痛失兄弟姐妹

為療癒提供支持

兄弟姐妹過世是成人生活中最被人忽略的喪親之痛。失去手足代表失去了一位了解自己成長過程的摯友。這種經歷可能引發手足間未決問題的愧疚感或被拋棄感。

成人喪失手足的痛苦往往落入「被剝奪的哀傷」類別中。傳統上,同情是擴及到在世的父母、配偶或小孩,而在世的兄弟姊妹有時候就被期望要迅速「恢復正常」,以便他們可以安慰其他人或者「取代」過世的兄弟姊妹。兄弟姊妹可能沒有收到療癒所需的支持,而且他們可能對別人隱藏自己的感受。

生命瞬間變化

在世的兄弟姊妹所面對的共同問題包括:

尋求新身分

從出生起已經是您生命中的一部分的某個人,是您每天過生活的必要背景,也是定義您的完整性的一部分。

而手足之死打亂了家中的出生順序,剝奪了與出生順序緊緊相連的在世手足的個別優點、特徵和不同之處。需要時間再來學習如何過生活。曾經內心裡屬於兄弟或姊妹的那部分,您現在必須在自我內成長。您不是從哀傷中「恢復」,而是從經歷中「成長」。

失去有手足的那一部分未來

不僅您失去真實的一個人和您與他們的關係,而且您還失去他們原本會在您的未來所扮演的那部分。您接下來會結婚、生小孩、買房子、成功或失敗、退休。每件事都在強調您的兄弟姊妹已不在的事實。所有的事情,自此以後,無論多美好,都永遠帶著苦樂參半的味道。所謂對週年紀念日的反應會在生日、節日和其他特殊場合出現。

照護

讓許多失去親人的兄弟姊妹不處理自己哀傷的原因,是因為想保護某個人-可能是他們的父母、配偶或小孩。專心在「關注」他人,讓他們暫緩自己的哀傷過程。常見的是,在世的兄弟姊妹會接受他人的哀傷或擔任「強迫照護者」的角色,隨時對哀傷中的人伸出援手。

強迫照護者可能花太多精力專注在其他方面,以至於他們變得空虛、壓力過大,而且有時候臨床上顯得很抑鬱。當他們否認隱藏著的痛苦時,他們可能看起來「劍拔弩張」的樣子,說話短促。他們沒注意到的感受可變得沉重、成為重負,妨礙他們從中恢復和重新獲得認同感。

為解決強迫照顧這個問題,要面對自己的悲傷和痛苦,擁有它並盡可能深刻地感受它。作者約翰·葛瑞(John Gray)說:「別跟自己過不去。」(書名:What you feel, you can heal) 您可能需要談談死亡的每個細節,並一再表達相關聯的感受直到痛苦耗竭為止。

堅定自我

最後一點:如果您有個擔心或想法是,「我會是下一個嗎?」,不要感到尷尬。當成年的兄弟姊妹過世時,質疑自己生命的有限是很自然的。兄弟姊妹是同儕,因此這麼想很合理,也很正常。

社會可能不理解痛失手足的痛苦強度,但是喪親者知道這種失落有真實的,有時候有令人不堪的影響。您可能必須教育身邊的人並且要求他們給予迫切需要的支持。堅定自我並要求所需。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Losing a Sibling

Support for Healing

The death of a sibling is the most neglected loss in adult life. Loss of a sibling means loss of someone who knew your formative past. It might trigger feelings of guilt over unsolved sibling issues or a sense of abandonment.

Adult sibling loss often falls into the category of "disenfranchised grief." Sympathy is traditionally extended to surviving parents, a spouse or children, yet surviving brothers and sisters are sometimes expected to "get over it" quickly so they can comfort others or “replace” the lost sibling. Siblings might not receive the support they need to heal, and they might hide their feelings from others.

Life Changes in an Instant

Common issues faced by surviving brothers and sisters include:

Seeking a New Identity

Someone who has been a part of your life since birth can serve as an essential part of the background from which you live your life, a piece of the unbroken wholeness that defines you.

The death of a sibling, however, upsets birth order within a family, robbing surviving siblings of the individual strengths, characteristics and identifies that are tightly linked to birth order. It takes time to learn how to live your life again. You have to grow within yourself the parts once carried by your brother or sister. You don't "get over” this as much as "grow through" it.

The Loss of a Future With Your Sibling

Not only have you lost the actual person and your relationship with them, but you have lost the part they would have played in your future. You go on to marry, have children, buy a house, succeed or fail, retire. Each event underlines the terrible reality that your brother or sister is not there. Forever after, all events, no matter how wonderful, have a bittersweet flavor. So-called anniversary reactions can arise on birthdays, holidays and other special occasions.

Caregiving

What prevents many bereaved siblings from processing their own grief is a desire to protect someone—perhaps their parents, spouse or children. The focus on "being there" for someone else allows them to put their own grief process on hold. It's not uncommon for surviving siblings to accept the grief of others or take on the role of “compulsive caregivers," always available for others who are grieving.

Compulsive caregivers might focus so much energy elsewhere that they become empty, over-stressed and sometimes clinically depressed. They might appear "bristly," speaking in short, quick sentences while denying the underlying pain. Their unacknowledged feelings can turn heavy and burdensome, preventing them from recovering and regaining a sense of identity.

To resolve compulsive caregiving, confront your own sadness and pain, own it and feel it as deeply as you need to. Author John Gray says, "What you feel, you can heal." You might need to talk about every detail of the death and express the associated feelings over and over until you wear out the pain.

Assert Yourself

One last comment: Don't be embarrassed if one of your worries or thoughts is, "Am I next?" When adult siblings die, it is natural to question your own mortality. Siblings are peers, so it makes sense and is normal to think in this way.

Society may not recognize the intensity of sibling loss, but bereaved siblings know that the loss has a real, sometimes devastating impact. You might have to educate the people around you and ask for their much-needed support. Assert yourself and ask for what you need.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文