腎臟病患者的安寧療護

如果您正在閱讀本頁,也許您或您某位至親好友已在與腎臟病進行一場身心俱乏的奮戰。當您選擇放棄洗腎時,您仍不會停止尋求安慰、支持和解答。減少或停止醫療照護會影響整個家庭。這正是VITAS能提供協助之時。
  • 何時為尋求安寧療護的適當時機?
  • 安寧療護能為腎衰竭病人做些什麼?
  • 安寧療護能為腎衰竭病人的家人做些什麼?
  • 安寧療護的整體效益為何?
  • 我該如何與至親好友討論安寧療護?
  • 何時為尋求安寧療護的適當時機?

即使病人有很好的醫療照護和家人的關懷支持,有時洗腎的負擔仍遠超過它的好處。當病人決定不再洗腎時,他們仍有立即性的醫療需求和個人期望。而家屬也有要顧慮的事情。安寧療護可處理在腎臟衰竭末期時身體、情緒和靈性方面的重大需求。

一般而言,安寧療護病人的醫師估計他們的生命期為六個月或更短。當腎衰竭病人選擇不再洗腎時,他們的壽命全賴腎臟還有多少功能、症狀有多嚴重以及他們整體的醫療情況而定。只有醫生可以做預估生命期的臨床判定。

申請安寧療護評估

病人的腎臟病學家(腎臟專科醫師)或個人醫師可以適時建議腎臟病安寧療護。病人和家屬也可自行要求以獲得他們所需要的療護。

您、您的摯愛或您的醫師可要求進行評估,看看安寧療護是否是療護方面一項適當的選擇。請致電800.582.9533,了解安寧服務如何幫助您,或請在線上聯絡我們。

安寧療護能為腎衰竭病人做些什麼?

安寧療護團隊會評估病人的狀況,並隨著症狀和病情的變化而更新療護計劃,甚至是基於每日的情況而定。腎衰竭安寧療護的目標是處理症狀並減輕身體上和情緒上的痛苦,使病人可以維護自身尊嚴並感到舒適放心。

腎臟病安寧療護為病人提供全面完善的服務:

  • 疼痛與症狀控制 - VITAS的疼痛與症狀處理專家,協助處理疼痛、僵硬、疲憊、沒胃口、噁心、發癢、呼吸困難、失眠、焦慮、沮喪和其他腎臟衰竭的常見症狀。這可確保病患能盡量加長其享受生活和繼續掌控作日常決定的時間。
  • 為病人提供照護,無論他們住在何處 - 安寧療護團隊會到病人家中、長期療護機構或生活輔助社區提供服務。如果症狀嚴重到無法在家處理時,住院安寧療護服務可以提供全天候的療護,直至病人能夠返回家中。
  • 每個層級都互相合作的療護 - 在病人的腎臟科醫師或其他醫師的建議和同意之下研擬出療護計劃。團隊經理將確保所有醫師、護士、社工以及神職人員(視病人要求)之間的資訊溝通順暢無礙。此外,安寧療護會統籌協調並供應與診斷病況相關的所有藥物、醫療需用品和醫療設備,以確保患者可以得到他們所需要的一切。
  • 情緒與靈性方面的輔助 - 安寧療護提供資源以幫助病人維持他們情緒上與靈性上的健康。

安寧療護能為腎衰竭病人的家人做些什麼?

家人可能不得不作出艱難的醫療照護和財務方面的決定、要充當照顧者並為其他人提供情緒支持。如果已經作出要停止醫療支持或透析的決定,家人會經歷強烈的情緒波動並感覺不堪重負。

安寧療護提供以下項目,以協助有腎臟衰竭病人的家庭:

  • 照顧者教育和培訓 - 家庭照顧者在協助安寧療護專業人員對病人的療護中至關重要。隨著病人日漸虛弱,症狀會隨之加重並且溝通變得更加困難。我們教育家屬如何把家人照顧得最好,以減輕他們的憂慮。
  • 協助作出艱難的決定 - 安寧療護協助家屬作出影響病人的情況和生活品質的艱難抉擇 - 例如,是否針對重覆性感染施以抗生素。
  • VITAS護士24/7全天候接聽電話 - 即使是最有經驗的照顧著也會有疑問和顧慮。利用Telecare®,他們不需要疑惑、擔心或等待答覆。VITAS永不休診的Telecare提供訓練有素的安寧療護臨床醫事人員全天候回答問題或派遣團隊人員到病人床邊服務(如有醫療需要)。
  • 情緒與靈性方面的輔助 - 安寧療護可滿足親人與病人情緒與靈性的需求。
  • 經濟援助 - 儘管安寧療護的服務由聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險/加州醫療保險和私人保險承保,但是家屬往往會因親人的重症而造成經濟困難。社工在安寧療護期間可以協助家屬進行財務規劃並找尋經濟援助。在病人過世後,如果有需要,他們可以透過人力服務幫助哀慟的家屬找尋經濟援助。
  • 喘息療護 - 照顧患有末期腎衰竭的親人可產生巨大的壓力。當病人在聯邦醫療保險認可的住院環境或設施中接受照顧時,照顧者可以獲得多達5天的喘息時間。閱讀關於喘息療護的詳情。
  • 喪慟服務 - 安寧療護團隊可提供長達一年的服務,幫助失去至親者以個人的方式表達和因應哀傷。閱讀關於我們哀傷與喪慟服務的詳情。

安寧療護的整體效益為何?

如果您或至親好友正面臨局限生命的疾病,您可能有聽過安寧療護這個詞。朋友或家人可能曾告訴過您,關於針對患者提供的專科醫療或為其至親好友提供的支持服務。但是大多數人並沒有意識到安寧療護還有許多其他好處。

舒適放心。 安寧療護為病人及其家屬提供支援與資源,協助他們走過生命裡艱難的時刻,並讓病人待在一個舒適且熟悉的環境中。

個別關注照護。 安寧療護團隊成員與病人和家屬合作時,會成為生命末期過程的參與者,這種過程對任何人來說,都是非常個人的經歷。安寧療護的使命就是以每個人所希望的方式為其提供照護。我們傾聽病人和他們至親好友的心聲。我們也為其發聲。我們努力改善他們的生活品質。

減少再次住院。 在生命的最後幾個月裡,有些重症病人常常需奔波於急診室中;其他病人則承受一再住院的過程。安寧療護減少再次住院:一項關於住在療養院的末期病人的研究顯示,有加入安寧療護的病人相較於未加入者,很可能在生命的最後30天不需住院(比例為26%:44%)1

安全感。 安寧療護最大的好處之一,就是知道當您需要時您隨時都可以獲得醫療支持的安全感。VITAS Telecare計畫確保您能獲得全天候的醫療服務支援。VITAS還可為家屬提供所需的訓練、資源和支持,使他們能細心照顧虛弱的至親。

1Gozalo PL, Miller SC, Intrator O, Barber JP, Mor V.《安寧療護對政府在療養院居民上的支出的影響》(Hospice effect on government expenditures among nursing home residents)。 Health Serv Res. 2008;43(1):134–153.

我該如何與至親好友討論安寧療護?

在生命的最後幾個月和幾天常會出現強烈的情緒和難以做出的決定。要談論安寧療護可能很不容易,即使和您最親密的人談也是如此。這裡提供幾個進入討論的提示。

當病人和家屬討論時

教育是關鍵所在。 為了開啟與您的家人討論安寧療護的話題,我們提供您這項實用資源供您閱讀及分享:請前往HospiceCanHelp.com下載「考慮安寧療護:家人研討指南」(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families)。

確認您的至親好友知道些什麼。 在提出安寧療護之前,先確定您的至親好友都清楚了解您的健康狀況。人們在處理難以接受的訊息時,各有不同的方式。如果家屬不接受或不了解您的預後,您可能要請您的醫師、神職人員,或值得信賴的朋友代表您與他們交談。

討論您,也討論他們對未來的目標。 身為病人,您最關心的可能是在生活中可免除疼痛,或者可待在家裡,或是不要成為負擔。詢問您的至親好友,當他們考慮到未來幾天、幾週和幾個月時,他們關心的是什麼。解釋安寧療護並不意味著放棄, 它是一項確保每個人的需要都可獲得滿足的積極抉擇。

採取主動。 請記住,表達自己的意願完全取決於您。有時候您的家人或至親好友因顧及到您的感受,可能不願意提起安寧療護這個議題。以下為討論生命末期療護為何如此重要的原因。

當家屬和病人討論時

首先要教育自己。 能有效地與您的摯愛討論安寧療護這麼敏感的話題,其關鍵在於通曉安寧療護的知識。我們鼓勵您閱讀並且分享HospiceCanHelp.com上的「考慮安寧療護:家人研討指南」(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families)。

取得允許。 取得允許再討論難以啟口的議題,是向您患有腎臟病的家人保證,您將尊重他或她的意願並確實執行。說一些像是,「隨著你的病況發展,我想談談我們如何能繼續確保你獲得最好的照顧和關注。可以嗎?」

確認什麼對您的至親而言是最重要的? 確保您的摯愛了解您將他們的需求視為第一要務。詢問他們未來的希望是什麼 - 想感到舒適、想待在家中、想沒有痛苦?

將安寧療護當作滿足病人意願的一種方式來談。 在您的親人說出他們認為最重要的事之後,解釋安寧療護是確保實現其意願和渴望的一種方式。對有些人來說,安寧這個字眼會讓人想到放棄的這個錯誤觀念。解釋安寧療護並不是對疾病或死亡的投降。這事關為病人在所剩的幾個月、幾週或幾天裡帶來生活品質。了解為什麼選擇安寧療護並非就是放棄。

向病人保證是由他/她決定一切。 安寧療護提供病人選擇:選擇待在他們自己家裡的舒適環境中、選擇依他們的意願善加利用情緒和靈性支持,和選擇讓他們的醫師積極參與他們的療護。向您的至親再度保證,您將讓他們有權選擇什麼是生命中最重要的事。深入了解安寧療護提供給病人及其家屬的掌控。

做個善於聆聽的人。 生命末期療護需要對話,而不是辯論。傾聽對方所說的話。了解第一次提起安寧療護時遭到抗拒是很正常的。但如果您能傾聽並了解您的摯愛抗拒安寧療護的障礙和理由,在未來討論到安寧療護時,您便可解決和減輕他們的顧慮。

申請安寧療護評估

主治醫師可以適時推薦安寧療護。但是任何已面臨重症的人知道,病人和家屬往往得自行要求才能獲得他們所需且應該得到的療護。

您和您的至親好友或可信任的醫師可要求進行評估,看看安寧療護是否是療護方面一項適當的選擇。

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

Hospice Care for Kidney Disease Patients

If you are reading this, it is likely that you or someone you love has been waging a difficult physical and emotional battle against kidney disease. Your search for comfort, support and answers does not stop when you choose to forgo dialysis. Reducing or discontinuing medical support affects the whole family. That’s when VITAS can help.
  • When is the right time to ask about hospice?
  • What can hospice do for a patient with kidney failure?
  • What can hospice do for the family of a patient with kidney failure?
  • What are the overall benefits of hospice care?
  • How can I approach the hospice discussion with my loved one(s)?
  • When is the right time to ask about hospice?

Even when a patient has excellent medical care and a family’s loving support, sometimes the burden of dialysis outweighs the benefits. When patients decide to discontinue dialysis, they still have immediate medical needs and personal wishes. Families also have concerns. Hospice care addresses the physical, emotional and spiritual needs that can be significant at the end stage of kidney failure.

In general, hospice patients are estimated by their physicians to have six months or less to live. When patients living with kidney failure choose to forgo dialysis, their longevity depends on the amount of kidney function they have, the severity of their symptoms and their overall medical condition. Only a doctor can make a clinical determination of life expectancy.

Request a hospice evaluation

The patient's nephrologist (kidney specialist) or personal physician may recommend hospice for kidney disease when the time is right. Patients and family members can also act as their own advocates to receive the care they need.

You, your loved one or your physician may request an evaluation to see if hospice is an appropriate option for care. Call 800.582.9533 to see how hospice can help, or contact us online.

What can hospice do for a patient with kidney failure?

The hospice team evaluates a patient’s status and updates the plan of care as symptoms and condition change, even on a day-to-day basis. The goal of hospice for kidney failure is to manage symptoms and relieve physical and emotional distress so patients can retain their dignity and remain comfortable.

Hospice for renal disease offers comprehensive services for patients:

  • Pain and symptom control – VITAS specialists in pain and symptom management help manage pain, stiffness, fatigue, loss of appetite, nausea, itching, difficulty breathing, difficulty sleeping, anxiety, depression and other symptoms common to kidney failure. This ensures patients are able to enjoy life and remain in control of day-to-day decisions for as long as possible.
  • Care for patients wherever they live – The hospice team brings services to patients in their homes, long-term care facilities or assisted living communities. If symptoms become too difficult to manage at home, inpatient hospice services can provide round-the-clock care until the patient is able to return home.
  • Coordinated care at every level – A plan of care is developed with the advice and consent of the patient’s nephrologist or other physician. A team manager ensures that information flows between physicians, the nurse, social worker and, at the patient’s request, clergy. In addition, hospice coordinates and supplies all medications, medical supplies and medical equipment related to the diagnosis to ensure patients have everything they need.
  • Emotional and spiritual assistance – Hospice has the resources to help patients maintain their emotional and spiritual well-being.

What can hospice do for the family of a patient with kidney failure?

Family members may have to make difficult healthcare and financial decisions, act as caregivers and provide emotional support to others. If the decision is made to stop medical support or dialysis, families experience strong emotions and feel overwhelmed.

Hospice helps families of patients with kidney failure by providing:

  • Caregiver education and training – The family caregiver is vital in helping hospice professionals care for the patient. As the patient gets weaker, symptoms increase and communication becomes more difficult. We relieve families’ concerns by educating them on how best to care for their loved one.
  • Help with difficult decisions – Hospice helps families make tough choices that impact the patient’s condition and quality of life—for example, whether or not to give antibiotics for a recurring infection.
  • A VITAS nurse by phone 24/7 – Even the most experienced caregivers will have questions and concerns. With Telecare®, they don’t have to wonder, worry or wait for an answer. The heartbeat of VITAS after hours, Telecare provides trained hospice clinicians around the clock to answer questions or dispatch a member of the team to the bedside, when medically necessary.
  • Emotional and spiritual assistance – Hospice meets the needs of loved ones along with those of the patient.
  • Financial assistance – Although hospice services are covered by Medicare, Medicaid/Medi-Cal and private insurers, families may have financial concerns brought about by their loved one’s extensive illness. Social workers can assist families with financial planning and finding financial assistance during hospice care. After a death, they can help grieving families find financial assistance through human services, if needed.
  • Respite care – Caring for a loved one with end-stage kidney failure can cause tremendous stress. A caregiver can take a break of up to 5 days while the patient is cared for in a Medicare-certified inpatient setting or facility. Read more about respite care.
  • Bereavement services –The hospice team works with surviving loved ones for a full year after a death to help them express and cope with their grief in their own way. Read more about our grief and bereavement services.

What are the overall benefits of hospice care?

If you or a loved one is facing a life-limiting illness, you may have heard the term hospice. Friends or family might have told you about the specialized medical care for patients or the support services for loved ones. But most people are unaware of the many other benefits of hospice.

Comfort. Hospice gives patients and families the support and resources to see them through this challenging chapter of life and help patients remain in comfortable and familiar surroundings.

Personal attention. Working with a patient or family, the hospice team members become participants in the end-of-life process, a very personal experience for any individual. The hospice mission is to care for each person individually. We listen to patients and loved ones. We advocate for them. We work to improve their quality of life.

Reduced rehospitalization. In the last months of life, some people who are seriously ill make frequent trips to the emergency room; others endure repeated hospitalizations. Hospice care reduces rehospitalization: a study of terminally ill residents in nursing homes shows that residents enrolled in hospice are much less likely to be hospitalized in the final 30 days of life than those not enrolled in hospice (26% vs. 44%)1.

Security. One of the greatest benefits of hospice is the security that comes from knowing that medical support is available whenever you need it. The VITAS Telecare program assures healthcare support around the clock. VITAS gives families the training, resources and support they need to give their ailing loved ones the care they deserve.

1Gozalo PL, Miller SC, Intrator O, Barber JP, Mor V. Hospice effect on government expenditures among nursing home residents. Health Serv Res. 2008;43(1):134–153.

How can I approach the hospice discussion with my loved one(s)?

The final months and days of life are frequently marked by strong emotions and hard decisions. Talking about hospice, even with those closest to you, can be difficult. Here are some tips to get the discussion going.

For patients speaking to families

Education is key. To begin the conversation about hospice with your family, we offer this helpful resource for you to download, read and share: "Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families" at HospiceCanHelp.com

Determine what your loved ones know. Before bringing up hospice, make sure your loved ones have a clear understanding of your health status. People handle difficult information in different ways. If family members do not accept or understand your prognosis, you might want to have your physician, clergy or a trusted friend speak with them on your behalf.

Discuss your goals for the future, as well as theirs. As a patient, your greatest concern might be to live without pain, stay at home or not be a burden. Ask your loved ones what their concerns are when they consider the coming days, weeks and months. Explain that hospice is not giving up. It is an active choice to ensure that everyone’s needs are met.

Take initiative. Remember, it’s up to you to express your wishes. Sometimes, out of concern for your feelings, your family or loved ones might be reluctant to raise the issue of hospice care for you. Here's why it's so important to talk about end-of-life care.

For families speaking to patients

Educate yourself first. Being well-informed is the key to having an effective discussion with your loved one about a topic as sensitive as hospice. We encourage you to read and share "Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families" at HospiceCanHelp.com

Ask permission. Asking permission to discuss a difficult topic assures a family member with kidney disease that you will respect and honor his or her wishes. Say something like, “I would like to talk about how we can continue to ensure you get the very best care and attention as your condition progresses. Is that okay?”

Determine what is important to your loved one. Make sure your loved one knows you want to put his/her needs first. Ask what he/she is hoping for in the future — a desire to be comfortable, to stay at home, to be pain-free?

Discuss hospice care as a means of fulfilling the patient’s wishes. Once your loved one has told you what is important, explain that hospice is a way of making sure that his or her wishes and desires are met. For some, the word hospice evokes a false notion of giving up. Explain that hospice is not about surrendering to disease or death. It is about bringing quality of life to the patient’s remaining months, weeks or days. Learn why choosing hospice isn't giving up.

Assure the patient that he/she is in control. Hospice gives patients options: the option to remain in the comfort of their own home, the option to take advantage of as much emotional and spiritual support as they desire, and the option to have their own doctor actively involved in their care. Reassure your loved one that you will honor his or her right to make choices about what is most important in life. Read more about the control hospice gives the patient and family.

Be a good listener. End-of-life care requires a conversation, not a debate. Hear what the other person is saying. Know that it is normal to encounter resistance the first time you talk about hospice care. But if you listen and understand your loved one’s barriers and reasons for resisting, you will be prepared to address and ease their concerns in your next hospice discussion.

Request a hospice evaluation

The primary physician may recommend hospice when the time is right. But as anyone who has faced a serious illness knows, patients and family members often must act as their own advocates to receive the care they need and deserve.

You, your loved one or your trusted physician may request an evaluation to see if hospice is an appropriate option for care.

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.