喪親的您如何面對新年

接受新年的到來

當我們悲傷時,要度過來臨的每一天都非常艱難。要面對橫亙在我們前面的新的一整年更是令人怯步。我們可能會害怕新年可能帶來些什麼。我們可能會擔心我們是否能夠挺得住任何更多的挑戰。我們目前經歷到的空虛和寂寞可能使我們不願意去面對新的一年。

我們可能會對自己說,「我曾經是那麼忙碌。我曾經感覺那麼被需要、那麼有用。現在看來除了空洞的空間和空洞的時間以外就什麼都沒有了。」 早上醒來不知道我們這一天該做什麼,已經夠糟糕了;而我們接下來一整年該做什麼呢?

渴望挽回過去,有時會讓我們抗拒接受新的一年。過去往往令我們感到舒適、感到安全、感到美好。我們今天承受著哀傷的負擔,我們擔心新的一年對我們也將不會有任何不同。我們非常渴望我們想念的親人,以及我們與其共度的珍貴過去。我們想著那一切,並且希望我們回到那裡。

新年的來臨對於不同的哀傷者可能具有不同的意義。我們歡迎、恐懼或是忽略新年,可能會視我們處在哀傷過程的階段而定。問題不在於哀傷是否會表現出來,而是在於哀傷會如何表現出來,以及我們將如何處理。

一種學習過程

如果您最近才突然無預警地失去親人,您會感到極度震驚,如同作了一場惡夢或是不在過自己的生活,而想不顧一切的回到「舊」生活裡。您沒想到的可能是難熬的新年。一再書寫或談論摯愛的死亡可能讓您感到麻木或冷漠。最後,您可能會發現您的生活已經改變到連自己都不認識了。

著名的哀傷輔導師兼作家德蕾絲‧蘭多(Therese Rando)將哀傷描述為一種「學習過程」。和摯愛相處的每一分鐘已建立了彼此互動的模式。每一項新的挑戰,例如報稅、修理東西或迎接新年,都成為您必須接受摯愛永遠缺席的新情景,因此要尋找新的方式去適應,即使新的挑戰會帶來新的痛苦。

隨著您勇敢地應對哀傷,一段時間之後,您終會找到面對新人生的力量,並且以興致和期望迎向新的一年。當哀傷已開始減輕之後,也許您將對於改變有所期待。

您也許感到欣慰和喜悅,知道自己已經盡全力並且曾經努力地愛過。受到您曾經一度享受過的愛的洗禮,您現在可以對所有受苦的人展現更深的愛心。因為,您終將了悟生命是個禮物,是您與生命旅途中任何邂逅的人共享的禮物。時間一到,您可能想要獨立完成您們曾經希望能共同完成的心願。

即使您害怕、孤單,即使您嚮往過去,您仍然可以微微打開門迎接這新的一年。

面對新年的小提示:

  • 從獲得必要的休息開始。如果您還在因為照顧人或強烈的哀傷而倍感疲憊,就先專注在身體的恢復上。考慮與您的醫師討論如何重新強壯自己的體力。
  • 讓自己的心靈得到休息。以正向肯定自己,取代負面的想法;用音樂、禱告、勵志文學、歡笑及淚水撫平自己的心靈。
  • 關注希望與渴望。找些實用的小方法給自己一點新的樂趣。
  • 參加支持團體或與可以聆聽及分享回憶的朋友及家人談心。
  • 向當地的牧師、猶太教祭司、天主教神父、伊斯蘭教阿訇尋求靈性支持。
  • 以活在當下、順其自然的方式找出邁向未來的勇氣。竭力照顧好今天的自己及他人。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Facing the New Year when You are Bereaved

Accepting the New Year

When we are grieving, it is hard enough to live each day as it comes. It can be daunting to face a whole new year stretching out in front of us. We may be afraid of what the new year might bring. We may worry whether or not we can handle any more challenges. Our current experience of emptiness and loneliness may make us reluctant to face a new year.

We might say to ourselves, “I used to be so busy. I used to feel so needed, so useful. Now it seems there’s nothing but empty space and empty time.” It’s bad enough to wake in the morning not sure what we’ll do with the day; what will we do with a whole year?

Longing to recover the past can sometimes make us resistance to accepting the new year. The past was where we were comfortable, where we felt safe, felt good. Grief burdens us today and we fear the new year won’t hold anything different for us. We pine for the person we miss and the precious past we shared. We think about how it was, and wish we were back there.

Approach of a new year may mean different things for different mourners. Whether we welcome, dread or ignore a new year probably depends on where we are in our grief process. The question is not whether, but how grief will show up, and how we’ll work with it.

A Learning Process

If your loss was recent, sudden or unexpected, you might experience it as a shock, as if you're living a bad dream or someone else's life, trying desperately to get back to your “old” life. The last thing on your mind might be the challenge of a new year. Writing or talking repeatedly about the death of your loved one might make you feel numb or detached. Eventually, you might realize that your life is not what you thought it would be, that your world has changed.

Therese Rando, a noted grief therapist and author, describes grieving as a learning process. Each minute with a loved one created patterns of how to operate and what to expect. Each new challenge, like doing the taxes, fixing things, and going into a new year, becomes a fresh occasion to accept the absence of your loved one and find new ways to cope, even if new challenges bring fresh pain.

As you courageously work through your grief over time, you eventually will find the strength to look to the new year with interest and wonder about what it might hold. Maybe you'll feel eager to welcome change, now that your grief has started to ease.

You might find comfort and joy in knowing that you did all that you could and loved well. Enriched by the love you once enjoyed, you can now show deeper compassion for all who suffer. You eventually will recognize life as a gift to enjoy with whomever crosses you path. In time, you might want to do on your own what you both once hoped to accomplish together.

Even if you're scared and lonely, and even if you long for the past, you can still open the door a crack to this new year.

Tips to face the new year:

  • Begin by getting needed rest. If you're still exhausted from caregiving or from acute grieving, focus on physical recovery. Considering talking with your doctor about how to rebuild yourself physically.
  • Give yourself a mental rest. Replace negative thoughts with positive affirmations about yourself, and soothe yourself with music, prayer, uplifting literature, tears and laughter.
  • Pay attention to hope and desire. Find small practical ways to give yourself new pleasure.
  • Attend a support group or talk with friends and family members who can list and share memories.
  • Seek spiritual support from a local minister, rabbi, priest, imam.
  • Find courage to live into the future by living in the present, one day at a time. Do the best you can to care for yourself and others today.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文