從醫院療護過渡到居家療護

安寧療護專家團隊

從治癒性療護過渡到安寧療護是個讓人非常感傷的時刻,因為家人必須面對摯愛的病況或局限生命診斷的事實。一旦病人接受VITAS的安寧療護,他們的家庭就會進入「全新正常的」生活方式,因為他們將在家中照顧摯愛,這是他們往往很少或根本沒有準備的一項任務。

但我們會提供一群安寧療護專家團隊,步步引導和支持病人與家屬,讓他們能更輕鬆調適過渡的過程。

提供服務

安寧療護團隊的工作是確保病人與家屬獲得他們需要的服務、用品以及資訊,以便在自已方便的家中(無論家是指何處),能感到舒適、平靜和自信。

團隊成員包括一位醫師、護士、安寧療護護佐、社工、靈性輔導師以及義工。他們隨時可提供服務。從醫院或療養院一開始過渡到居家安寧療護時,團隊成員會向家人和照顧者仔細解說當時與未來會發生的事情,以及如何照顧他們的摯愛。在接下來的數週中,安寧療護團隊成員將定期進行探訪,持續對家屬提供疼痛與症狀處理、個人護理、病人照護的指導與安慰。

協助病人轉換到安寧療護

過渡到安寧療護也可能包括特殊醫療設備的使用。無論病人的需求為何,輪椅、醫院病床、氧氣筒等等,安寧療護人員都確保這些設備運送至病人家中,同時指導家屬充分了解其使用方法。

視病人的病況而定,病人可能在一天日夜當中的不同時間點要服用多種藥物。安寧療護團隊成員會安排藥物,確保訂購和取得續配藥物,並妥善處置不再需要的藥物。

過渡到居定安寧療護可能壓力很大,無論「家」對於重症病人來說是私人住宅、療養院還是生活輔助社區。有了安寧療護團隊支持這個過渡的過程,他們永遠無需孤單前行。

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

Transitioning Care From the Hospital to Home

A Team of Hospice Specialists

The transition from curative care to hospice care is an emotional time, especially as families face the reality of a loved one’s condition or life-limiting diagnosis. Once a patient has been admitted to VITAS, the family shifts into “a new normal” way of life marked by caring for their loved one at home, a task for which they’ve often had little or no preparation.

But we make the transition easier for both the patient and the family by providing a team of hospice specialists to guide and support them every step of the way.

Providing Service

The job of the hospice team is to make sure the patient and their family are getting the services, supplies and information they need to be comfortable, calm and confident in the convenience of their own home, wherever home may be.

Team members include a physician, nurse, hospice aide, social worker, chaplain and volunteer. They are always available. From the beginning of the transition from hospital or nursing home to hospice care at home, team members carefully explain to family members and caregivers what is happening, what to expect and how to care for their loved one. During the weeks to come, hospice team members visit on a regular basis, providing continuous pain and symptom management, personal care, patient care instruction and reassurance to the family.

Helping Patients Transition to Hospice

Transitioning to hospice care may also include the use of special medical equipment. Whatever the patient needs—a wheelchair, hospital bed, oxygen—the hospice staff ensures it is delivered to the patient’s home and the family is fully instructed on its use.

Depending on the patient’s condition, several medications may need to be administered at different times of the day and night. Hospice team members organize medications, make sure refills are ordered and received, and ensure proper disposal of medications that are no longer needed.

Transitions to hospice care at home can be stressful, whether “home” for a seriously ill patient is a private residence, nursing home or assisted living community home. With a hospice team supporting the transition, they’ll never have to go it alone.

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文