母親節這天對母親的思念

一對夫妻坐在公園的長凳子上,其中先生正在安慰太太
「雖然我們知道母親已經不在人世,但是我們和她的關係依然存在。」

對某些人而言,母親節會引發他們的喜悅及感恩情懷,但對於失去母親或母親化身人物的人而言,這一天則可能是造成他們感到失落而悲傷的源頭。

「對一個失去母親並且正在哀悼中的人而言,母親節可能帶來痛苦,並且幾乎是在提醒他們她已經離開了一年、10年或 20年,甚至50年了。」VITAS喪慟和義工服務總監羅賓·菲爾瑞利指出。

「母親是我最要好的朋友。即使她住在芝加哥而我住在亞特蘭大,我們仍然每天談話,」Carla Kalip說道。她的母親於2001年過世。「她是我崇拜的女英雄,永遠讓我知道她無條件地愛我。」

許多VITAS Healthcare地點皆舉辦母親節活動作為我們為病人家屬提供的喪慟服務項目之一。從2007年起至今,這些活動包括 「女兒懷念母親」活動,以彰顯母親和女兒之間的特殊情感。 

賦予母親節新意義

菲爾瑞利建議,賦予母親節新意的最佳方式,是將母親的定義擴大至擔任母親角色的人物,例如祖母、姨媽、堂姐、導師、朋友、老師、養母等任何曾經以積極的方式提供教養的人。 

「在母親節這一天能榮耀這位帶給你母親般溫暖、保護你、支持你的人是非常有療癒作用的。」菲爾瑞利說。「雖然我們知道我們的母親已經不在了,但是我們和她的關係依然存在,主要是透過回憶、共同度過的時光,以及一個事實:我們仍然能感覺到她的存在及支持。」

其他的因應訣竅包括:

  • 對他人談論母親的故事或分享對她的回憶
  • 製作特殊的手工藝品、相片簿或剪貼簿紀念母親
  • 烹煮或分享母親的特殊食譜 
  • 寫信給母親,或在日記中寫出關於她的點點滴滴
  • 冥想自己和母親「散步」或前往她的墳墓祭拜
  • 述說關於母親的故事或作詩
  • 以她的名義向慈善機構捐款或當義工
  • 參加哀傷支援團體以便讓未能化解的爭議尋求寬慰。

尋找您附近的VITAS團體、課程及活動。

Español English

Missing Mom on Mother’s Day

A man comforts his wife as they sit together on a park bench
“While we know our mother is gone, we still have a relationship with her.”

Just as Mother’s Day elicits emotions of joy and gratitude for some people, it can serve as a source of loss and grief for those whose mothers or mother figures are no longer alive.

“When someone doesn’t have a mother and is grieving, Mother’s Day can bring up the pain, almost as a reminder that it’s been a year or 10 years or 20 years or even 50 years since she’s been gone,” says Robin Fiorelli, director of bereavement and volunteer services for VITAS.

“My mother was my best friend. And even though she lived in Chicago and I’m in Atlanta, we talked every day,” says Carla Kalip, whose mother died in 2001. “She was my hero and ‘she-ro,’ never failing to let me know she loved me unconditionally.”

Many VITAS Healthcare locations hold Mother’s Day events as part of the bereavement services we provide to patients’ families. Since 2007, these events have included the “Missing Our Mothers, Daughters Remember” program, which recognizes the unique bond between mothers and daughters. 

Bringing New Meaning to Mother's Day

One of the best ways to infuse Mother’s Day with new meaning, Fiorelli advises, is to expand the definition of “mother” to include women who have served as mother figures— grandmothers, aunts, cousins, mentors, friends, teachers, adoptive mothers, anyone who has been nurturing in positive ways. 

“It can be really healing on Mother’s Day to honor the person who was motherly to you, someone who was protective and had your back,” Fiorelli says. “While we know our mother is gone, we still have a relationship with her, based on memories, a shared history and the fact that we can still feel her presence and support.”

Other coping tips include:

  • Tell stories or share memories of Mom with others
  • Create special crafts, photo albums or scraps to remember Mom
  • Cook or share Mom’s special recipes 
  • Write a letter to Mom, or journal about her
  • Meditate as you “take a walk” with Mom or visit her grave
  • Read stories or poetry about mothers
  • Donate to a charity or volunteer in her honor
  • Find closure for unresolved issues by attending a grief support group

Find VITAS groups, classes and events near you.

Español 繁體中文