失去至親後,如何重建自尊

您已失去至親,不要再失去自我。

失去至親可能會粉碎生者的自我肯定,您需要鼓起勇氣,重塑信心。也許您覺得本來可以做更多事來避免憾事產生,是您辜負了逝者。失去至親後,您有可能會感到無助或生命中「少」了什麼東西。如果您對您的至親有特別的感受和愛,您現在也許不會有這樣的感受。

幫助重建自尊的五個建議

培養關係

與理解您且對您真誠的人–可以幫您成長的人–培養關係。願意為您做太多事情的人,從長遠看並不是在幫助您。

不再讓自己失落

經常看輕自己是低自信的明顯跡象:「我從來沒有做對事情!」 試著寫下自我肯定的清單。這需要加以練習,當您注意到您對自己有負面情緒時,需要有正面的想法加以取代。

採取新的行動

提高自信心源自思考、決定和行動,無論自己的感受如何。即使您自我感覺不佳,您還是可以決定以對自己好的方式行動。例如,決定有更多的運動,因為您需要保持健康。您做出決定,採取行動時,您會自我感覺良好。

表達自己

認真看待自己的想法、情感和願望–正如您認真對待他人和傾聽他人的想法一樣。不要壓抑自己,而是告訴他人您的想法、感受和願望。當您不以抱怨或攻擊的方式處理時,您和對方都會增加自尊。

接受自我

沒有人完美無缺,生活中不時會遇到困難。我們都想做正確的事情。是人都會犯錯。我們理應愛自己 – 成為自己的最好朋友。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

How To Rebuild Self-Esteem After Losing a Loved One

You’ve lost a loved one—don’t lose yourself, too.

A significant loss can shatter a survivor's self-esteem, leaving you to pick up the pieces and put yourself back together. Perhaps you feel you could have done more to prevent the loss, that you somehow failed the person who is gone. You may feel incomplete or “less than” without your loved one. If he or she made you feel special and loved, you may not feel those things now.

Five Suggestions To Help Rebuild Self-Esteem

Cultivate Relationships

Cultivate relationships with people who affirm who you are and are honest with you—the friends and acquaintances who help you grow. Those who try to do too much for you aren’t helping you in the long run.

Stop Putting Yourself Down

Frequent self-disparaging remarks are a sure sign of low self-esteem: “I never do anything right!” Try writing down a list of self-affirmations. It takes practice, but when you notice that you are having a negative self-thought, try substituting a positive thought.

Take New Actions

Growth in self-esteem comes from thinking, deciding and acting, no matter what you are feeling. Even when you don’t feel good about yourself, you can decide to act in ways that are good for you. For example, decide to get more exercise because you deserve to be healthy. When you make the decision and act on it, you begin to feel better about yourself.

Express Yourself

Take seriously your own ideas, feelings and wishes —just as you take others seriously and listen to them. Instead of withholding yourself from others, tell them what you think, how you feel, what you want. When you do this in a way that does not blame or attack, both your self-esteem and their esteem of you grow.

Accept Yourself

Remember that no one gets close to perfect, and life is difficult at times. We all want to do right. We all make mistakes. We all deserve to like ourselves—to be our own best friend.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文