照護者的療護

當至親l好友重病或極虛弱時,一般而言家庭成員會負擔絕大多數的療護工作。事實上,超過4350萬名美國人每年為患有慢性病、殘障或年邁的親友提供照護服務。

擔任主要照護者工作是最能表達對至親情感的方式之一。這份工作極度困難,並在身體上與情緒上需高度付出。

但誰來關心照護者呢?很多時候,當照護者專注於他人的需求時,往往忽略了自身的需求。照護者會因為耗竭和過度承受壓力,而產生身體與情緒上的問題。

避免照護者耗竭的7個提示

  1. 讓家中成員一起幫忙。舉行家庭會議能有助於協調大家一起幫忙的時間表,讓您能有固定休息時間。
  2. 請朋友幫忙。套一句您常聽到的老話:「有什麼幫得上忙的地方就跟我說」?請讓他們知道並接受他們提供的協助。將需要完成的事項列出清單——雜貨採買、清洗衣物、整理草皮、家務清理或陪伴至親好友——並將該清單貼在冰箱上。當他們問可以做什麼事時,您可指向清單。
  3. 讓自己固定休息。即使每天僅有15或20分鐘時間,確保您把握時間作讓自己開心的事。
  4. 運動。無論是到外面散步20分鐘或上瑜伽課,運動都是減輕壓力和增加精力的好方法。
  5. 健康飲食。維持您和維持您至親好友的健康和營養同樣重要,騰出時間讓自己吃得好。
  6. 參加為照顅者提供的支援團體。您當地的安寧療護提供者、醫院或老人服務提供者可能會提供該類型活動。
  7. 尋求專業協助。許多照護者會有孤獨、焦慮、有罪惡感、恐懼、困惑或疲倦等感受。如果這些感受超出所能承受的範圍,請與您的醫師、安寧療護服務提供者或其他社區資源聯絡以取得協助。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Caring for the Caregiver

When a loved one becomes ill or frail, a family member usually provides most of the care. In fact, more than 43.5 million Americans provide care for a chronically ill, disabled or aged relative or friend each year.

Being the primary caregiver is one of the most loving acts one person can do for another. It’s also hard work that can be physically and emotionally demanding.

So who cares for the caregiver? Too often, caregivers ignore their own needs while focusing on the needs of another. The caregiver can show signs of physical and emotional problems due to burnout and stress.

7 Tips to Avoid Caregiver Burnout

  1. Let family lend a hand. A family meeting can help sort out everyone’s schedules so you get regular breaks.
  2. Involve friends. You know all those people who keep saying, “Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help”? Well, let them know and accept their offers of help. Create a list of things that need to be done—grocery shopping, laundry, lawn care, housecleaning or spending time with your loved one—and post it on the refrigerator. When they ask what they can do, point to the list.
  3. Take regular breaks. Even if only 15 or 20 minutes a day, make sure you do something for you.
  4. Exercise. Whether it is a 20-minute walk outside or a yoga class, exercise is a great way to decrease stress and increase energy.
  5. Eat healthy. Your health and nutrition are just as important as your loved one’s, so take the time to eat well.
  6. Attend a support group for caregivers. Your local hospice, hospital or senior service might be offering one.
  7. Seek professional help. Many caregivers feel lonely, anxious, guilty, angry, scared, confused or tired. If these feelings are overwhelming, call your doctor, hospice or another community resource for help.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文