退伍軍人療護

VITAS以提供生命末期療護的方式,向美國退伍軍人致敬。

我們為患有各種末期疾病的退伍軍人提供安寧療護。我們經驗豐富的安寧療護專業人員團隊,特別經過培訓以了解退伍軍人獨特的生命末期療護需要。

根據美國人口普查局的資料,至2030年,美國人口中將有約15至20百萬的退伍軍人,而且每年將有數千人死亡。

VITAS住院聯絡人Carole Quackenbush表示,「我們的任務及目標以及我們提供的服務,就是要讓每位在生命末期的退伍軍人感到安詳。」

透過了解應對局限生命疾病的退伍軍人的獨特需要,VITAS可引導他們更平靜地度過人生最後的階段。這對於曾經歷過戰鬥或其他創傷的退伍軍人非常重要,特別是一些沒有解決掉的經歷、記憶或情緒可能會於生命末期時逐一浮現。

「許多我們的退伍軍人,特別是曾經歷過戰鬥的人,在生命末期時對於有關創傷後壓力症候群(PTSD)的需求更為獨特。我們經常聽到退伍軍人病人這樣說:『我在戰場上的所作所為會讓我下地獄』,或『我無法原諒自己』,」住院聯絡人Carole Quackenbush說道。「我們的任務及目標以及我們提供的服務,就是要讓每位在生命末期的退伍軍人感到安詳並能夠自我原諒。」

VITAS在每位退伍軍人病人入院時,會徹底檢查他們的從軍記錄,以完全了解他們在生命末期時的醫療、社會心理及精神上的需求。這也讓VITAS能更加了解如何適當地表彰病人的軍旅服務,並通過追悼儀式、授徽儀式、病床旁致敬,榮譽飛行之旅等來表達感謝。

向退伍軍人的奉獻致敬

許多VITAS的安寧療護地點都與「我們向退伍軍人致敬」(We Honor Veterans)合作,這是由美國國家安寧緩和療護組織(NHPCO)與美國退伍軍人管理局(VA)共同合作進行的一項專案計畫,強調以尊敬的心詢問、以充滿愛心的心聆聽,以及以感恩的心向退伍軍人致敬。

在「我們向退伍軍人致敬」的計畫下,VITAS為社區合作夥伴及照顧者提供專門針對退伍軍人獨特需求的教育訓練。

退伍軍人的福利

VITAS的生命末期療護專家均受過訓練,為部分接近生命末期的退伍軍人的困境提供支援,包括經濟困難和福利問題、創傷後壓力症候群(PTSD)、與服役相關尚未解決的問題、憂鬱症和自殺。

退伍軍人管理局或社區醫療服務提供者都可以將退伍軍人轉介至VITAS。退伍軍人也可直接聯絡我們來討論我們的服務內容。

VITAS與多個退伍軍人組織之間維持堅實的策略關係,以促進對退伍軍人的特殊表彰,並幫助當地退伍軍人與重症戰友建立聯繫,讓他們彼此之間可受惠於對方的觀點與經驗。

我們為退伍軍人服務的其他主要特色尚包括:

  • 流暢的轉介與入院申請流程
  • 熟悉退伍軍人管理局(VA)體系以及如何為退伍軍人找出和取得福利選項
  • 由退伍軍人管理局、Tricare、聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險、私人保險和其他償還方式給付退伍軍人的安寧療護費用
  • 與地方退伍軍人管理局醫療中心的人員協調合作提供療護,包括在適當時進行聯合視訪
  • VITAS的聯絡人中有許多人本身就是退伍軍人,他們在VITAS服務地點擔任退伍軍人管理局和地方退伍軍人組織的溝通聯絡人並充當主要的教育資源
  • 按需要轉介其他的社區服務
  • 完善的喪慟支持服務,包括在退伍軍人身故後的13個內為家屬提供哀傷與失落輔導計畫、支持團體,以及追悼儀式
  • 重要事件的表彰和慶祝,包括退伍軍人節和軍方週年慶等

VITAS退伍軍人資源指南

VITAS確保所有退伍軍人皆獲得貼心、適當的生命末期療護。我們這份16頁長的退伍軍人資源指南提供退伍軍人及其家人關於福利、輔助資源、網站、社區團體、退伍軍人管理局(VA)的表格及資源等實用資訊。

下載並且分享我們的「退伍軍人資源指南」。

Español English

Caring for Veterans

VITAS honors those who served America by serving them near the end of life.

We offer hospice care to veterans with a wide range of terminal conditions. Our teams of experienced hospice professionals are trained to understand the veteran’s unique needs at the end of life.

The U.S. population will include about 15-20 million Americans who are military veterans through 2030, according to US Census Bureau, and thousands of them will die each year.

“Our mission and our goal with the care we provide is to give every veteran peace at the end of life.”Carole Quackenbush, VITAS Admissions Liaison

By recognizing the unique needs of veterans who are coping with life-limiting illness, VITAS can guide these men and women toward a more peaceful ending. This is especially important for veterans who experienced combat or other trauma, particularly if unaddressed experiences, memories or emotions resurface near the end of life.

“Many of our veterans, especially those who were in combat, have unique needs at the end of life related to PTSD. A common thing we hear from our veteran patients is ‘I’m going to go to hell for what I did during the war,’ or ‘I can’t forgive myself,” says Admissions Liaison Carole Quackenbush. “Our mission and our goal with the care we provide is to give every veteran peace at the end of life and self-forgiveness.”

VITAS thoroughly examines the military history of each veteran patient upon admission to develop a full picture of their medical, psychosocial and spiritual needs at the end of life. This also provides VITAS with a better understanding of how to appropriately recognize the patient’s service and show appreciation through memorial services, pinning ceremonies, bedside salutes, Honor Flight trips and more.

We Honor Veterans Participation

Many VITAS hospice locations work in cooperation with We Honor Veterans, an established program of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO) and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) that focuses on respectful inquiry, compassionate listening and grateful acknowledgment of veterans.

As part of We Honor Veterans, VITAS trains and educates community partners and caregivers on veterans’ unique needs.

Veterans Benefits

VITAS end-of-life care experts are trained to support the difficult circumstances faced by some veterans near the end of life, including financial and benefit concerns, post-traumatic stress disorder, unresolved issues associated with military service, depression and suicide.

The VA or community-based healthcare providers can refer veterans to VITAS. Veterans also can contact us directly to discuss our services.

VITAS maintains strong, strategic relationships with multiple veteran organizations to facilitate special recognitions and help connect local veterans with their seriously ill comrades, each of whom can benefit from the other’s perspective and experience.

Other key features of our services for veterans include:

  • A streamlined referral and admission process
  • Familiarity with the VA system and how to identify and access benefit options for veterans
  • Coverage of hospice care for veterans by the VA, TRICARE, Medicare, Medicaid, private insurance and other forms of reimbursement
  • Coordination of care with the staff of the local VA medical center, including joint visits when appropriate
  • VITAS liaisons, who in many locations are veterans themselves, function as communications contacts and primary educational resources to the VA and local veterans’ organizations
  • Referrals for additional community services, as needed
  • A full range of bereavement support, including grief and loss programs, support groups and memorial services for veterans’ loved ones up to 13 months after a death
  • Recognition and celebration of important events, including Veterans Day and military anniversaries

VITAS Veterans Resource Guide

VITAS ensures that all veterans receive compassionate and appropriate end-of-life care. Our 16-page Veterans Resource Guide provides helpful information to veterans and their family members about benefits, sources of aid, websites, community groups, and Veterans Administration (VA) forms and resources.

Download and share our Veterans Resource Guide.

Español 繁體中文