誰支付安寧療護的費用?

取得指南:聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利

沒有理由基於財務考量而推遲安寧療護。聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利是一種全面性福利;在這項福利中,凡是與末期疾病相關的所有服務皆由聯邦醫療保險Part A承保,最高可達100%。若是與末期疾病無關的照護,仍然由聯邦醫療保險Part A及Part B承保,並且適用所有一般規定(例如:自付額、承保方針和自付額)。

承保包括安寧療護所涉及的一切,從護士、醫師和其他醫療服務專業人員的探訪到治療、藥物和需用品。

顯示安寧療護支付方的圓形圖

您如何支付安寧療護的費用?

對於沒有資格獲得聯邦醫療保險或州政府醫療保險的人,安寧療護的支付可以來自也提供安寧療護福利的私人保險業者或健康維護機構(HMO)。

安寧療護聘請財務專家幫助沒有資格獲得聯邦援助和沒有保險的家庭來尋找可用的資源。這些家庭的付款選擇包括自費和由慈善組織付費。

面對末期疾病會帶來很多擔憂。支付生命末期療護的費用不只是其中一項。

誰負責支付居家安寧療護的費用?

聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利承保與病人末期診斷相關的生命末期服務。承保地點可為任何病人稱為家的環境中,無論是傳統的住家、生活輔助設施,或療養院。無論安寧療護發生在任何地方,所有與末期診斷的服務皆由聯邦醫療保險 Part A承保,最高可達100%。

如果病人的症狀無法經由例行等級的安寧療護處理時,則他們所需的額外等級服務(例如24/7持續性療護或住院安寧療護)也可透過聯邦醫療保險Part A獲得補助,病人與家屬不必支付額外的費用。

聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利

聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利為以下服務提供承保:

資料來源:《NHPCO的實況和數據:在美國的安寧療護》(NHPCO's Facts and Figures: Hospice Care in America)。

查看VITAS的聯絡資料、安寧療護資料下載及帳單資料。

Who Pays for Hospice?

Get the Guide: The Medicare Hospice Benefit

There is no reason to defer hospice care due to financial concerns. The Medicare Hospice Benefit is an inclusive benefit, in which all services that are related to the terminal illness are covered up to 100 percent by Medicare Part A. Care that is unrelated to the terminal illness continues to be covered by Medicare Parts A and B, with all normal rules applicable (e.g., co-payments, coverage guidelines and deductibles).

Coverage includes everything involved in hospice care, from visits by a nurse, physician and other healthcare professionals to therapy, medication and supplies.

A pie chart showing who pays for hospice

How Do You Pay for Hospice Care?

For those not eligible for Medicare or Medicaid, payment for hospice can come from private insurance or an HMO, since these also include a hospice benefit.

Hospices employ financial specialists to help families who do not qualify for federal assistance and do not have insurance find available resources. The payment options for these families include self-pay and charitable organizations.

Facing a terminal illness brings with it many concerns. Paying for end-of-life care shouldn’t be one of them.

Who Pays for Hospice Care at Home?

The Medicare Hospice Benefit covers end-of-life services related to a patient’s terminal diagnosis in whatever setting the patient calls home, whether that’s a traditional residence, an assisted living facility, or nursing home. Wherever hospice occurs, all services related to the terminal diagnosis are covered up to 100% by Medicare Part A.

If the patient’s symptoms cannot be managed by the routine level of hospice care, additional levels of service, such as 24/7 continuous care or inpatient hospice care, will also be financed through Medicare Part A at no additional expense to the patient or family.

Does Medicare Pay for Hospice in a Skilled Nursing Facility?

Yes, hospice services provided in a nursing facility are covered by Medicare. In a nursing home setting, hospice helps patients, families, and nursing home staff by providing end-of-life resources and support. The Medicare Hospice Benefit covers services, medications, supplies and equipment that are related to life-limiting illness. It does not, however, cover expenses associated with room and board. These skilled nursing facility room-and-board expenses are often covered by Medicaid when the patient meets the state’s financial eligibility requirements.

The Medicare and Medicaid Hospice benefit also includes a provision for respite care and inpatient care, which can also be provided in a nursing facility for short stays.  When the need for respite or inpatient hospice care is identified by the hospice team, the total costs associated with the care are covered under the hospice benefit.

The Medicare Hospice Benefit

The Medicare Hospice Benefit provides coverage for the following services:

Source: NHPCO's Facts and Figures: Hospice Care in America

Find VITAS contact information, hospice care downloads and billing information.