兒童的發展階段:對死亡的概念和對哀傷的反應

每個孩童對死亡的了解和對哀傷的反應都不一樣。這種了解因兒童的發展階段和實足年齡而大有不同。然而有莫大的重疊存在不同的年齡族群之間,因為兒童以截然不同的速度從一個發展階段跨進另外一個發展階段。

嬰兒至2歲

對死亡的概念

嬰幼兒沒有了解像死亡這種抽象概念的認知能力。他們只能專注於現在。當某個重要的人死了,嬰幼兒馬上意識到的是失去與分離。他們也會對週遭環境裡重要大人的情緒和行為,以及日常餵養作息和時間安排的中斷有所反應。如果是突然的改變,他們會感到很不舒服。

對哀傷的反應

嬰幼兒會去尋找逝者,並且會因為分離而感到焦慮。常見的反應包括:易怒和掙扎反抗、老是哭泣、睡眠和飲食習慣改變、活動量減少和體重變輕。

學齡前年齡(2-4歲)

對死亡的概念

「媽咪什麼時候到家?」

「(逝者)怎麼吃東西或呼吸?」

學齡前兒童不懂得「永遠」這個概念。對這個年齡層的兒童而言,死亡被看做是暫時而且可以反轉的。例如,甚至當學齡前兒童被告知媽咪不再回來時,他或她一小時後可能問:「媽咪在哪裡?」學齡前兒童通常不會將死亡想像成生離死別,亦不想像成會發生在他們身上的某件事情。學齡前兒童喜歡玩「躲貓貓」,在遊戲中他們生活裡的大人會不見然後又出現。就是透過這些遊戲,他們才慢慢開始了解「永遠離開」的概念。

對哀傷的反應

因為學齡前兒童傾向於重視現在(present-oriented),他們的哀傷反應相當短暫但可能十分強烈。在此發展階段,兒童在學習信任和形成基本依附。因此當生命中重要大人過世了,他們變得非常在意分離和照顧模式的改變。這個年紀的兒童通常會因分離和遭棄而有更強烈的焦慮感,因為他們的能力尚不足以讓他們運用想像去掌控發生的事。¹

他們也會回應生活裡大人們的情緒反應。如果他們感覺到父母在憂慮或傷心,他們可能會哭泣或鬧脾氣,原因是他們感到焦慮或是以此轉移父母難過的情緒。學齡前兒童典型的哀傷反應包括了困惑、惡夢和夜裡煩躁不安,以及例如黏著大人不放、尿床、吸大拇指、無法安撫的大哭、鬧脾氣甚至畏縮不和人交往之類的退化行為。儘管確信那個人不再回來或者對於陌生人感到侷促不安,他們可能拼命地尋找死者。

幼兒階段(4-7歲)

對死亡的概念

「這是我的錯。我曾對媽媽生氣,還告訴她我希望她去死然後她就死了。」

「卡通裡的嗶嗶鳥每次都重新活過來,所以我知道爹地也會回來。」

這個年齡層與學齡前兒童一樣,也將死亡看做是暫時而且可以反轉的。有時候他們覺得要對死亡負責,因為他們相信自己對於死者的負面想法或感受可能造成他/她的死亡。這種「神奇想法」源自於相信他們所處環境裡的每事每物都以他們為中心,而且他們可以掌控發生的事情。甚至當這個年齡的兒童通過媒體或學校接觸到死亡,他們仍然相信,如果你夠小心,你可以避免死亡。

這個年齡層的兒童也會把彼此不相關的事連在一起。如果一個小孩在姊妹死去的那天買了某個玩具,她可能會把姊妹的死亡歸咎給該玩具,特別是如果沒有跟她解釋清楚死亡的真正原因。

對哀傷的反應

這個年齡層與學齡前兒童一樣,會反覆地找尋逝者,或問他們在哪裡。反覆地問逝者的死亡過程也是常見的情況。「你死的時候會發生什麼事?」 「死去的人怎麼吃東西?」 他們通常透過玩耍而不是語言來表達哀傷的感覺。家庭失去親人和死亡的主題可能會在他們玩玩具娃娃或打鬥玩偶時浮現出來。他們可能表演死亡本身或葬禮。²

有時這個年紀的兒童看起來不受死亡的影響,表現出好像什麼事都沒發生,但這並不代表他們不以為意或已接受死亡。這可能只是意味著他們當時沒有能力認知到非常痛苦的現實狀況。他們也可能在不確定如何表達哀傷的感覺時,模仿他們生活裡大人的哀傷反應。其他典型的反應尚包括憤怒、傷心、困惑和吃不下與睡不著。

這個年齡層與學齡前兒童一樣,可能會產生退化,以作為在此難熬時期得到更多關懷照顧和注意的方法。在這個年紀經歷喪親的兒童有害怕其他親人也會離他們而去的傾向。有時他們會對和逝者相似的人產生依附。

兒童中期(7-10歲)

對死亡的概念

「當你死了指甲和頭髮還繼續長嗎?」

「如果我抽菸的話會死嗎?」

這一年齡層會希望把死亡看做是可以反轉的,但他們也開始知道死亡是最終結果而且到哪都一樣。有時候這個年齡層的兒童以具體的形式如:鬼或妖怪看待死亡。³ 他們對於死亡、火化和埋葬的細節非常好奇,可能會問很率直的問題。

即使他們知道死亡會發生在每個人身上,而且死亡的原因很多,他們一般仍不會將死亡想成會發生在他們或他們家人身上。他們可能相信死亡只發生在老人或生重病的人身上,或者他們可以透過自己的努力逃避死亡。他們也可能將死亡視為一種懲罰,特別是九歲以下的孩子。有時他們無法理解死亡將如何影響他們的生活,這可能導致焦慮。

對哀傷的反應

處於兒童中期的孩童通常會關心別人對死亡的反應,因為他們變得將更多的注意力集中在他人身上而不是在自己身上。他們可能害怕其他親人也會死亡。他們可能擔心自己的健康或身體受傷害或死亡。

這個年齡層的一些兒童可能表達生氣和傷心或者在學校無法專心上課。其他人仍然可能對於死亡有著開玩笑或冷漠的態度,或者他們可能不與人交流隱藏自己的感受。其他的典型反應包括:震驚、否認、沮喪、改變飲食和睡眠模式,以及退化至較早的發展階段。

這個年齡層傾向於比幼童更能挖掘更多因應策略,而且可能幻想如何避免死亡當作贏得掌控局面的方式。一些兒童,尤其是言語上表達感受有困難的兒童,可能假裝玩戰爭遊戲或其他活動來表達。

這個年齡層的兒童可能假設死者的角色或習慣性動作,或者承擔日常瑣事或死者以前扮演的角色,如照顧他們的兄弟姊妹。他們可能藉由美化逝者來維持彼此之間的關係。

前青少年期(10-12歲)

對死亡的概念

「我的朋友當中沒半個能想像失去爸爸會是什麼情況。」

「我知道外婆不會回來,我會想念她。我不懂為什麼媽媽這麼難過。」

前青少年期的孩子對死亡的看法和兒童中期的孩子差不多,但是有較多想法。青春前期的少年是建立自己身份、從父母和其他成人獲得更多的獨立性以及與同儕建立更強的連結等的過程。在理解死亡方面,前青少年期的小孩會試圖了解死亡的生理過程和情緒過程。然而比起了解因死亡而引起的感覺,他們更能了解某人死亡的事實。4

對哀傷的反應

青春前期的少年想掩飾自己個人感受與情感以免顯得與同儕「不一樣」,這是很常見的。他們害怕要是表達出悲傷的感覺,可能會被視為軟弱(特別是男孩子)。基於這個理由,他們可能看似疏離和漠不關心。

他們也可能一反常態透過如勃然大怒、易怒和霸凌行為等來表達哀傷。也可能透過抱怨身體不舒服、喜怒無常、改變睡眠與飲食模式、無心於學校功課,或疏離同儕等方式來表現情緒。

他們也會表現出對死亡後產生的實際問題的關切,像是逝者走了之後,家裡要如何生存,或是他們每個人會被怎麼照顧。他們也可能會問與死亡有關的宗教和文化信仰的問題。

¹阿特爾‧德雷格羅夫(Atle Dyregrov),《哀傷中的兒童:給成人的手冊》(Grief in Children: A Handbook for Adults)(倫敦:Jessica Kingsley Publishers,1990年),43頁。

²Wiliam C. Kroen. Ph.D., LMHC,《幫助兒童因應喪失至親之慟》(Helping Children Cope with the Loss of a Loved One) (明尼阿波利斯: Free Spirit Publishing Inc.), 41頁。

³海倫·菲茨杰拉德(Helen Fitzgerald),《哀傷的兒童》(The Grieving Child)(紐約:Simon & Schuster,1992年,56頁)。

4泰瑞莎·韓特利(Theresa Huntley),《幫助兒童體驗哀傷》(Helping Children Grieve) (奧格斯堡: Augsburg Fortress, 1991年),17頁

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Children's Developmental Stages Concepts of Death and Responses

Each child is unique in his or her understanding of death and response to grief. This understanding is largely influenced by the child’s developmental level and age. But tremendous overlap can exist among age groups because children move from one developmental level to another at very different rates.

Infancy to Age 2

Concept of Death

Babies do not have the cognitive capability to understand an abstract concept like death. They function very much in the present. When someone significant dies, babies are more acutely aware of loss and separation. They react to the emotions and behaviors of significant adults in their environment and to any disruptions in their nurturing routine and schedule. If there is a sudden change, they feel tremendous discomfort.

Grief Response

Babies may search for the deceased and become anxious as a result of the separation. Common reactions include: irritability and protest, constant crying, a change in sleeping and eating habits, decreased activity and weight loss.

Preschool Age (2-4)

Concept of Death

“When will my mommy be home?”

“How does (the deceased) eat or breathe?”

Preschool children do not comprehend the concept of “forever.” For this age group, death is seen as temporary and reversible. Even when a preschooler is told that Mommy is not coming back, for example, he or she may ask an hour later, "Where is Mommy?" Preschoolers do not usually visualize death as separate from life, nor as something that can happen to them. Preschool children love to play “peek-a-boo” games where adults in their life disappear and then reappear again. It is through these games that they slowly begin to understand the concept of “gone for good.”

Grief Response

Because preschoolers tend to be present-oriented, their grief reactions can be brief but very intense. At this developmental stage, children are learning to trust and form basic attachments. When a significant adult in their life dies, they become very concerned about separation and altered patterns of care. They typically have a heightened sense of anxiety concerning separations and rejections because they don’t yet have the capacity to use their imagination to gain control over what is happening.¹

They also respond to the emotional reactions of adults in their life. If they sense their parents are worried or sad, they may cry or have a tantrum, either because they are concerned or as a way to distract their parents from difficult emotions. Typical grief responses of the preschool child include confusion, frightening dreams and night agitation, and regressive behaviors such as clinging, bed wetting, thumb sucking, inconsolable crying, temper tantrums and withdrawal from others. They might search intensely for the deceased despite assurances that that person will not return or be anxious around strangers.

Early Childhood (4-7)

Concept of Death

“It’s my fault. I was mad at my mother once and I told her I wish she would die and then she died.”

“The roadrunner in the cartoon always comes back to life, so I know Daddy will too.”

As with preschoolers, this group views death as temporary and reversible. They sometimes feel responsible for the death because they believe that their own negative thoughts or feelings about the deceased might have caused his/her death. This “magical thinking” stems from the belief that everything in their environment revolves around them and that they can control what happens. Even when children at this age are exposed to death through the media or at school, they still may believe that you can avoid death if you are careful enough.

Children at this age may also connect occurrences that do not have anything to do with each other. If a child bought a certain toy the day that her sister died, she may attribute the toy to causing the sister’s death, especially if the real cause of the death is not fully explained to her.

Grief Response

As with preschoolers, this age group may repeatedly search for the deceased or ask where he/she is. Repetitive questioning about the death process is also common. “What happens when you die?” “How do dead people eat?” They will often express their grief feelings through play instead of words. Themes of family loss and death may surface as they play with dolls or action figures. They may play-act the death itself or the funeral.²

Sometimes children at this age appear unaffected by the death and act as if nothing happened, but this doesn’t mean that they are oblivious OR that they have accepted the death. It may signify their inability in the moment to acknowledge very painful reality. They may model their grief reaction after adults in their lives who are feeling uncertain how to express their own feelings. Other typical responses include anger, sadness, confusion and difficulty eating and sleeping.

As with preschoolers, this age group may regress as a way to receive more nurturance and attention during this difficult time. Children who have experienced a loss at this age tend to be fearful that other loved ones will leave them as well. Sometimes they form attachments to people who resemble the deceased in some way.

Middle Years (7-10)

Concept of Death

“Do your fingernails and hair keep growing when you die?”

“If I smoked cigarettes, would I die?”

This age group may want to see death as reversible, but they begin to see it as both final and universal. Children in this age group sometimes visualize death in the form of a tangible being such as a ghost or boogeyman.³ They are very curious about the details of death, cremation and burial and may ask candid questions.

Even though they know death can happen to anyone and that there are many things that cause death, they still do not typically think of death as something that can happen to them or their family members. They may believe that death happens to only old or very sick people, or that they can escape death through their own efforts. They also might view death as a punishment, particularly before age nine. Sometimes they are unable to comprehend how the death will affect their life, a possible source of anxiety.

Grief Response

Children in the middle years often become concerned with how others are responding to the death by focusing less on themselves and more on others. They may fear that other loved ones will die as well. They might worry about own health or fear bodily harm and death.

Some children in this age group might act out their anger and sadness or be unable to concentrate at school. Still others might have a jocular or indifferent attitude about the death, or they might withdraw and hide their feelings. Other typical responses include shock, denial, depression, changes in eating and sleeping patterns, and regression to an earlier developmental stage.

This age group tends to be able to tap into more coping strategies than younger children and might fantasize how they would have prevented the death as a way of gaining control over the situation. Some children, especially those who have difficult expressing feelings verbally, might play-act through war games or other activities.

Children in this age group might assume the role or the mannerisms of the deceased or take on chores or roles previously performed by the deceased, such as care for their siblings. They may idealize the deceased as a way of maintaining a bond with them.

Pre-Adolescent (10-12)

Concept of Death

“None of my friends could ever relate to what it’s like losing their dad.”

“I know that Grandma is not coming back and I will miss her. I don’t understand why my mom is so upset about it.”

Pre-adolescents conceive of death in much the same way as children in the middle years, with a few additions. Pre-adolescents are in the process of establishing their own identities, gaining more independence from their parents and other adults, and creating stronger ties with their peer group. In understanding death, pre-adolescents attempt to understand both the biological AND emotional process of death. They are, however, more able to understand the facts surrounding the death of someone than they are the feelings surrounding the death.4

Grief Response

It is common for pre-adolescents to want to cover their feelings and emotions so as not to appear “different” from their peer group. They fear that expressing sad feelings may be seen as a sign of weakness (particularly for boys). For this reason, they may seem removed and indifferent.

They also may express their grief uncharacteristically, such as through anger outbursts, irritability and bullying behavior. They may exhibit physical symptoms, moodiness, changes in sleeping and eating patterns, indifference toward schoolwork, or isolation from their peers.

They might worry about practical issues after a death, such as how the household will survive without the deceased or how they personally will be taken care of. They also might have questions regarding religious and cultural beliefs about death.

¹Atle Dyregrov, Grief in Children: A Handbook for Adults (London: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1990), p.43.

²Wiliam C. Kroen. Ph.D., LMHC, Helping Children Cope with the Loss of a Loved One (Minneapolis: Free Spirit Publishing Inc.), p.41.

³Helen Fitzgerald, The Grieving Child (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1992), p.56.

4Theresa Huntley, Helping Children Grieve (Augsburg: Augsburg Fortress, 1991), p. 17

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文