住院安寧療護或居家安寧療護?

調查顯示,當面臨末期疾病時,大多數人表示他們更願意留在家中接受照護1,繼續過他們覺得最舒適的日常生活。安寧療護是為了讓病人在最適合接受照護的地方進行治療:即家中。但對於患複雜病症而需要更密集照護方式的病人來說,VIAS可以提高照護層級,以滿足病人的需求。

安寧療護是療護的哲學

許多人認為這意味著在一個地方度過或終老。安寧療護不是一個場所。安寧療護是一種獨特的照護理念,專注於在生命的最後幾個月、幾週和幾天來提升病人舒適度和整體生活品質。

VITAS會治療身體症狀、提供疼痛管理,並解決情緒和靈性方面的關切問題。安寧療護讓病人擁有的有限時間對他們和他們的家人而言更具有實質意義。

凡是您稱為家的地方

安寧療護會延伸到患重症病人稱為家的地方 - 私人住宅、輔助生活社區或療養院。療護團隊醫生、護士、安寧療護護佐、靈性輔導師、社工和義工 - 為病人在任何地方提供臨床、富有同情心的安寧療護服務。

當病人住在私人住宅時,團隊將前往其家中,提供疼痛處理、症狀控制以及個人護理等服務。團隊還對病人及其家屬提供照護者教育以及情緒和心靈上的支持。

對住在生活輔助社區或療養院的病人,安寧療護團隊為他們提供可補充現有療護不足的服務。該設施的工作人員會被視為病人家庭的延伸,並得到相同的情感支持,包括他們失去親人後的喪慟服務。

解決日益惡化的病情

如果病人的症狀(例如疼痛、噁心或意識混亂)惡化或難以控制,VITAS將繼續幫助病人留在他們稱為家的任何地方。如果症狀變得嚴重,聯邦醫療保險認可的安寧療護必須在床邊提供規範的持續性療護輪班,免得需要送往醫院。

住院病房

雖然絕大多數安寧療護都是在家裡提供,但在某些情況下(往往是症狀變成在家很難控制的情況下),病人需要轉移到住院環境中。這可能是附近醫療照護設施的簽約安寧療護床位,也可能是VITAS住院病房。無論看起來是什麼樣的空間,住院安寧療護的目標就是解決症狀,這樣患者就能儘快恢復到安寧療護的常規家庭護理層級。

許多安寧療護病人從不需要住進住院環境,只要他們接受安寧療護服務,就能舒適地住在家裡。

1https://palliative.stanford.edu/home-hospice-home-care-of-the-dying-patient/where-do-americans-die/

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Inpatient Hospice or Home Hospice Care?

Surveys have shown that when faced with terminal illness, most people said they preferred to remain in their homes for care1, continuing the routines that make them most comfortable. Hospice is designed to treat patients where they are best suited to receive care: at home. But for complex patients who require more intensive modalities of care, VITAS can elevate the level of care to meet the needs of the patient.

Hospice Is a Philosophy of Care

Many people think that hospice means going to—or ending up in—a place. Hospice isn’t a place. Hospice is a unique philosophy of care that focuses on enhancing comfort and overall quality of life during the last months, weeks and days of life.

VITAS treats physical symptoms, provides pain management and addresses emotional and spiritual concerns. VITAS makes the time the patient has more meaningful for them and their loved ones.

Wherever You Call Home

Hospice care extends to wherever a seriously ill patient calls home—a private residence, assisted living community or nursing home. An interdisciplinary team—physician, nurse, hospice aide, chaplain, social worker and volunteer—brings clinical, compassionate hospice services to patients wherever they live.

When the patient is in a private residence, the team comes to the home to provide pain management and symptom control as well as personal care. The team also provides caregiver education along with emotional and spiritual support to the patient and their loved ones.

For patients who live in an assisted living community or nursing home, the hospice team provides care that complements the care the patient is already receiving. The staff of the facility is regarded as an extension of the patient’s family and receives the same emotional support, including bereavement services after their loss.

Addressing Worsening Conditions

If a patient’s symptoms—pain, nausea or confusion, for example—worsen or become difficult to control, VITAS continues to help the patient remain wherever they call home. Medicare-certified hospices must provide regulated shifts of continuous care at the bedside if symptoms become severe, eliminating the need to go to the hospital.

Inpatient Units

While the vast majority of hospice care is provided at home, in some situations—often when symptoms become too difficult to manage at home—the patient needs to be transferred to an inpatient setting. That could be a contracted hospice bed in a nearby healthcare facility or a VITAS inpatient unit. Whatever the space may look like, the goal of inpatient hospice care is to address symptoms so the patient can return to the routine homecare level of hospice as soon as possible.

Many hospice patients never require admission to an inpatient setting and remain comfortably at home for as long as they receive hospice services.

1https://palliative.stanford.edu/home-hospice-home-care-of-the-dying-patient/where-do-americans-die/

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.

Español 繁體中文