死亡與臨終:當您不知如何措辭時該說什麼

對於正在哀慟喪失至親的人而言,朋友和鄰居是個重大的支持來源。但是,當我們面對這些遭逢摯愛過世的人,我們往往拙於言辭。  

如何和他人談及哀傷 

說話得宜並非難事。放輕鬆、自然,並且記住:最重要的是哀悼的人的感覺及對事情的看法,而不是您的行為。  

在開頭幾天  

在死亡後的頭幾天,切勿讓無助的感覺阻斷你與他人的交流。儘量及早聯絡,切勿認為協助已經足夠而不需要你的幫助。  

目前的金玉良言就是什麼話都不說。哀悼者仍然處於震驚中,一切都很恍惚。給對方一個擁抱;你的關懷;或僅是簡單、富有同理心的表達一句話,例如「這對你一定是一個重大的打擊。」 你可以以詢問死因起頭,「你想說一下昨晚發生的事情經過嗎?」,或關於葬禮或追悼儀式計劃。然後仔細聆聽。 

不宜說的話 

死亡和臨終是極為敏感的話題,因此,即使用意良善也很容易失言,甚至說出冒犯的話。 

哀傷與喪慟專家皆同意應避免下列用語: 

  • 「一切都會過去。」 切勿貶低哀悼者的感覺;此刻似乎難以度過。 
  • 「這樣是最好的結果」或「這是神的旨意。」 陳腔濫調和老生常談於事無補。 
  • 「我了解你的感覺。」 您也許不知道,每個人的哀傷都很獨特。 
  • 「你應對的很好!」 生者不該懼怕他們的哀傷會讓您失望。 
  • 「如果你需要任何協助請打電話給我。」 對於必須處理的事提供協助;後續再依約達成。切勿讓喪親者負擔責任。 
  • 「如果將他們的東西處理掉,你應該會覺得好一些。」 讓生者準備好時自己下決定。 

死亡後的數週 

死亡數週之後,當其他支持已不在時即可再主動聯絡,並且保持聯絡。即使已經過了一段時間之後,打通電話告訴對方說,「我一直想到你」,都永遠不嫌太晚。目前狀況如何呢?」  

鼓勵哀悼者飲食、起居正常,運動,並且減少喝酒。建議哀悼者目前不要作太多的事情,或對生活作過大的改變的決定。輕柔緩慢地鼓勵恢復對外活動,但注意哀悼者的反應。處理哀傷需要時間,每位哀悼者都有自己獨特的時間表。當哀悼者恢復社交活動時,承認死亡的存在,但切勿深陷其中。 

哀傷的後段過程 

即使在哀傷的後段過程之中,你可以做的最重要的事情是保持緘默,多聆聽。當喪親者在哭泣時,僅陪在身旁即可(這雖然不簡單,但極為重要)。當喪親者訴說當中有長時期的暫停時刻時,請勿對於此沉默時刻感到尷尬。注意非語言溝通,包括目光交流、肌肉緊繃,面部表情。切勿打岔或企圖轉開話題;給予喪親者所需要的所有時間。

避免將這樁死亡與你自身的經驗牽扯到一起的衝動。反而,請談論關於死者的事物、你的溫馨回憶和哀悼者的回憶。無需害怕提起死者的名字,因為哀悼者無時無刻不想著他們。提及死者的名字;使用過去式;使用已亡、死亡和身故等字眼。 

如果您對於一位哀悼者無法走出這個憂傷、無法解決憤怒或罪惡感,或過渡哭泣感到憂慮時,可尋求治療師、神職人員和喪慟專業人員的協助。如需VITAS Healthcare的支持,請致電800.723.3233。 

安寧療護服務在病人過世後仍然繼續提供一年多的服務。安寧療護人員的致電或探訪,及例如支持團體、追悼儀式及閱讀材料等資源,皆有助哀傷者以自己需要的時間獲得療癒。此外,VITAS Healthcare會邀請社區中需要身故後支持的任何人參與喪慟團體及其他的免費活動。 

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

On Death & Dying: What to Say When You Don’t Know What to Say

For those grieving the death of someone important to them, friends and neighbors can be a huge source of support. But we are often unsure about what to say to someone who’s experienced the death of a loved one.  

How to Talk to Someone about Grief 

Saying the right thing is not difficult. Relax, be yourself and remember: what’s important is how the mourner feels and views things—not how you do.  

In the First Days  

In the first days after a death, don’t let feelings of helplessness keep you from reaching out. Get in touch as soon as you can—never assume there is enough support and you aren’t needed.  

The best thing to say at this point is probably nothing. The mourner is still in shock; everything’s a blur. Offer a hug; your affection; or a simple, sympathetic statement such as, “This must be so hard for you.” You might begin by asking about the death—“Do you want to talk about what happened last night?”—or about funeral or memorial service plans. Then listen. 

What Not to Say 

Death and dying are such sensitive subjects that it is easy—even with the best of intentions—to say something that is not supportive, or may even offend. 

Grief and bereavement experts agree that phrases such as these should be avoided: 

  • “Everything will be OK.” Don’t diminish the mourner’s feelings; everything is not OK at the moment. 
  • “It’s for the best” or “It was God’s will.” Clichés and platitudes are not helpful. 
  • “I know what you’re feeling.” You don’t know. Each person’s grief is unique. 
  • “You’re doing so well!” The survivor shouldn’t fear that their grief is letting you down. 
  • “Call if you need anything.” Offer to do what needs doing; then follow through. Don’t put the responsibility on the bereaved. 
  • “You’d feel better if you got rid of their things.” Let the survivor decide when they are ready. 

Weeks After Death 

In the weeks after the death, when other support is gone, get in touch again—and keep in touch. Even if a lot of time has passed, it is never too late to call and say, “I’ve been thinking about you. How is it going?”  

Encourage the mourner to eat well, sleep well, exercise and minimize the use of alcohol. Discourage the mourner from trying to do too much or from making life-altering decisions for now. Gently and slowly encourage the resumption of outside activities, but take your cues from the mourner. Griefwork takes time, and every mourner has a unique timetable. When the mourner does return to social activities, acknowledge the death but don’t dwell on it. 

Later in the Grief Process 

Even later in the grief process, the most important thing you can do is to be quiet and listen. When the bereaved is crying, just be there (this is difficult, but important). When the bereaved is talking and there are long pauses, be comfortable in the silence. Pay attention to non-verbal communication, including eye contact, muscle tension, facial expression. Don’t interrupt or try to change the subject; give the bereaved all the time they need.

Resist the urge to relate this death to your own experience. Talk instead about the deceased, about your fond memories and the mourner’s memories. Don’t fear bringing up the name of the deceased; the mourner is thinking about them all the time. Use the deceased’s name; use the past tense; use the words dead, death and died. 

If you are concerned that a mourner is not progressing through this grief, seems unable to resolve anger or guilt, or is crying excessively, there are therapists, clergy and bereavement professionals who can help. For support from VITAS Healthcare call 800.723.3233. 

Hospice services continue for more than a year after a death. Phone calls and visits from hospice staff and resources like support groups, memorial services and reading material help mourners heal, each in their own time. In addition, VITAS Healthcare invites anyone in the community in need of support after a death to participate in bereavement groups and other free events. 

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文