關於VITAS的重要事實

以下為關於VITAS Healthcare的一些資料和數據:

  • VITAS在安寧療護方面擁有40年的經驗,並且是美國最大生命末期照護單一來源的提供者。
  • VITAS這個名稱的發音是「VEE-tahs」,其詞義源自拉丁文「生命」的意思。
  • 12,176位VITAS的專業人員,每天對全美14州以及哥倫比亞特區大約17,743名病人提供照護。
  • VITAS是杜克生命末期療護研究機構(Duke Institute on Care at the End of Life)的創辦捐助人,該機構是全國第一個為臨終者推展研究、教育和照護的綜合研究機構。
  • 《生命末期療護》(End of Life Care)是一本具有權威性的安寧療護書籍,於2002年初版並且於2011年再版。該書由VITAS的首席醫療官,巴利‧金茲布魯諾(Barry M. Kinzbrunner,MD、FACP、FAAHPM)醫師所編撰,並且由VITAS的19位從醫師到靈性輔導師等各種安寧療護學科的臨床專家供稿而成。
  • VITAS榮獲世界人道促進協會(Rainbow/PUSH Coalition)所頒發的健康開拓者獎(Trailblazer Health Award ),主要表彰VITAS一直以來不斷努力喚起更多非裔美國人對安寧療護服務的認知並能善加利用。
  • 2018年,VITAS為全美安寧療護病人提供了1140萬美元的慈善療護。這代表我們平均總營收的1%,如此的比例少有(如果有的話)安寧療護業者能望其項背。
  • 3,168位訓練有素的VITAS義工在2018年期間,提供了321,157小時的照護服務。

最後更新:2019年2月

自從1978年以來,VITAS一直是安寧療護的先驅者。

Español English

Fast Facts about VITAS

Here are some facts and figures about VITAS Healthcare:

  • VITAS has 40 years of experience in hospice care and is the nation's largest single-source provider of end-of-life care.
  • The name VITAS is pronounced VEE-tahs and is derived from the Latin word for "lives."
  • 12,176 VITAS professionals provide care to approximately 17,743 patients daily throughout 14 U.S. states and the District of Columbia.
  • VITAS is a Founding Benefactor of the Duke Institute on Care at the End of Life, the nation’s first comprehensive institute for the advancement of research, education and caregiving for those near death.
  • The authoritative hospice text, originally published in 2002 and reprinted in 2011 as End of Life Care: A Practical Guide, was compiled by VITAS Chief Medical Officer Barry M. Kinzbrunner, MD, FACP, FAAHPM, with contributions by 19 VITAS clinicians—from physicians to chaplains, and every hospice discipline in between.
  • VITAS has won the Trailblazer Health Award presented by the Rainbow/PUSH Coalition in recognition of VITAS’ ongoing efforts to expand awareness of and access to hospice services for African Americans.
  • VITAS Healthcare provided $11.4 million in genuine charity care to hospice patients nationwide in 2018. This represents an average of 1 percent of our gross revenues—a ratio that few, if any, hospice providers can match.
  • 3,168 trained VITAS volunteers provided 321,157 hours of care during 2018.

Last updated: February 2019

VITAS has been a pioneer in hospice care since 1978.

Español 繁體中文