誰來作出安寧療護的決定?

病人、家屬、醫療服務提供者共同作出安寧療護的決定。這是一項醫療護理的決定。醫療服務提供者透過指導準則,協助他們決定病人是否 適用於聯邦醫療保險資助的安寧療護服務;這項服務強調以舒適為主的生命末期療護。

如果病人的心智健全,他們可以自行作出安寧療護的選擇。一般來說,病人可在家人、醫療服務提供者、輔導員、宗教人員的協助下作出選擇。安寧療護團隊的成員也可提供協助。

選擇安寧療護服務提供者

在評估並選擇安寧療護服務提供者時,請考慮以下因素:

  • 在作出決定前,請先評估安寧療護服務提供者的歷史與聲譽。 他們已經經營多久時間?他們是否提供聯邦醫療保險所規定全部4個層級的安寧療護服務?其他病人與家屬對於他們的體驗有何評語?
  • 檢查服務提供者的證書、執照和服務內容。 他們是否取得您本州的聯邦醫療保險核准、執照和認證?整體跨領域的安寧療護醫療團隊是否提供情緒、心理、宗教上的照護?
  • 確保安寧療護服務計劃符合您的具體需求。 他們是否參與全美「向退伍軍人致敬」計劃?他們是否會依照您的種族、宗教、文化、族裔或生活方式,為您提供符合不同文化需求的照護?員工是否可流利地使用您的語言和您溝通?
  • 查詢其他服務。 如果您出現緊急或危急情況時,是否有人可提供24/7/365的全天候服務?安寧療護團隊是否為您制定一項個人化照護計劃?如果您患有重症,他們是否提供必要的服務、專門療護,及專業知識以支持您在生命末期的生活品質? 

更多協助:如何選擇安寧療護服務提供者 >

醫療照護事前指示與安寧療護

如果病人無法作出決定或與人溝通,還有其他方式可選擇安寧療護。最理想的方式,是病人先前已經建立並且簽署了一份醫療照護事前指示,例如生前遺囑。在這份文件中,病人可指定他人代為作出醫療決定。這位人員被稱為醫療護理的「醫療護理代理人」,或醫療護理的「預立代理授權書」,視您所在的州而定。

如果病人沒有醫療照護事前指示,則醫療照護決定將由其直系親屬決定,通常先是配偶,接下來是成人子女。如果您有疑問,請查看您所在州的規定,或聯絡摯愛的臨床社工(具有執照),或個案經理。

選擇安寧療護讓您在生命末期時,可掌控自己被照護方式及地點。

Who Makes the Hospice Decision?

Patients, families, and healthcare providers make the hospice decision together. It’s a healthcare decision. Healthcare providers use guidelines to help them decide whether a patient is eligible for Medicare-funded hospice care, which provides comfort-focused end-of-life care.

Patients can make their own choice about hospice if they are mentally competent. Usually patients get help with this choice from their family, medical providers, counselors, and spiritual advisors. Hospice team members can help, too.

Choosing a Hospice Provider

Keep these factors in mind when evaluating and choosing a hospice provider:

  • Evaluate the hospice provider’s history and reputation before you decide. How long has it been in business? Does it provide all 4 levels of hospice care, as required by Medicare? What do other patients or families say about their experiences?
  • Check the provider’s certification, licensing, and offerings. Is it Medicare-approved, licensed, and certified in your state? Does an entire interdisciplinary hospice team provide emotional, psychosocial, and spiritual care?
  • Make sure the hospice program meets your specific needs. Does it participate in the national We Honor Veterans program? Does it provide culturally sensitive care based on your race, religion, culture, ethnicity, or lifestyle? Are staff members fluent in your preferred language?
  • Explore extra services. Is someone available 24/7/365 if you have an emergency or crisis? Does the hospice team create an individualized care plan just for you? If you have severe illness, does it offer the necessary services, specialized care, and expertise to support your quality of life near the end of life?

More Help: How to Choose a Hospice Provider >

Advance Directives and Hospice Care

If patients aren’t able to make decisions or communicate, there are other options for choosing hospice care. Ideally, the patient has previously created and signed an advance directive, such as a living will. In that document, they can name another person to make medical decisions on their behalf. Depending on your state, this person is called a healthcare proxy, a healthcare surrogate, durable power of attorney for healthcare, or a healthcare agent.

If the patient does not have an advance directive, healthcare decisions are made by the next of kin: usually the spouse first, then adult children. Check your state regulations or contact your loved one’s licensed clinical social worker or case manager if you have questions.

Choosing hospice gives you control over how and where you are cared for near the end of life.