼住院護士,南希‧奧斯特(Nancy Auster)記得當時的情形,「我們是邁阿密唯一肩負這種專門照顧愛滋病病人的專科病人團隊。」 她在負責照顧病人的團隊中工作,這些病人可能是住在家中、車中、街上、高速公路橋下等各種地方,以確保他們得到善心關懷。

在1980年至2000年期間,美國有450,000人死於愛滋病。在1990年代中期,雞尾酒療法重新定義人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病為一種可以治療的慢性病。

VITAS讓大家都能真正了解人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病照護。

在VITAS40年的安寧療護服務提供者歷史中,我們創造了多項重大的里程碑。我們對於在人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病所提供的照護以及所造成的影響深感驕傲。

「當時許多患有人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病的人流落街頭,是因為其他地方不讓他們住在那裡。」當時的護士兼愛滋病團隊經理,如今是VITAS執行副總的佩姬‧佩提(Peggy Pettit)表示。她記得許多愛滋病病人所遭遇到來自朋友、家人,甚至其他的醫療保健從業人員的恐懼、羞辱、排斥。

當時的靈性輔導師但如今是VITAS執行副總兼合規長的鮑伯·米勒(Bob Miller)描述,這個團隊致力在病人稱為家的地方提供他們所需的照護。

「我們會在一天的某個時間和他們見面。」米勒說。「整個團隊會根據病人所在的地方安排會面時間,包括助理、靈性輔導師、社工等。」

Español English

The AIDS Crisis: Our Contribution to Patient Care and HIV/AIDS Protocols in the 1980s-90s

An Unknown Disease with Unknown Treatments

What was it like to provide hospice care to patients in the 1980s–90s who were dying from an unknown disease with no known treatments?

Tenured VITAS employees who worked on dedicated AIDS patient-care teams in South Florida remember their experiences as challenging, heart-breaking, heart-warming and immensely satisfying in ways that still give them pause.

The Only Hospice in Miami to Care for HIV/AIDS Patients

“We were the only hospice in Miami to take on these patients—specialized teams that did nothing but care for AIDS patients,” recalls Nancy Auster, RN and admissions nurse. She worked on teams that cared for patients wherever they lived—homes, in their cars, on the streets, under highway overpasses—to make sure they received compassionate care.

From 1980–2000, AIDS killed 450,000 Americans. By the mid-1990s, antiretroviral treatments had redefined HIV/AIDS as a chronic but treatable disease.

VITAS Took HIV/AIDS Care to the Streets

VITAS has enjoyed many milestones in our 40-year history as a hospice provider. We are particularly proud of the care we provided and the impact we made on the AIDS/HIV epidemic.

“A lot of people with HIV/AIDS were living on the street at the time because other places wouldn’t allow them to live there,” recalls Peggy Pettit, then a nurse and AIDS team manager and now a VITAS executive vice president. She recalls the fear, stigma and rejection that many AIDS patients faced from their friends, families and even other healthcare practitioners.

Then-chaplain Bob Miller, now a VITAS executive vice president and chief compliance officer, describes the teams’ dedication to caring for patients wherever they called home.

“We’d meet them under a bridge at a certain time of the day,” Miller says. “The whole team—the aide, the chaplain, the social worker—we’d make our appointment time to meet the patient where the patient was.”

Español 繁體中文