照護者耗竭的徵兆和預防方法

根據Pew Research Center的研究顯示,您可能是出於愛、出於義務,或許只是出於做對事情的感覺,而成為北美超過4000萬名照顧老人、慢性病患者或殘疾親人的成年人之一。

事實上,70家庭看護者負照顧一個人超過{[[#1]}年,而{[[#2]}%的人負責照顧兩個人,{[[#3]}%的人負責照顧三個或更多人。百分之三十二(32%)的照護者將這種經歷描述為很有壓力。

聽起來很耳熟吧?

這表示您即將成為精疲力竭的照護者。心理學家對此非常重視,他們將之定義為「由於長期承受壓力而導致的衰弱心理狀態」;因此,請您也嚴肅對待。當大多數照護者疑似精疲力竭時,他們已經遭受各式各樣的症狀之苦。

除了應付親人的疾病外,他們可能還要面對經濟壓力、家庭變動和家庭生活普遍受影響的狀況。面對如此巨大的壓力就會令照護者感到精疲力竭,因而影響到他們提供良好照護的能力,以及可能讓他們健康受影響。

如果您知道照護者精疲力竭是什麼樣,您可以讓自己不必蠟燭兩頭燒。

照護者耗竭的14大警訊

  • 精神不振
  • 異常疲勞
  • 睡眠問題(過多或過少)
  • 飲食習慣改變;消瘦或發胖
  • 有種無力感
  • 不再做以前喜歡的活動,或失去興趣
  • 忽略自己的生理和心理需求
  • 感覺照護他人佔據了自己的所有生活
  • 面對您關心的人和/或與其他人時,變得異常不耐煩、易怒或爭論不休
  • 對未來感到焦慮
  • 抑鬱或情緒波動大
  • 無法處理日常生活
  • 頭痛、胃痛,和其他身體上的毛病。
  • 抵抗力下降

照護者耗竭的預防方法

現在您已經知道有哪些現象,下面是一些幫助您預防照護者耗竭的建議。

  • 尋求幫助!需要幫助並不意味著您是糟糕的照護者。只是說明您無法獨自一個人去做這些(沒人可以獨自做到)。
  • 允許自己休息。到屋外去走走。拜訪朋友。做個按摩。好好洗個澡。
  • 照顧好您自己。不要因為太忙就不去看醫生。運動、吃得好,並得到足夠的睡眠。
  • 提前15分鐘起床,利用時間做自己的事。坐下來好好喝一杯咖啡或茶。寫下自己的困難和感受。冥想、祈禱、做伸展操……做您想做的任何事。 
  • 列出日常活動和任務清單。看看是否能委託別人去做某些事。也許您的配偶可以每週做兩次晚餐。也許您的朋友或親戚可以去辦一些雜事,或幫忙洗衣。很多人都願意伸出援手,請他們幫忙吧!
  • 了解就職公司的家庭事假福利。每天可以有更多的時間,讓您肩上的重擔大大減輕。
  • 如果您的親人正在接受安寧療護,請向您的安寧療護提供者諮詢當地的支援團體。與相同處境的人交流能帶來極大幫助,或者您也可以敞開心扉,分享您的挫敗感受 - 只要您願意!
  • 如果有機會短暫度假,請考慮為您的親人選擇安寧療護喘息療護。您的安寧療護計畫應該能為您的親人提供短期住院服務(即24小時以上,且最多五天五夜),以使讓擔任照護者的家庭成員或其他人能喘口氣。

您可獲得支援,找到捷徑以及重新排定優先順序的方法,讓您成為更快樂的人和更佳照護者。

了解安寧療護服務是否可幫助您的至親。

Español English

Signs of Caregiver Burnout and How to Prevent It

Out of love, out of obligation, maybe out of a sense of just doing what’s right, you might be one of more than 40 million adults in North America taking care of an elderly, chronically ill or disabled loved one, according to Pew Research Center.

In fact, 70 percent of family caretakers take care of one person over 65, while 22 percent help two people and 7 percent care for three or more people. Thirty-two percent (32 percent) of caregivers describe the experience as stressful.

Sound familiar?

You’re on the road to caregiver burnout. It’s not taken lightly by psychologists—who define it as “a debilitating psychological condition brought about by unrelieved stress”—and should not be taken lightly by you. By the time most caregivers suspect burnout, they’re already suffering myriad symptoms.

In addition to coping with a loved one’s illness, they might also deal with financial pressures, changes in family dynamics and a general disruption in family life. It’s a recipe for caregiver burnout that would negatively affect anyone’s ability to provide good care and potentially place the caregiver’s health at risk.

If you know what caregiver burnout is, you can protect yourself from burning the candle at both ends.

14 Warning Signs of Caregiver Burnout

  • Lack of energy
  • Overwhelming fatigue
  • Sleep problems (too much or too little)
  • Changes in eating habits; weight loss or gain
  • A feeling of hopelessness
  • Withdrawing from, or losing interest in, activities you once enjoyed
  • Neglecting your own physical and emotional needs
  • Feeling like caregiving is controlling your life
  • Becoming unusually impatient, irritable or argumentative with the person you’re caring for and/or with others
  • Anxiety about the future
  • Depression or mood swings
  • Difficulty coping with everyday things
  • Headaches, stomachaches, and other physical problems
  • Lowered resistance to illness

Caregiver Burnout Prevention

Now that you know what to look for, here are some tips to help you pre-empt caregiver burnout.

  • Ask for help! Needing help doesn’t make you a bad caregiver. It simply means you can’t do it alone (no one can do it alone).
  • Give yourself permission to take breaks. Get out of the house. Visit with friends. Pamper yourself with a massage. Take a long bath.
  • Take care of yourself. Don’t skip your own doctor’s appointments because you’re too busy. Exercise, eat well and get enough sleep.
  • Get up 15 minutes earlier and use the time just for you. Sit with your coffee or tea and enjoy it. Journal about your struggles and feelings. Meditate, pray, stretch. . . . Do whatever you want to do. 
  • Make a list of your daily activities and tasks. See if you can delegate any of them. Perhaps your spouse can make dinner twice or a week. Maybe a friend or relative can run errands or help with laundry. People often want to help—take them up on it!
  • Check into family-leave benefits from your place of work. Take a huge weight off your shoulders by giving you more hours in your day.
  • If your loved one is receiving hospice care, ask your hospice provider about local support groups. Communicating with others who are in your situation helps immensely, as does opening up and sharing your frustrations—and your joys!
  • If an opportunity comes along for a brief getaway for you, consider hospice respite care for your loved one. Your hospice program should offer short-term inpatient admission for your loved one (meaning more than 24 hours and up to five days and nights maximum) to relieve family members or other persons who are caregivers.

There is support, there are shortcuts, and there are strategies for reorganizing your priorities to make you a happier person and a better caregiver.

Find out if hospice care could help your loved one.

Español 繁體中文