您對於兼差照護工作(簡稱CWE)感到愧疚嗎?

如果您是美國勞工,同時要照顧老年父母、親戚、祖父母或殘障人士,您並不孤單。據估計有4530萬美國人平均每週照顧另一人達24.4小時,在這些照護者中有{60%的人還要工作。 

根據全美照護聯盟(2015年數據)指出,40%的照護者描述他們對於所承擔責任感到壓力;20%表示照護負面影響了他們的健康;60%提到照護導致工時縮短、需兼職輪班、請假甚至獲得負面的工作表現報告。根據2006年的最新預估,企業也同時感受到壓力,因為來自照護者員工的生產力和醫療保健成本估計會產生大約$290至330億美元的財務影響。  

全國中,60%的照護者是女性,40%是男性-作為無薪照護者,他們都需要在生活與工作之間取得平衡。  

取得幫助,您可以是員工兼照護者 

如果您重視自己的工作並尊重您的摯愛,您應能同時成為優秀的照護者和優秀的員工。與生病的或年老的親人共度時光彌足珍貴,而且是稍縱即逝和肯定生命的體驗。作為一個運作流暢的工作團隊的成員且受到尊重也同樣讓人感到值得。兩者都需要您採取積極性和安排妥當,特別是如果您想避免照護者耗竭的現象。 

誠實、集思廣益和工作資源可助您分擔重任 

一開始先查看您僱主的員工輔助方案(EAP),了解它為照護者所提供的福利。有些公司中,照護者可享彈性工時、家事假或其他與工作相關的資源。美國勞工部的《家庭與醫療假法》(Family and Medical Leave Act)提供長達12週的無薪、工作受到保護的請假。

兼差照護工作 

以下有更多提示: 

  • 與您的老闆和同事溝通。讓他們知道家裡發生了什麼事,並誠實告知可能要變更的時間表。如果您的照顧情況尚無法預測,就直說。 
  • 在家中和辦公室中備有待辦事項日曆,以避免錯失最後期限或匆匆離開工作崗位忙去赴一場被遺忘的會面 
  • 尊重您的工作時間。利用休息時間和午餐時間打照護者相關的電話、搜尋網路或與家人保持聯繫 
  • 提供自訂方案給僱主,無論是延後工時以完成工作或專案、遠程工作或在家工作、探索工作分攤或自行提出研究其他創意工作安排的方式 
  • 設定優先順序 
  • 在工作中和家中請託他人並接受他人幫助 
  • 肯定並感謝他人在您緊繃時提供的援助 
  • 而當他人正努力兼差照護工作時,也謹記您自身的情況,並向他們伸出您曾經獲得的援手。 

即使您在沒有正式家事假或休假政策的小型企業工作,彈性工作和老年照護問題也是業界中的熱門議題。如果有些有意的員工向老闆詢問家庭相關議題時,或許您也可以提出雙贏的解決方案。這是值得一試的。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Are You Guilty of CWE: Caregiving While Employed?

If you're a U.S. worker who's also caring for an elderly parent, relative, grandparent or person with disabilities, you're not alone. An estimated 45.3 million Americans care for another person on average 24.4 hours a week, and among those caregivers, 60 percent are also holding down a job. 

According to the National Alliance for Caregiving (2015 data), 40 percent of caregivers describe their responsibilities as stressful, 20 percent say caregiving has negatively impacted their health, and 60 percent say caregiving has led to shorter hours, part-time shifts, leaves of absence and even negative performance write-ups at work. Businesses feel the stress, too, experiencing an estimated $29-$33 billion financial impact from lost productivity and healthcare costs for caregiver employees—an estimate last updated in 2006.  

Nationwide, 60 percent of caregivers are women, and 40 percent are men—all of them striving to balance life and work as unpaid caregivers.  

With help, you can be an employee and a caregiver 

If you value your job and honor your loved one, you should be able to be both a good caregiver and a good employee. Time with a loved one who is ill or elderly can be precious, fleeting and life-affirming for you. Being respected as a member of a smoothly functioning work team is equally rewarding. Both require proactivity and organization on your part, especially if you hope to avoid caregiver burnout. 

Honesty, brainstorming and work resources help you share the load 

Start by looking into your employer’s Employee Assistance Program (EAP) to see what it offers to caregivers. At some companies, flextime, family leave or other work-related resources are available for caregivers. The U.S. Department of Labor’s Family and Medical Leave Act provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave.

Caregiving While Employed 

Here are more tips: 

  • Communicate with your boss and your co-workers. Let them know what's happening at home, and be honest about potential changes to your schedule. If your caregiving situation is unpredictable, say that. 
  • Keep a to-do calendar at home and work to avoid missing deadlines or prevent rushing out of work for a forgotten appointment 
  • Honor your work hours. Use breaks and lunchtime to make caregiver phone calls, search the Web or keep in touch with those at home 
  • Offer your own solutions to your employer, whether working late hours to finish work or projects, working remotely or from home, exploring job-sharing or offering to research other outside-the-box working arrangements 
  • Set priorities 
  • Delegate and accept help from others, at work and at home 
  • Be aware and appreciative of the helping hand others extend to you when you are stretched 
  • Remember your situation when someone else is struggling with Caregiving While Employed; extend the hand someone extended to you 

Even if you work in a small business without formal policies for family leave or time off work, flextime and eldercare issues are hot topics in business. If several interested employees approach the boss about family issues, you may be able to come up with win-win solutions. It’s worth a try.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文