青少年的哀傷經驗

很遺憾的是,對於太多青少年而言,死亡及隨之而來的哀傷往往成為日常生活的一部分。

在今天的學生中,有5%會在他們高中結束時失去一位父母,並且,在他們18歲的時候會有20%經歷到一位身邊的人身故的經驗。當接受研究調查時,90%表示他們曾經經歷身邊的人死亡的經驗。¹從2010年至2018年年中之間,美國有超過170位學生在校園槍擊案中身亡²。

青少年痛失所愛的常見哀傷反應

雖然對於哀傷的反應人人不同,但是某些哀傷的反應十分普遍並且被認為是正常或典型的。多數經歷過身邊人死亡的青少年,之後會出現以下的行為或感覺:

  • 胸部鬱悶或如鯁在喉。
  • 胃部感覺空虛且沒有食慾。
  • 對於說了或做了的事或對於沒說或沒做的事感到愧疚。
  • 有時突然無緣由的憤怒並且抨擊他人。
  • 對於過世者的死亡感到強烈的憤怒,但之後又對於這種憤怒感到愧疚。
  • 稍微不如意情緒就波動。
  • 無預警的情緒爆發或哭泣。
  • 有躁動感且無法專心於手中的工作。
  • 感覺這種死亡不是真的且完全沒發生過。
  • 感覺到過世者的存在、期待他(她)會如往常般地進門、聽到他(她)的聲音,或覺得眼角餘光「看到」過世者。
  • 對相片自言自語。
  • 在一個特別的地方與過世者對話。
  • 失眠或做惡夢。
  • 模仿過世者的舉止、特徵,或穿上過世者最喜歡的衣服。
  • 感情退化,甚至尿床等讓青少年倍感困擾的情形。
  • 需要重複訴說並且回憶關於過世者的點點滴滴,不斷重複的結果造成他人的負擔。
  • 無法以言語表達任何事,或想要過度負責任。
  • 肩負起新的一家之主或女主人的角色,透過照顧其他人來分散自己的注意力。

表達哀傷沒有「對」或「錯」。

遭逢摯愛死亡的青少年必須知道,表達哀傷沒有「對」或「錯」的方式。但差別在於有些哀傷的方式有助益,有些沒有助益。為青少年提供建設性的哀傷表達方式將有助於防止長時期或無法解決的悲傷和抑鬱。建議表達感覺的建設性方式包括:和自己信任的人討論、寫日記、進行藝術創作等等,而不要隱藏感覺或採取更具毀滅性的因應方式,例如飲酒、吸毒,或對社會有害或高危險的行為。

哀傷情緒的高低起伏

哀傷時有時無。它不是青少年可以「克服」的一樁事情,而是必須學習接納它。雖然第一年和第二年對於青少年尤其困難,但他們帶著哀傷長大,並且隨著成長過程,在不同的時空經歷這種失落感。

在特別的日子及重要時刻,不論是透過回憶或「如果......會怎麼樣」的想法,都會讓情緒再度浮現。青少年正常發展的一部分是將他們在這種喪親中學到的心得融入他們目前的發展階段中。例如,一位高中畢業班的學生可能穿上他去世父親的襯衫參加畢業典禮。一位19歲的新娘在她的婚禮中,向自己一生中最重要的人物她已故的祖母先舉杯致敬。

青少年時期是個動盪時期,但是對於經歷過親人或朋友死亡的青少年而言,這段時期更加動盪不安。青少年所經歷的哀傷像季節一般更迭不斷,並且伴隨著他們長大成人。

¹兒童的哀傷意識日(PDF)

²https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_school_shootings_in_the_United_States#2015_to_present

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Experiencing Grief as a Teenager

Unfortunately for too many teenagers, death and the resulting grief are part of everyday life.

By the end of high school, 5 percent of today’s students will have lost one of their parents by the end of high school, and 20 percent will have experienced the death of someone close by age 18. When surveyed, 90% say they have experienced the death of a loved one.¹ From 2010 to mid-2018, more than 170 U.S. students were killed in school shootings².

Common Reactions of Grieving Teens

Grief is as unique as the people who experience it, but some reactions to grief are universal and considered normal or typical. Most teens who experience the death of a loved one will exhibit some of the following behaviors or feelings:

  • Heaviness in the chest or tightness in the throat.
  • An empty feeling in the stomach and a loss of appetite.
  • Guilt over something said or done, or something left unsaid or undone.
  • Anger and lashing out at others, sometimes at any time for no reason.
  • Intense anger at the deceased for dying, and later feelings of guilt for being angry.
  • Mood changes over the slightest things.
  • Unexpected outbursts or crying.
  • Feelings of restlessness and simultaneous difficulty concentrating on a task at hand.
  • A feeling that the loss isn’t real and didn’t happen at all.
  • Sensing the deceased’s presence, expecting the deceased to walk through the door at the usual time, hearing his or her voice, or a sensation of "seeing" the deceased out of the corner of their eye.
  • Talking to pictures.
  • Conversing with the deceased in a special place.
  • Sleeplessness or troubling dreams.
  • Assuming mannerisms, traits or wearing clothes that were favorites of the deceased.
  • Emotional regression and even bed-wetting, which can be very upsetting for teenagers.
  • A need to retell and remember things about their loved one, to a point of repetition that becomes a burden to others.
  • An inability to say anything, or the need to be overly responsible.
  • Taking on the role of the “new” man or woman of the household, distracting themselves from their own feelings by taking care of everyone else.

No “Right” or “Wrong” Way to Grieve

A teen who experiences the death of a loved one needs to know that there is no “right” or “wrong” way to grieve. But there are some helpful and some not-so-helpful ways to grieve. Providing constructive ways for teenagers to express their grief will help prevent prolonged or unresolved sadness and depression. Suggest constructive ways to express their feelings—talking to someone they trust, journaling, creating art—instead of holding feelings in or turning to more destructive coping methods, such as drinking, substance abuse or antisocial or high-risk behaviors.

The Ebb and Flow of Grief

Grief comes and goes. It is not something teens “get over,” but something they learn to live with. Although the first and second years may be especially difficult, teenagers grow up with their grief and experience their loss at different times in their development.

Special days and important times may cause emotions to resurface, either through memories or what-if contemplation. Part of normal development for a teenager is to reintegrate what they have learned about their loss into their current developmental stage. For example, a high school senior may wear his deceased father’s shirt to his graduation exercises. A 19-year-old bride may propose her first toast to her deceased grandmother, a most significant figure in her life, at her wedding reception.

The teenage years can be a turbulent time, but they can be particularly turbulent for teens who have experienced the death of a relative or friend. Like the changing seasons, the grief these teens experience will be ongoing and ever-changing as they grow into adulthood.

¹Children's Grief Awareness Day (PDF)

²https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_school_shootings_in_the_United_States#2015_to_present

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文