安寧療護是一項選擇

生命末期決定

在人生的旅途中,大多數人都必須面對生命末期療護的抉擇時刻。通常,這類決定為:我們需要採取積極治療直到最後或者是選擇另一個選項(例如安寧療護)?

「我們有選擇的權利,」VITAS銷售訓練主任麥特.赫南德斯說道。『我們有權選擇「我要進行一切治療;我想接受急症療護直到最後。」 同時,我們有權選擇「我想住在家中,我再也不想住院。在我臨終時,我希望有家人陪伴一旁。」』

教育是關鍵所在

Hernandez多年來聽過許多人的安寧療護經驗,因此,他認為社會中的每個人都必須了解生命末期療護的服務,包括稱為緩和療護及安寧療護的一系列服務。

『我們有權與醫生和醫療機構討論,並表示:「我聽說有關安寧療護的資訊, 我的親人是否適合使用這類服務?」』她表示。

提出問題,深入研究。了解您能做些什麼,探索您可有的選擇。如此,您便已善盡一切所能,到時就能做出最好的選擇。

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

Hospice is a Choice

End-of-Life Decisions

At some point in life, most of us will have to make a decision about end-of-life care. Usually the decision is something like: Do we want to pursue aggressive treatment until the end, or choose another option, such as hospice?

“We have the right to choose,” says Maite Hernandez, director of sales training for VITAS. “We have the right to choose, ‘I want everything done; I want acute care to the very end.’ And we have the right to choose, ‘I want to be at home, I don’t want to go into a hospital anymore. I want to die in my bed, surrounded by my family.’”

Education Is Key

As a result of years of listening to people’s hospice experiences, Hernandez believes it’s important for everyone in the community to be informed about end-of-life care, including the range of services known as palliative care and hospice care.

“We have the right to talk to our physicians and the medical community and say, ‘Hey, I heard about hospice. Would my loved one be a candidate for this type of service?’” she says.

Ask questions. Do research. Learn what you can. Explore options. That way, you’re doing everything in your power to make the best choice when the time comes.

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文