學習接受難以承受的事

人們哀傷,因為他們曾經愛過,而每個人愛的感受不同,因此哀傷程度也會不同。需要經歷幾個月或幾年的痛苦,才能接受死亡並從哀傷中恢復。

不相信事實的保護心理

親人死亡接下來無法相信的感受是一種適應性的短暫反應,免卻失去親人的痛苦並允許在世者處理親人去世後接下來的所有瑣事。

一般人無法輕易或立即接受痛苦的事實,且這可能是令人身心俱疲的過程。當失去親人的痛苦最後變成情緒低落,這個情緒會被深深的悲傷圍繞著,會懷疑自己的心情是否有恢復的一天,難以想像至親過世後沒有他/她的生活。

死亡也會動搖在世家庭成員的信心,往往迫使尚存的配偶再度回到單身的身份,承擔之前另一伴處理的風險或工作。

想哭且易怒的情緒

有些喪親者無法和其他人相處。聊天起不了作用。許多人會突然哭泣或容易發怒。有些人對自己的情緒感到慚愧,有時覺得他們「現在早就應該感到好多了」。

其他人則會經歷自責,責問自己是否可以做更多事來避免死亡,或懊惱於在關係中發生過或沒發生過的事情。如果他們倖存或如果他們有如釋重負的感覺或不夠悲傷,他們可能覺得自責。

此外,幾乎所有喪親者在哀傷過程中一度會感到生氣。他們會對自己、親友感到生氣,甚至對上帝讓他們的親人去世感到生氣。

覺醒

然而,時間久了,他們會發現自己逐漸接受並且重新開始新的生活。當在世者開始定義(或重新定義)什麼對他們而言很重要並且從學習新技巧與獲得信心後會找到自信,活力和希望開始回來。以前的人際關係會恢復;會建立新的人際關係。

這一切感受是哀傷過程中很正常的部分。雖然這些都是很痛苦的經驗,但人們還是要抒發這些情緒,生活才能繼續向前遇進。哀傷的過程可以讓人們以他們在哀傷旅程開始時無法想像的方式成長。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Learning to Accept the Unacceptable

People grieve because they have loved, and while each person's sense of love is different, so is their grief. Accepting death and recovering from grief require hard work over a period of months or years.

Protective Disbelief

The feeling of disbelief that follows the death of a loved one is an adaptive and temporary response—one that protects from the pain of loss and allows a survivor to manage all of the details that follow a death.

Embracing the painful reality does not happen quickly or easily, and it can be an exhausting process. When the loss finally sinks in, it can be surrounded by profound sadness, doubts about ever feeling okay again and difficulty imaging life without the loved one who has passed away.

Death also can shake confidence in surviving family members, and it often forces a surviving spouse to establish an identity as a single person again, assuming risks or tasks previously handled by the partner.

Tears and Irritability

Some bereaved people have difficulty being with others. Small talk seems trivial. Many cry unexpectedly or are irritable. Some feel embarrassed about the emotions they have, and sometimes feel like they “should be feeling better by now.”

Others experience guilt, questioning whether they could have done more to prevent death or suffering, or about things that did or did not happen in the relationship. They might feel guilty if they survived, or if they experience a sense of relief or a lack of sorrow.

In addition, almost all bereaved people feel angry at some as they grieve. They may feel angry at themselves, at their family and friends, and even at God for letting their loved one die.

Reawakening

Over time, however, they experience a growing acceptance and reawakening. Energy and hope begin to return as survivors begin to define (or redefine) what is meaningful to them and find confidence in acquiring new skills and confidence. Old relationships are restored; new ones are formed.

All these feelings are a normal part of the grieving process. Even though they are painful to experience, they need to be expressed in order to move forward in life. The grieving process allows people to grow in ways they could not imagine when they started on the journey.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文