居家療護和安寧療護之間有何不同?

聯邦醫療保險支付的居家服務:比較安寧療護與居家健康照護

居家健康照護與安寧療護所提供服務的比較圖表

VITAS是安寧療護╱生命末期療護的領先醫療提供者,在病患視為家的地方為他們提供療護服務。時常有人問我們,安寧療護服務和居家療護服務有什麼不同。

安寧療護與居家健康之間的相似處

安寧療護與居家健康照護有一些相似之處,但這兩種照護方式分別是處理具有獨特需求和目標的不同病人。例如,安寧療護與居家健康服務兩者都是在任何病人稱為家的地方進行。

當治癒性醫療對於晚期病人不再有效或病人不想接受時,安寧療護可提供病人舒適照護。居家健康照護是以治癒為目的,旨在協助受傷或生病的病人恢復健康,或逐漸改善身體機能。

請在以下的章節中了解更多關於居家健康與安寧療護的差異。

安寧療護

安寧療護是為病人提供的舒適療護;病人經過醫師證明,當疾病在自然發展情況下,病人的預後為六個月或以下時。

常規安寧療護是在任何病人稱為家的地方進行,也許是私人住所、療養院、生活輔助社區,或為長者提供的居家式照護機構。日常照護是由家庭照顧者(或朋友)負責,由各安寧療護專家組成的療護團隊提供支援,其成員包括:護士、助理、醫師、靈性輔導師、社工、義工、喪慟顧問等;必要時,還有其他專家介入以提供協助。所有的團隊成員都擅長生命末期療護,為病人提供體貼入微的照護。

除了居家常規安寧療護之外,聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利還規定其他三種療護層級:

  • 持續性療護(在VITAS,我們稱之為加護舒適療護)是由護士或安寧療護護佐,根據聯邦醫療保險指導原則在病人病床前提供全天候服務,以管理急性症狀的突然發作。
  • 住院病人療護是在住院安寧療護病房或醫院病床中提供的臨時照護,一直到症狀得到控制或病人可以返家為止。
  • 喘息療護安排病人短暫入住具有聯邦醫療保險認證的機構,以便讓提供照顧的家人可獲得最高達5個晝夜的喘息機會,得以紓解壓力,並避免精力耗竭

常見的安寧療護服務包括:

居家療護服務

居家健康照護將服務帶到病人家中;包括需要間歇性的專業護理照護、物理治療、語言病理服務,或是需要持續性的職能治療服務,視醫師的醫囑而定。病人的病情發展必須加以記錄。

居家健康照護通常是針對慢性病或協助手術或受傷病人恢復所提供的照護。與安寧療護不同的是,病人必須是臥病家中才可獲得聯邦醫療保險提供的居家健康服務的福利。居家健康服務的期限視病人的療護計劃與目標而定。

對於與末期診斷相關的費用,幾乎所有安寧療護病人都沒有自付費用,然而,居家健康照護病人可能必須自行支付藥物、用品和設備的費用。如果症狀加劇造成無法在家中處理時,居家健康服務不給付住院花費。居家健康病人的家屬照顧者可獲得相關訓練與教育,但是無法獲得安寧療護照顧者可享有的額外心理社會支持。

居家健康病人在其病情逐漸惡化下,可成為有資格接受安寧療護的病人。如果您或您的家人正在接受居家健康照護而出現以下徵兆時,請詢問您的醫師有關安寧療護適用資格的詳情,以舒緩症狀並且改善生活品質:

  • 體重無故減少達正常體重的10%以上
  • 緩和療護狀態量表(Palliative Performance Scale)分數不及50分,所根據的是以下新出現或逐漸發展的失能情況:無法進行任何體力活動、大多數或全數時間坐在椅上或臥床、需要他人大力或全力協助才可進行照護、飲食量較正常為少,且昏昏欲睡、意識模糊或昏迷的情況增加
  • 需要他人協助處理至少三件以上的日常生活事項,例如沐浴、穿衣、大小便控制、從一處移至另一處、走路及進食
  • 思維敏捷性、記憶力、思考力等大幅衰退
  • 休息或稍微用力時便出現呼吸困難或呼吸短促情況
  • 除了身體功能持續衰退之外,同時還伴有失智症/阿茲海默症疾病

如果病人符合接受聯邦醫療保險福利的資格,而您或您的照顧者不確定哪種照護最適合,以下資料將有助您了解安寧療護服務與居家健康照護之間的差異。

居家健康和安寧療護之間的比較常見問答

我們經常收到來自病人、家屬、醫療服務專業人員的許多如下疑問,他們都希望知道更多關於安寧療護與居家照護之間差異的資訊。點擊每個問題以了解這些獨特照護模式的詳情。如果您有其他疑問,可每週7天、每天24小時隨時致電VITAS,服務電話:800.582.9533。

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

What is the Difference Between Home Health & Hospice Care?

Medicare-Funded Home Services: Comparing Hospice and Home Health

A graphic listing what home health care offers compared to hospice care

VITAS is the leading provider of hospice care services — end-of-life care brought to each patient wherever they call home. We often get asked how hospice services compare to home health.

Similarities Between Hospice and Home Health

Hospice and home health care share some similarities, but the two approaches to care address distinct patients with unique needs and goals. For instance, hospice and home health services both occur wherever the patient calls home.

Hospice provides comfort care to a patient with advanced illness when curative medical treatments are no longer effective or preferred. Home health care is curative, intended to help patients recover from injury or illness, or progress toward improved functionality.

Learn more about the differences between home health and hospice care in the sections below.

Hospice

Hospice care is comfort care for patients with a prognosis of six months or less if their disease runs its natural course, as certified by a physician.

Routine hospice care takes place wherever the patient calls home—a private residence, nursing home, assisted living community, or residential care facility for the elderly. Daily care is provided by a family caregiver (or friend) and supported by an interdisciplinary team of hospice experts: nurse, aide, physician, chaplain, social worker, volunteer, and bereavement counselor, with additional specialists stepping in to help as necessary. All of the team members specialize in compassionate end-of-life care.

In addition to routine hospice care in the home, three other levels of care are mandated by the Medicare Hospice Benefit:

  • Continuous care (we call it Intensive Comfort Care® at VITAS) involves around-the-clock attendance at a patient’s bedside by a nurse or hospice aide to manage acute symptom flare-ups per Medicare guidelines.
  • Inpatient care is temporary care in an inpatient hospice unit or hospital bed until symptoms are under control and the patient can return home.
  • Respite care transitions the patient temporarily to inpatient care in a Medicare-certified facility to give family caregivers a break of up to 5 days and nights to relieve stress and avoid burnout.

Common hospice services include:

Home Health

Home health care provides services that are brought to patients who require intermittent skilled nursing care, physical therapy, speech-language pathology services, or continued occupational services, as prescribed by their doctor. The patient's progress must be documented.

Home health care is typically prescribed for treatment of a chronic condition or to help a patient recover from surgery or an injury. Unlike hospice, a patient must be homebound to receive Medicare benefits for home health services. The duration of home health services depends on the patient’s care plan and goals.

While nearly all hospice patients have zero out-of-pocket expenses related to their terminal diagnosis, home health care patients may be required to pay for medications, supplies, and equipment. Home health services do not cover inpatient stays if symptoms escalate and become unmanageable at home. Family caregivers of home health patients receive training and education, but don’t have access to the additional layers of psychosocial support enjoyed by hospice caregivers.

A home health patient can become eligible for hospice as their illness progresses. If you notice the following signs in yourself or your loved one while receiving home health care, ask your doctor about hospice eligibility to relieve symptom burdens and improve quality of life:

  • Unintentional weight loss of more than 10% of your normal body weight
  • Palliative Performance Scale score of 50 or less based upon the following assessment of new or evolving inabilities: unable to do any physical activity, spend most or all of your time in a chair or bed, need significant or total help for most of your care, eat or drink less than usual, and are increasingly drowsy, confused, or comatose
  • Reliance on others for help with three or more activities of daily living, such as bathing, dressing, urine or bowel control, moving from one place to another, walking, and feeding
  • Considerable decline in mental alertness, memory, and thinking
  • Difficulty breathing or shortness of breath at rest or with minimal exertion
  • Ongoing functional decline while living with dementia/Alzheimer’s disease

If a patient is eligible to receive Medicare benefits and you or your caregiver are unsure about the kind of care that’s most appropriate, learn more about the differences between hospice services and home healthcare below.

FAQ Comparison Between Home Health and Hospice Care

We frequently receive the following questions from patients, family members, and healthcare professionals who are seeking more information on the differences between hospice and home health care. Click each question to learn more about these unique care models. If you have other questions, contact VITAS 24/7 by calling 800.582.9533.

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.