5計劃親人死後假期的方式

面對假期

感恩節餐桌空蕩的椅子,不打開的禮物,期待無法前來的親人假期來訪。面對親人死後的假期很難,尤其是頭幾年。

無法安撫悲傷,因為知道假期將不再一樣了,但是您和家人可以做一些事情幫助您因應假期期間,一起享受您的時光並且向死者致意。

1。詢問每個家人提供關於傳統節日與準備的想法與偏好。

家庭會議將協助您討論您的親人在傳統節日或節慶時扮演的角色。過去媽媽總是帶南瓜派來? 爺爺總是說特別的禱告詞? 也許您和您的爸爸總是一起搭起耶誕樹。藉由聊聊你們很思念缺席的親人,您和家人採取第一步驟來處理你們的哀傷。

2. 審閱所有節日相關活動。看看今年保留什麼以及改變了什麼。

如果您和家人繼續節日家庭傳統,也許某個人可以履行那位逝去親人的角色。複製媽媽的南瓜派讓每個人感到舒適,而且是表達懷念她的最棒方式。家庭每個成員只需做他們覺得最能處理的事情,而且每個人應該對於整個家庭所做的選擇引以為傲。

沒有人說您必須以過去的方式行事。如果您經常去死者家享用節日晚餐,今年您可以決定去不同的地方或待在家中。如果您不想裝飾或搭起聖誕樹,沒關係!如果您要做,請邀請親朋好友來幫忙! 這會放鬆心情並增添佳節氣氛。如果您不想參加具有宗教性質的服務,沒關係! 如果您想參加,邀請某個人與您前往共享特别時光。

這不是有很大期待的時候。哀傷的感受起起伏伏。您可能一會兒覺得樂觀向上精力充沛,另一會兒痛不欲生,覺得很累。該是善待自己並幫助他人了解您的感受和您的需求的時候了!

3. 決定節日活動如何納入你們對親人的懷念。

椅子可能是空的,然而你們的親人將透過整個佳節氣氛出現在你們的腦海裡和心中。當您收集或將紙條放在盒中稍後閱讀分享時,您可以透過點亮特別的蠟燭將之納入家庭聚會中。吃完感恩節大餐後或打開禮物後,你們都聚在一起的時候,看看照相簿,談談有關已逝親人的往事。這可以讓你們感覺到彼此以及與已逝親人的聯繫感。

4. 回覆佳節邀請。

節日充滿派對和聚會。您應該計劃與人們好好享受,即使只有片刻。為了讓事情變得順利,請朋友陪伴您,您想待多久就待多久。由於您不確定您會有什麼感受,可以請問主人是否可以在最後一刻再接受或拒絕。允許自己拒絕您不想接受的邀請。

5. 了解您害怕佳節可能比現實更糟糕。

有時候待在社交常客身邊的想法可能讓您的哀傷更明顯。當您仍因親人死亡感到很痛苦時,看見您周圍的生活仍在繼續會讓人不好受。然而害怕度過沒有他們的佳節可能比實際上還更糟,因為您身邊圍繞著親朋好友以及了解您正在承受悲傷的其他人。佳節期間,當您從悲傷的陰影中窺見節日的喜悅時,允許自己享受「黃金時刻」。您逝去的親人會希望您享受那樣的時刻。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

5 Ways to Plan for the Holidays after the Death of a Loved One

Facing the Holidays

An empty chair at the Thanksgiving table, a present that won’t be opened, the expectation of a holiday visit from a loved one who won’t be coming. Facing the holidays after the death of a loved one is difficult, especially the first few years.

Nothing can ease the sorrow that comes with knowing the holidays will never be the same, but there are some things you and your family can do to help you cope, enjoy your time together and honor a deceased love one during the holidays.

1. Ask each family member to give thoughts and preferences about participating in holiday preparations and traditions.

A family meeting will help you discuss the role your loved one played in your holiday traditions or festivities. Did Mom always bring the pumpkin pie? Did grandad always say a special prayer? Maybe you and your Dad always put up the Christmas tree together. By talking about what you’ll miss most about your loved one's absence, you and your family are taking the first step in coping with your grief.

2. Review all holiday-associated activities. Consider what to keep and what to change this year.

If you and your family decide to continue with holiday family traditions, maybe someone else can fulfill the role of your loved one. Replicating Mom’s pumpkin pie can be a comfort to everyone and a great way to honor her memory. Each member of the family should do only what they feel most capable of handling, and everyone should honor the choices made by the entire family.

No one says you have to do things the way you have in the past. If you usually went to the deceased’s house for holiday dinner, this year you may decide to go someplace different or stay at home. It’s okay if you don’t feel like decorating or putting up the tree. If you do, invite family and friends to help. This will lighten the mood and add a festive feeling. It’s okay if you don’t feel like attending a religious service. If you do, invite someone to go with you and share a special time together.

This is not the time for big expectations. Feelings of grief ebb and flow. You may feel upbeat and energetic one moment and overwhelmingly sad and tired the next. It is a time to be kind to yourself and to help others understand how you feel and what you need.

3. Decide how to include the memory of your loved one in holiday events.

The chair may be empty, but your loved one will be present in your mind and heart throughout the holiday season. You can include them in family gatherings by lighting a special candle when you gather or by placing notes in a box to read and share later. After the Thanksgiving meal is eaten or after the presents have been opened, while you are all together, look through photo albums and tell stories about your loved one who is gone. This can make you feel connected to each other and to the loved one who died.

4. Respond to holiday invitations.

Holidays are full of parties and get-togethers. You should plan to be with people you enjoy, even if just for a few moments. To make going easier, ask a friend to accompany you, and stay only as long as you want. Ask your host if it’s okay to accept or decline at the last minute, since you’re not sure how you’ll be feeling. And allow yourself to decline invitations you don’t want to accept.

5. Realize that your fear of the holidays may be worse than the reality.

Sometimes just the thought of being around happy party-goers can make your grief more noticeable. It’s hard to watch as life goes on around you while you’re still stinging from the death of your loved one. But the fear of going through the holiday season without them may be worse than the reality as you surround yourself with family, friends and others who understand what you’re going through. During the holiday season, allow yourself to enjoy “golden moments” when you can see the joy of the season peeking through the shadows of your sorrow. Your loved one would want that for you.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文