保險是否承保安寧療護?

如果您或至親正在考慮參加安寧療護,您可能會擔心將產生的任何潛在費用。事實上,99%的安寧療護病人無需支付自付費用1。大約90%的安寧療護病人依靠聯邦醫療保險和州政府醫療保險來支付醫療費用,其餘的人則轉向其他財務來源,對大多數人來說指的是私人保險。

多數人透過僱主或退休計劃加入醫療保險計劃,而其他人則透過服務提供者私下購買醫療保險計劃。私人保險計劃一般都全額承保安寧療護和緩和療護費用,但每個計劃適用資格的條款與條件可能有所不同。

大多數私人醫療保險計劃與聯邦醫療保險對於安寧療護的條件一致:病人必須被診斷患有末期疾病,顯示預估生命期為6個月或更短,且選擇不接受治癒性治療。

私人保險承保的安寧療護服務

一旦您符合保險公司所訂的資格,您應確認計劃將承保哪些服務,以及您要負責哪些(如果有)費用。

以下是以聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利為藍本的私人醫療保險計劃所通常承保的一些安寧療護服務:

  • 配置安寧療護專業人員的療護團隊
  • 居家醫療設備和需用品
  • 與末期診斷相關的用藥
  • 喘息療護
  • 持續性療護
  • 住院病人療護
  • 常規居家療護
  • 喪慟支持

1美國國家安寧緩和療護組織,《事實與數據:美國安寧療護》(Facts and Figures: Hospice Care in America),第2015版

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

Does Insurance Cover Hospice?

If you or a loved one are considering enrolling in hospice care, you may be concerned about any potential costs that could accrue. In fact, 99 percent of hospice patients have no out-of-pocket expenses1. About 90 percent of hospice patients rely on Medicare and Medicaid to cover their care, and the rest turn to other financing sources, which for most people means private insurance.

Most people enroll in health insurance plans through an employer or retirement program, while others purchase theirs privately through a provider. Private insurance plans generally cover hospice and palliative care costs in full, but the terms and conditions of eligibility of each plan will vary.

Most private health insurance plans align with Medicare in their requirements for hospice: A patient must be diagnosed with a terminal illness indicating a life expectancy of six months or less and choose not to receive curative treatment.

Hospice Services Covered by Private Insurance

Once you’ve met the qualifications outlined by your insurance provider, you should confirm what services will be covered by the plan, and which—if any—expenses you are responsible for.

Here are some hospice services commonly covered by private health insurance plans modeled after the Medicare Hospice Benefit:

  • An interdisciplinary team of hospice professionals
  • Home medical equipment and supplies
  • Medications related to the terminal diagnosis
  • Respite care
  • Continuous care
  • Inpatient care
  • Routine home care
  • Bereavement support

1National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization, "Facts and Figures: Hospice Care in America," 2015 Edition

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文