動物伙伴義工

Rogie是一位動物伙伴義工。觀看影片中的Rogie和其他狗狗還有他們的人類同伴們一起探訪VITAS病人,為他們帶來安慰和愛。

VITAS寵物探訪計畫稱為Paw Pals。VITAS訓練友善、溫馴的動物作為動物伙伴。總是由其人類同伴陪同的經過註冊的VITAS動物伙伴義工,知道如何探訪生命末期的病人,並且在醫療、住家設施及私人住宅的環境中皆從容穩定。

雖然多數VITAS動物伙伴是安寧療護服務狗,但依不同情況,VITAS也會考慮採用其他動物義工。所有可能擔任動物伙伴的義工及其人類同伴都必須經過篩選。

如需當地動物伙伴計畫的更多資訊,請聯絡您的當地計畫,了解當地是否提供該項計畫;或他們是否正在接受新義工進行訓練,或如何安排動物伙伴探訪。

義工故事分享

一位VITAS病人和動物伙伴義工狗狗

動物伙伴義工及其主人都喜歡分享提供安寧療護服務的故事。一位動物伙伴的主人回憶一次前往VITAS安寧療護住院病房的經驗:

「我在一位病人的病房門口停了下來,並詢問病人的丈夫,他太太是否希望我的喜樂蒂牧羊犬Pogo來探訪她,」義工說道。「他表示他們從未養過任何動物,所以她太太應該沒有興趣。但我看得出她有興趣,因此我問是否可將狗放在她的床上。這位女士立刻以雙手抱著Pogo達15分鐘以上。她隔天就過世了。她丈夫後來表示這是他三年來第一次看到她的笑臉。他永遠記得她的笑容。這就是動物伙伴所做的事;他們為人們帶來希望。」

成為安寧療護義工。

Español English

Paw Pals® Volunteers

Rogie is a VITAS Paw Pals volunteer. Watch the video to see him and other dogs with their human companions visit VITAS patients to provide comfort and love.

At VITAS, the pet visit program is called Paw Pals. VITAS trains friendly, well-behaved pets to be Paw Pals. A registered VITAS Paw Pal volunteer, always accompanied by their human companion, knows how to visit patients near the end of life and is at ease in medical and residential facilities as well as private homes.

Although most VITAS Paw Pals are hospice dogs, other animal volunteers may be considered on a case-by-case basis. All potential volunteers and their human companions are screened.

For information about a local Paw Pals program, please contact your local program to find out if Paw Pals is available in your location, whether they are accepting new volunteers for training or how to arrange for a Paw Pals visit.

Volunteers Share Their Stories

A VITAS patient with a Paw Pal volunteer dog

Paw Pals volunteers and their owners love to tell stories of hospice moments. One Paw Pal owner recalled a visit to a VITAS inpatient hospice unit:

“I stopped at a patient’s room and asked the husband if his wife would like to have a visit with Pogo, my Shetland sheepdog,” the volunteer said. “He said they’d never had animals and he didn’t think she’d be interested. But I could see that she was interested, so I asked if I could just put the dog on her bed. The woman immediately put her arms around Pogo and held him for 15 minutes or more. She passed away the next day. Her husband later said that it was the first time in three years he had seen her smile. He has that memory of her smiling. That’s what Paw Pals do; they bring hope to people.”

Become a hospice volunteer.

Español 繁體中文