如何選擇安寧療護服務提供者

索取檢查清單:選擇安寧療護服務提供者

選擇安寧療護服務提供者是您為自己、摯愛和家人所做出的最重要的決定之一。根據法律,每個安寧療護計畫都必須為病人及其家人提供相同的基本服務。那麼您要如何確定自己選擇了最好的安寧療護計畫呢?

在選擇安寧療護服務提供者時,請牢記這些因素和問題,以確保您和家人獲得應有的專業、富有愛心的生命末期療護。

評估服務提供者的歷史記錄和聲譽。 服務提供者在業內營運了多久?是否僱用自已的員工來提供療護還是與其他機構簽有合約?其他病人/家庭對此服務提供者的體驗如何?

檢查服務提供者的證書、執照和付款政策。此安寧療護是否在您所居的州內已經過聯邦醫療保險認可、發給執照和正式立案的?是否已經過退伍軍人管理局(VA)證明屬於「我們向退伍軍人致敬」計畫?是否可接受聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險、VA福利和大多數私人保險公司的安寧療護保險給付?是否為具備很少或沒有醫療保險或經濟資源的病人提供慈善醫療服務?

獲取您和家人將獲得的療護之深度和廣度的詳情。 計畫是否會建立個人化療護計劃?安寧療護是否為每位病人指定一個療護團隊:護士、醫師、護佐、社工、靈性輔導師、喪慟專家和義工?團隊成員的探訪頻率為何?他們是否教育家庭成員和照護者如何在家中照顧安寧療護病人?

確保計畫提供所有四個層級的強制性安寧療護服務。 這包括居家安寧療護(您稱為家的任何地方,包括私人住宅、療養院或生活輔助設施);每天多達24小時的持續性療護(醫療上有必要時);住院安寧療護(在症狀和疼痛無法在家中處理時);和照護者的喘息療護(多達5天)。服務提供者是否向病人免費提供與末期診斷相關的所有醫療設備、藥物和需用品?

詢問有關時間安排、緊急情況和計畫是否有能力提供特別療護等的具體問題。 安寧療護可多快開始?病人是否可24/7隨時入院,包括在下班後、週末、假日?計畫是否提供由經過訓練的安寧療護臨床醫事人員主持的24小時熱線,回答您的問題並在緊急情況或危機期間作出回應?在死亡發生時,有人會陪伴您或您的摯愛嗎?

評估服務提供者是否有能力滿足重症或複雜病況病人的需求。是否可照顧需要複雜療護或患有多種慢性疾病的病人?團隊成員是否經過舒適療護的認證,可照顧心臟病、肺病、阿茲海默症病人?團隊成員是否提供尊重特定族群(如退伍軍人、LGBTQ、非洲裔美國人、拉丁裔、海地人、亞洲人、猶太人等)的文化、傳統、信仰和需求的療護?是否為尚未適用安寧療護的病人提供緩和療護?

探索支持性服務。 家人是否接受過在家中使用醫療設備的訓練?計畫是否提供整合服務,例如音樂療法、按摩療法、寵物探訪等?義工提供哪些服務?他們受過哪些訓練?團隊成員可否提供醫療照護事前指示和事前療護規劃的討論?病人過世後,喪慟服務可持續多久?

一旦您與安寧療護計畫取得聯絡並與服務人員互動後,請留意您的第一印象。 與您說話的代表是否表現出同理心?他們善於溝通嗎?他們對問題的回覆您是否滿意?

了解生命末期療護的選擇可將艱難時刻轉為「善終」。收集資訊並提出正確的問題,以確保為您的家人、您的獨特情況選擇最佳的安寧療護服務提供者。確保互動、體驗和回憶在未來幾年都將保持正面和溫馨。

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

How to Choose a Hospice Provider

Get the Checklist: Choosing a Hospice Provider

Choosing a hospice provider is one of the most important decisions you will make for yourself, a loved one and your family. By law, every hospice program must offer the same basic services to patients and their families. So how can you be sure you’re choosing the best hospice program?

Keep these factors and questions in mind when choosing a hospice provider to ensure you receive the professional, compassionate end-of-life care you and your family deserve.

Evaluate the provider’s history and reputation.

How long has the provider been in business? Does it hire its own employees to provide care or does it contract with other agencies? What do other patients/families say about their experiences with this provider?

Check the provider’s certification, licensing and payment policies.

Is the hospice Medicare-certified, licensed and accredited in your state? Is it certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) as a We Honor Veterans program? Does it accept Medicare, Medicaid, VA benefits and most private insurance coverage for hospice care? Does it provide charity care to patients with minimal or no medical insurance or financial resources?

A man uses a laptop at a kitchen table while his wife looks on at the screen

Obtain details about the depth and breadth of care you and your family will receive.

Does the program create an individualized care plan? Does the hospice assign an interdisciplinary team to each patient: nurse, physician, aide, social worker, chaplain, bereavement specialist and volunteer? How frequently do team members visit? Do they educate family members and caregivers about how to care for a hospice patient at home?

Ensure that the program provides all four levels of mandatory hospice care.

These include hospice care at home (wherever you call home, including private home, nursing home or assisted living facility); continuous care up to 24 hours per day (when medically necessary); inpatient hospice care (when symptoms and pain can no longer be managed at home); and respite care (up to 5 days) for caregivers. Does the provider deliver all medical equipment, medications and supplies related to the terminal diagnosis to the patient at no charge?

Ask specific questions about timing, emergencies and the program’s ability to provide specialty care.

How quickly can hospice care start? Are patients admitted 24/7, including after hours, weekends, holidays? Does the program provide a 24-hour hotline staffed by trained hospice clinicians to answer your questions and respond during emergencies or crises? Will someone stay with you or your loved one at the time of death?

Assess the provider’s ability to meet the needs of seriously ill or complex patients.

Can it care for patients who require complex modalities or have more than one chronic disease? Are team members certified in specialized comfort care for cardiac patients, lung disease, Alzheimer’s, etc.? Do team members provide care that honors the cultures, traditions, beliefs and needs of specific populations (e.g. veterans, LGBTQ, African American, Latino, Haitian, Asian, Jewish, etc.)? Does it provide palliative care to patients not yet eligible for hospice?

Explore supportive services.

Are families trained to use medical equipment at home? Does the program provide integrated services like music therapy, massage therapy, pet visits, etc.? What services do volunteers offer, and how are they trained? Are team members available to talk about advance directives and advance care planning? After a death, how long will bereavement services continue?

Once you’ve contacted a hospice program and interacted with staff members, pay attention to your impressions.

Were the representatives you spoke with empathetic? Were they good communicators? Did they answer all questions to your satisfaction?

Learning about end-of-life care options can transform a difficult time into a “good death.”

Collect information and ask the right questions to make sure you choose the best hospice provider for your family, your unique situation. Ensure that interactions, experiences and memories will be positive and heart-warming for years to come.

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文