朋友不會讓朋友們獨自哀傷

朋友喪親的痛苦

當您的好朋友經歷親人死亡時,他們往往比任何時候都還需要您的友誼與同情。然而末期診斷或死亡有時候會造成親密好友甚至家人遠離他們最在乎的人們,或許由於恐懼說錯話或做錯事或面對重病或哀傷時的不舒服感。

恐懼與不確定感阻礙了可能會發生在朋友之間可以有的以及英國發生的許多具有意義的互動。

對您的朋友表現支持

一些非常簡單的步驟可以幫助您去幫助承受失去親人痛苦的朋友。將以下建議視如何做對的事情並且在最需要的時候當個最好的朋友的指標。

1. 在旁陪伴。 如果在疾病或死亡之前您的友誼很重要,您會知道在緊要關頭友誼會是無價的。請勿設想您的出現會是個負擔。您的朋友(或你朋友的家人)會有需要隱私的時候,但是緊要關頭不是孤立的時候。打電話問候或表達誠摯哀悼。寫封友善的短箋或寄張慰問卡。到場默默支援以緩和他們的痛苦。陪在一旁,讓他們知道他們是被深愛著的,這是他們最需要收到的訊息。

2. 傾聽。 讓朋友知道,有您在,可以放心發洩情緒。他們必須能夠自在地訴說有關衝突的想法而不被打斷或責備。向他們保證,鑒於這種情況,他們的感受很正常,您對於他們的痛苦感同身受。避免陳腔濫調,如「我懂你的感受」或「往好處想」等這些話可能會忽視他們的痛苦並且讓他們疏遠。反之,運用開放式的同情心與理解的陳述,如「這一定很不容易」或「對於您承受的痛苦我感到很難過」。讓您的朋友開口聊聊。

3. 行動。 評估情況並思考幫助的特定方式。不說「如果我能幫得上忙,請讓我知道」,而是說「你安排喪禮時,我會幫你看小孩。」去機場接外地的賓客。安排一群願意一週不同天準備三餐、洗衣或打掃家裡的鄰居或朋友。幫忙打電話或跑腿。透過做出具體的建議,您幫忙緩解與疾病和死亡有關的常見壓力來源。

4. 回顧。 回憶逝者的成就。回顧這個人如何感動您的生命很得體且是榮耀逝者的。分享特殊的回憶安撫在世的人並驗證他們至親的生命價值。

5. 後續聯絡。 繼續與您的朋友保持聯絡,甚至在失去親人後三或六個月。打電話或登門拜訪。建議假日或特殊紀念日聚在一起,延長晚餐邀約或見面時簡單地喝杯咖啡。

是的,依據您的朋友經歷樣什麼日子,您的邀約可能被拒絕,但是千望別因此阻擋您在另外的時間展現您的支持。您的朋友將永遠帶著感謝記得您把恐懼拋諸腦後帶給他們安慰。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Friends Don't Let Friends Grieve Alone

When a Friend Suffers a Loss

When your close friends experience the death of a loved one, they often need your friendship and compassion more than ever. Yet a terminal diagnosis or death sometimes causes close friends and even family members to pull away from the people they care about most, perhaps out of fear of saying or doing the wrong thing or a sense of discomfort at confronting serious illness or grief.

Fear and uncertainty have prevented many meaningful interactions that could have—and should have—taken place between friends.

Showing Support for Your Friend

Some very simple steps can help you help a friend who has suffered a loss. Consider the following suggestions as a roadmap for how to do the right thing and be a best friend when it matters most.

1. Be present. If your friendship was important prior to an illness or death, know that it will be invaluable during a crisis. Don’t assume that your presence will be a burden. Your friend (or your friend's family) will have moments when privacy is necessary, but a crisis is not a time for isolation. Phone to say hello or to express sincere condolences. Write a friendly note or send a sympathy card. Offer your quiet and supportive attendance to ease their hurt. By being there, you let them know they are loved, the message they most need to receive.

2. Listen. Let friends know their emotions are safe with you. They need to be able to speak freely about conflicting thoughts without being interrupted or lectured. Reassure them that, given the situation, their feelings are normal and that you empathize with their pain. Avoid using platitudes like, “I know how you feel,” or “Look on the bright side.” These sayings can discount their pain and might alienate them. Instead, use open-ended compassionate and understanding statements, such as “This must be difficult” or “I’m sorry you’re going through this.” Let your friend do the talking.

3. Act. Assess the situation and think of specific ways to help. Instead of saying, “Let me know if I can help,” say, “Let me watch the children while you make the funeral arrangements.” Offer to pick up out-of-town guests from the airport. Organize a group of neighbors or friends willing to prepare meals, do laundry or clean house on different days of the week. Offer to make phone calls or run errands. By making specific suggestions, you are helping to relieve some of the common stressors associated with illness and death.

4. Reflect. Review the accomplishments of the person who has died. It is fitting and honoring to reflect on how this person has touched your life. Share special memories that comfort the survivors and validate the value of their loved one's life.

5. Follow up. Continue to stay in touch with your friend, even three or six months after the loss. Call or stop by for a visit. Suggest getting together for the holidays or on special anniversaries, extend a dinner invitation or simply offer to meet over a cup of coffee.

Yes, your offers might be declined, depending on what kind of day your friend is experiencing, but don’t let that deter you from presenting your support at another time. Your friend will forever remember with gratitude how you pushed beyond your fears to bring them comfort.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文