照顧的好處展現在情緒、身體和認知方面

往好處想

典型美國照顧者是照顧老年父母的中年婦女,但2017年的AARP研究,發現40%的男性也參與照顧這一環。¹

無論由誰來做,照顧人的這項工作都會造成傷害;無論是由40幾歲的成人女兒來做,還是由兼顧全職工作和其他家庭需求的中年兒子來做。然而研究也指出,照顧人也有好處。

好處有哪些?

在Pew Research Center進行的一項2014年調查中,美國照顧者表示他們發現這種體驗很有意義(88%),遠超過它的壓力性質(32%)。2同樣地,國家輿論研究中心(NOPC)所進行的另一項2014年調查顯示,83%的照顧者認為這種體驗是有意義的。

女性照顧者與她的母親擺姿勢拍照

根據美國心理學會對NOPC調查結果的評估:「許多家庭照顧者報告他們從照顧獲得的積極體驗,包括對過去照顧他們的人的一種給予回饋的感覺、知道他們所愛的人獲得極好的照顧、個人的成長以及對個人生命的意義和目的的提升。有些照顧者認為他們正在傳承照顧的傳統,並且透過建立照顧模式,未來如果有必要,他們的孩子將更有可能照顧他們。」

還有更多好處。由於照顧者平均一天都在忙碌-要彎下、要抬高、要走路,因此照顧人對身體有好處。沐浴、穿衣和移動親人以及操作沉重或笨重的醫療設備等日常照護活動可以增強力量和耐力。經常進行這些活動,可以改善照顧者的身體健康。

配合時間表、支付帳單、遵循給藥時間和劑量,以及與醫療和保險專業人士交談均屬於認知技能,可以幫助提高照顧者的思維和改善記性。

強調正面

由照顧壓力所造成的同時間正面和負面影響也十分常見。然而,大量研究發現,對照顧採正面思維的照顧者呈現較低的抑鬱程度。

照顧並不容易。知名的大提琴家和作曲家巴勃羅·卡薩爾斯(Pablo Casals)曾說:「照護的能力是賦予生命最深刻的重要性和意義的事。」 照顧者要完成很多照護工作。他們將其視為負擔還是好處,可以影響他們的付出。

1《Pew社會趨勢:照顧老年父母》(Pew Social Trends: Caring for Aging Parents)。http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2015/05/21/4-caring-for-aging-parents/ AARP。

2《隱藏的男性照顧者》(The Hidden Male Caregiver)。2017年。 https://www.aarp.org/caregiving/life-balance/info-2017/hidden-male-caregiver.html

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

The Benefits of Caregiving Can Be Emotional, Physical and Cognitive

Look On the Bright Side

The typical American caregiver is a middle-aged woman taking care of an aging parent, but a 2017 AARP study found that 40 percent of men are involved in caregiving, too.¹

Regardless of who’s doing the work, caregiving can take a toll, whether it’s provided by a 40-something adult daughter or middle-aged son who is also juggling a full-time career and other family demands. Yet studies also indicate there’s an upside to caregiving.

What Are the Gains?

In a 2014 survey conducted by the Pew Research Center, American caregivers said they found the experience to be far more rewarding (88 percent) than stressful (32 percent).2 Likewise, a separate 2014 survey by the National Opinion Researcher Center (NOPC) indicated that 83 percent of caregivers found the experience to be rewarding.

Female caregiver posing with her mother

According to the American Psychological Association’s assessment of the NOPC findings: “Many family caregivers report positive experiences from caregiving, including a sense of giving back to someone who has cared for them, the satisfaction of knowing that their loved one is getting excellent care, personal growth and increased meaning and purpose in one’s life. Some caregivers feel that they are passing on a tradition of care and that by modeling caregiving, their children will be more likely care for them if necessary.”

And there is more. Since the average caregiver is on his or her feet most of the day—bending, lifting, walking—there are physical benefits to caregiving. The daily caregiving activities of bathing, dressing and moving a loved one and manipulating heavy or cumbersome medical equipment can build strength and stamina. Done consistently, these activities can improve the caregiver’s physical health.

Juggling schedules, paying bills, keeping up with medication times and doses as well as talking to healthcare and insurance professionals are cognitive skills that can help sharpen the caregiver’s mind and improve memory.

Accentuate the Positive

It is not unusual for the strain of caregiving to cause simultaneous positive and negative effects. Numerous studies have found, however, that caregivers who dwell on the positive aspects of caregiving show lower levels of depression.

Caregiving is far from easy. Pablo Casals, the famous cellist and composer, once said, “The capacity to care is the thing that gives life its deepest significance and meaning.” Caregivers are doing plenty of caring. Whether they see it as a burden or a benefit can influence how well they fare.

1Pew Social Trends: Caring for Aging Parents. http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2015/05/21/4-caring-for-aging-parents/ AARP.

2The Hidden Male Caregiver. 2017. https://www.aarp.org/caregiving/life-balance/info-2017/hidden-male-caregiver.html

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文