什麼是緩和療護服務?

緩和療護已有好幾個世紀的歷史,從2006年起,就在美國成為一種經過認證的醫療專科。大多數人都經歷過緩和療護,這種照護將重點放在舒適療護、症狀處理和疼痛緩解。

如果您骨折,醫師治療的方法是打上石膏固定,並開止痛劑讓您感到舒適。石膏固定屬於治癒性療法,止痛藥物則屬於緩和療法:它在您和醫師致力治療骨折時改善您的生活品質。

某人將蘋果遞給坐在沙發上的這位女士

減緩痛苦是「在不排除原因的情況下減少疾病或症狀的痛苦或不適」。

一般而言,當我們談到緩和療護時,都是在說嚴重的疾病:如慢性進行性肺功能障礙、腎臟病、慢性心臟衰竭、人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病、進行性神經系統疾病、癌症等。它支持病人的身體、情感和心理需要,提供舒適並改善生活品質。

舉例來說,用化療治療癌症的腫瘤科醫師也會開抗焦慮藥物解決您的噁心、憂鬱或焦慮等問題,或指示您與治療師討論或安排寵物探訪。社工或靈性輔導師也會提供家屬支持服務。所有這些配合治療的機制都會被視為緩和療護:在病人配合醫生治療癌症的同時,這類藥物可改善病人的生活品質。

緩和療護的原由是什麼?

緩和療護服務是從安寧療護推廣運動發展而來。目前有1,700家醫院和50張或更多病床提供緩和療護專家或團隊。他們和病人的醫療團隊合作,改善重症及其治療帶來的身體、心理、社會或精神痛苦。

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

What is Palliative Care?

Palliative care, a board-certified medical specialty since 2006 in the US, has been around for centuries. Most people have experienced palliative medicine, which focuses on comfort care, symptom management and pain relief.

If you break a bone, the doctor treats it by immobilizing it with a cast and prescribing painkillers to make you comfortable. The cast is curative, while the medications are palliative: they improve the quality of your life while you and your physician address the broken bone.

A person hands an apple to a woman, who is seated on a sofa

To palliate is “to make a disease or its symptoms less severe or unpleasant without removing the cause.”

Generally, palliative care is provided within the context of serious illness: chronic, progressive pulmonary disorders; renal disease; chronic heart failure; HIV/AIDS; progressive neurological conditions; cancer, etc. It supports a patient’s physical, emotional and psychosocial needs, providing comfort and improving quality of life.

An example: An oncologist who prescribes chemotherapy to treat cancer will also address nausea, depression and anxiety by prescribing an anti-anxiety drug, recommending a therapist or arranging for pet visits. A social worker or chaplain will provide family support, as well. All of these coping mechanisms are considered palliative: they improve the quality of a patient's life while the patient and physician address the cancer.

What Is the History of Palliative Care?

Palliative care grew out of the hospice movement. Today 1,700 hospitals with 50 or more beds offer a palliative specialist or team. They work with a patient’s healthcare team and specialists to address the physical, psychological, social or spiritual distress of serious illness and its treatment.

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文