安寧療護轉介流程

您的病人已準備接受安寧療護?

VITAS是生命末期療護的專家。我們的安寧療護團隊皆經過訓練,能理解病人與家屬疲於應付晚期疾病的情況,並能管理醫療服務過渡到與他們的目標、願望及價值觀一致的療護服務。

如何將病人轉介至安寧療護

安寧療護轉介是由臨床醫事人員提出;而VITAS的安寧療護轉介流程十分簡單。

我們敦促所有醫療服務專業人員與您的病人進行療護目標對話;我們可協助您促成此一對話。您只需致電我們。您也可以從我們的網路研討會以及現場培訓課程中取得關於安寧療護的教育教材

無論是透過電話、網上或是我們的行動應用程式,安寧療護的轉介流程既簡單又安全。您可要求VITAS按您方便的時間及方式聯絡您;我們提供可協助您安心確定安寧療護適用資格的指南

  1. 確定您的病人是否適合接受安寧療護。 安寧療護有一般指南及針對各種疾病的指南,以確定病人的適用資格。安寧療護病人固定接受安寧療護團隊的評估,以確定在6個月之後是否仍然符合安寧療護資格。您的病人是否符合資格? 在此取得附有互動式PPS量表的安寧療護適用資格指南。
  2. 與您的病人及/或其家屬進行一次療護目標對話。與病人進行生命末期對話並非易事,但是也有實用方法可讓此一對話容易些。談論生命末期療護偏好的最佳時間是在病人的疾病仍屬早期的時候。可根據新的症狀、疾病惡化的跡象、選項、事前療護規劃,以及安寧療護及緩和療護可如何提供協助等方面在定期看診時討論此話題。您可使用我們的VITAS行動應用程式來協助您進行與病人的對話。病人與家屬仰賴您的專業知識。如果您需要協助以進行療護目標對話,您可依靠VITAS訓練有素的職員及隨時可用的各種資源。
  3. 轉介。選擇最適合您的方式:
    • 使用我們的安寧療護轉介應用程式 透過行動裝置上的表格或面部截圖來獲得VITAS在應用程式內的確認,這就是簡單、安全且順暢的安寧療護轉介流程。我們的應用程式提供針對不同疾病的指南與互動式評估工具,以確定適用資格。 立即下載VITAS應用程式,根據您的職務進行客製化並且立即開始轉介病人。
    • 使用我們的網上安療護轉介表格 我們安全的安寧療護轉介表格要求您驗證自己的身分和提供病人資料並附上聯絡資訊。
    • 致電VITAS,服務電話:855.336.1418以轉介適合安寧療護的病人。 VITAS安寧療護住院專業人員將會接聽您的電話,無論白天或晚上、全年無休。您必須提供您的身分資料以及病人的姓名、電話號碼、居住城市、州名和郵遞區號。

患有晚期疾病的病人及家屬深知時間的價值。請確保給予他們時間考慮及時提供且充分說明的安寧療護轉介事宜,因此時正是他們最需要時間的時候。

安寧療護轉介事實

近70%的美國人表示,如果有選擇,他們希望死在家中。1安寧療護可協助病人在生命末期達成這個目標。

病人的家屬對於安寧療護都有好印象:

  • 當病人接受安寧療護時,有超過70%的家屬都對此項照護評為「極佳」2
  • 當病人死於醫院環境或居家醫療服務中時,僅不到50%的家屬將此項照護評為「極佳」2

五分之一的人表示其家中有人在過去一年中曾經有過安寧療護體驗。2其中:

  • 87%表示他們對於安寧療護有正面的看法3
  • 58%表示有非常正面的看法3

及時的安寧療護轉介可確保您的病人可獲得VITAS照護模式下的更多照護;我們的照護模式確保與您的執業機構協作並控制好病人的症狀。

1Kaiser Family Foundation/The Economist Four-Country Survey of Aging and End-of-Life Medical Care (2017). 調查時間為2016年3月30日至5月29日。

2Teno J.M., Clarridge B.R., et al. (2004). Family perspectives on end-of-life care at the last place of care. JAMA, 291(1):88–93.

3Hamel, L., Wu, B., and Brodie, M. (2017). Views and experiences with end-of-life medical care in the U.S. The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Menlo Park, CA.

Español English

The Hospice Referral Process

Is your patient ready for hospice?

At VITAS, we are specialists in end-of-life care. Our hospice teams are trained to understand patients and families as they cope with advanced illness and to manage healthcare transitions to care that aligns with their goals, wishes and values.

How to Refer a Patient to Hospice

Hospice referrals are made by a clinician, and VITAS makes the hospice referral process simple.

We urge all healthcare professionals to have a goals-of-care conversation with your patients—and we can help you facilitate it. Just give us a call. You can also get education about hospice from our webinars and in-person trainings.

We make hospice referrals simple and secure, whether by phone, online or our mobile app. You can ask VITAS to contact you when and how you prefer, and we provide guidelines that help you determine hospice eligibility with confidence.

  1. Determine whether your patient is eligible for hospice care. Hospice has guidelines, both general and disease-specific, to determine patient eligibility. Hospice patients are assessed by their hospice team at regular intervals to determine continued eligibility beyond 6 months. Is your patient eligible? Find hospice-eligibility guidelines here with an interactive PPS Scale.
  2. Have a goals-of-care conversation with your patient and/or their family. An end-of-life conversation with a patient can be difficult, but there are proven ways to make it easier. The best time to talk about end-of-life preferences is early in a patient’s disease. Approach the topic during regular office visits, based on new symptoms, signs of disease progression, options, advance care planning, and facts about how hospice and palliative care can help. You can use our VITAS mobile app to support your conversation with your patients. Patients and families rely on your expertise. If you need help with goals-of-care conversations, rely on trained VITAS staff and readily available resources to help.
  3. Refer. Choose the method that works best for you:
    • From our hospice referral app. Hospice referrals are easy, secure and seamless via mobile form or face sheet capture, both of which result in an in-app confirmation from VITAS. Rely on the app for disease-specific guidelines and interactive assessment tools to determine eligibility. Download the VITAS app now, personalize it based on your role and begin referring patients immediately.
    • With our online hospice referral form. Our secure hospice referral form asks you to identify yourself and provide information about the patient, with contact information.
    • Call VITAS at 855.336.1418 to refer a hospice-eligible patient. A VITAS hospice admissions professional will answer your call at any time of the day or night, 365 days a year. You’ll be asked to provide your own identification information along with the patient’s first and last name, phone number and city, state and ZIP code.

Patients with advanced illness and their families understand the value of time. Make sure that a timely, well-informed hospice referral gives them time when they need it most.

Hospice Referral Facts

Nearly 70% of Americans indicate they would prefer to die at home, if given a choice.1 Hospice care can help patients achieve that goal at end of life.

Patients' families share a favorable view of hospice care:

  • More than 70% of families rate the care as "excellent" when patients received hospice care2
  • Less than 50% of families rate the care as "excellent" when patients died in an institutional setting or with home health services2

One in five people reported that someone in their household had an experience with hospice care in the past year.2 Of those:

  • 87% said they have a positive opinion of hospice3
  • 58% who had a very positive opinion3

Timely hospice referral ensures your patients can receive more care with the VITAS Care model, ensuring we coordinate with your practice and keep the symptoms of their disease managed.

1Kaiser Family Foundation/The Economist Four-Country Survey of Aging and End-of-Life Medical Care (2017). Conducted March 30–May 29, 2016.

2Teno J.M., Clarridge B.R., et al. (2004). Family perspectives on end-of-life care at the last place of care. JAMA, 291(1):88–93.

3Hamel, L., Wu, B., and Brodie, M. (2017). Views and experiences with end-of-life medical care in the U.S. The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Menlo Park, CA.