您是新手照護者嗎?您並不孤單,安寧療護可提供協助

照顧重症或面臨局限生命疾病的人可讓人十分生畏、感到疲憊,有時甚至讓人沮喪。但如果您是新手照護者,但做到以下事項,您也能獲得回饋。

  • 依賴您的安寧療護團隊,獲得他們的支援、培訓和安寧特定療護服務

  • 遵循經驗豐富的照護者的專業意見和建議

據美聯社NORC中心的長期照護民調顯示,現在有將近{{#0}%的美國人為家中老人或朋友提供長期照護。1照護者包括59%女性、41%男性,還有較年長的照護者可能照顧父母或配偶,未滿40者可能是照顧祖父母或朋友。

安寧療護會為病人及其新手照護者提供支援

如果您的至親患有局限生命的疾病且有資格接受安寧療護,則先打電話給VITAS探討新手照護者可獲得的居家服務和福利。提供的資源範圍從VITAS安寧醫療團隊成員(醫生、護士、護佐)每週探訪到將與您親人診斷有關的設備、需用品和藥物遞送到家。大多數的安寧療護都是在您的親人稱為家的地方提供。

探索聯邦醫療保險的安寧療護福利

若病人符合安寧療護條件,他們的安寧療護費用會由聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險和大多數私人保險計畫全額支付。與親人的醫生討論關於安寧療護轉介的要求,確保主治醫師在您的親人接受安寧療護服務後,仍然會參與對您的親人的照護。

安寧療護的目標是解決疼痛、控制症狀和在生命末期時維持生活品質,藉此減輕身患絕症親人的負擔。安寧療護還會在親人去世後的13個月內提供安寧療護靈性輔導師、社工、義工和喪慟支持等服務,為照護者提供支援。

全美照護調查發現,祈禱和冥想是照護者舒適和應對的常見來源,有經驗的照護者的其他策略和訣竅可以幫助新手照護者避免因照顧人而精疲力竭。

只要記住,如果您是新手照護者,您並不會孤獨,有人可幫助您。

1美聯社NORC公共事務研究中心(Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research)。2018年6-7月對全美1,024成年人調查。https://www.longtermcarepoll.org/long-term-caregiving-the-true-costs-of-caring-for-aging-adults/

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

First-time Caregiver? You're Not Alone and Hospice Can Help

Taking care of someone who is seriously ill or facing a life-limiting illness can be intimidating, tiring and sometimes frustrating. But your role as a first-time caregiver can also be rewarding if you:

  • Lean on your hospice team for support, education and hospice-specific care

  • Follow the advice and suggestions of experienced caregivers

Nearly 40 percent of Americans are providing long-term care to an older family member or friend, according to the Associated Press-NORC Center’s Long-Term Caregiving Poll.1 Caregivers include 59 percent women, 41 percent men, with older caregivers likely to be caring for a parent or spouse, and those under 40 likely to be caring for a grandparent or friend.

Hospice supports patients and their first-time caregivers

If your loved one has a life-limiting illness that qualifies for hospice care, start by calling VITAS to explore the home-based services and benefits that are available to first-time caregivers. Resources range from weekly visits from members of a VITAS hospice medical team (physician, nurse, aide) to home delivery of equipment, supplies and medications related to your loved one’s diagnosis. Most hospice care is provided at home, wherever your loved one calls home.

Explore Medicare benefits for hospice care

The costs of hospice care are fully covered for hospice-eligible patients by Medicare, Medicaid and most private insurance plans. Talk to your love one’s doctor about the requirements for a hospice referral, knowing that primary-care physicians can remain involved in your loved one’s care even after they are receiving hospice services.

The goal of hospice care is to relieve the burden on your terminally ill loved one by addressing pain, managing symptoms and supporting quality of life at the end of life. Hospice also supports caregivers by providing access to a hospice chaplain, social worker, volunteer and bereavement support up to 13 months after a loved one’s death.

The national caregiving poll found that prayer and meditation were common sources of comfort and coping for caregivers, and other strategies and tips from experienced caregivers can help first-time caregivers avoid caregiver burnout.

Just remember that if you’re a first-time caregiver, you’re not alone.

1Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research. June-July 2018 poll of 1,024 U.S. adults. https://www.longtermcarepoll.org/long-term-caregiving-the-true-costs-of-caring-for-aging-adults/

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文