請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
要求資訊

臨近生命末期的小兒科照護

VITAS兒科安寧療護服務

我們以愛心、深入見解及豐富經驗治療複雜的病況

VITAS聖安東尼奧兒科團隊為重病的兒童提供照護,包括各種從出生到早期成年期的先天性或後天性疾病。當最適合接受安寧療護的時候到來時,我們的團隊會以最具有愛心的態度來討論此項服務及各種狀況。

我們在聖安東尼奧地區提供兒科安寧療護服務。如果您有任何問題,請致電866.41.VITAS,或 在線上聯絡我們

以團隊方式處理兒科安寧療護

VITAS的安寧療護團隊全力為兒童及家庭成員所經歷的身心靈需求提供支持。

  • 我們的兒科醫師與兒童的醫師合作,提供疼痛與症狀處理的諮詢,若有需要,也可親自前往探訪。
  • 我們的護士擅長於評估和護理疼痛以及其他症狀,例如嘔吐、焦躁不安及發燒;他們都是受過兒科照護訓練、可親自提供居家照護的專業人員。安寧療護護佐可幫助家人為兒童提供個人護理。
  • 我們的社工擅長處理兒科社會心理問題,對兒童、家人及其他照顧者(包括安寧療護團隊及兒科診所的人員)提供支持。
  • 我們的靈性輔導師配合病人的家庭神職人員,為兒童及其家屬提供靈性與情緒支持。
  • 受過專門訓練的義工如同家人的「額外幫手」,他們可陪伴兒童或其兄弟姐妹,讓家長有喘息的機會。
  • 呼吸治療師、營養師與其他的兒科專科醫師都可支持兒童的獨特需求。
  • 我們的喪慟輔導計畫在兒童身故的前後會協助家人應付日常的艱難問題。

了解更多: 什麼是小兒科安寧療護?

認識我們的醫療總監

我們的醫療總監負責掌管位於德州聖安東尼奧的VITAS兒科病人在其家中、醫院及健康診所的醫療照護及治療。他們同時也諮詢病人的主治醫師;管理VITAS團隊的醫師;領導員工及義工;並且為執業醫師及其他醫療保健專業人員提供有關兒科病人及其家屬能受惠於安寧療護和緩和療護等方面的資源。

格倫·麥德林(Glen Medellin)醫師,醫療總監

格倫·麥德林醫師,VITAS Healthcare 格倫·麥德林醫師對照顧患有複雜慢性疾病的兒童特別專注和熱心。他擔任位於聖安東尼奧的德州大學醫健康科學中心兒童緩和療護(Palliative Care for Children at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio)的格里黑榮譽主席(Greehey Distinguished Chair),領導一個跨領域醫療團隊,為在醫院、診所及社區的兒童提供完整的協調緩和療護。除了擔任VITAS兒科計畫的醫療總監之外,麥德林醫師目前在UT Health San Antonio任兒科教授;他自2012年起即開始在該處任教。麥德林醫師曾經獲得2012年UT Health總裁臨床卓越獎,以表彰他對於臨床服務的貢獻。他曾經獲得德州大學系統的2014年傑出教學董事獎(Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award),並且也曾獲《聖安東尼奧商業期刊》選為2015年醫療保健英雄。

擁有小兒科醫學及安寧及緩和療護醫學認證資格的麥德林醫師,也是美國安寧和緩和療護醫學會(American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine)的研究員。他擁有萊斯大學(Rice University)的生化和生物學士學位。他以極優異的成績獲得加爾維斯敦的德州大學醫學院醫學學位,並且在科羅拉多州丹佛的兒童醫院接受兒科訓練。他是美國小兒科醫學會及美國安寧和緩和療護醫學會的會員。

瑞秋·范德梅(Rachel Vandermeer)醫師,醫療總監

瑞秋·范德梅(Rachel Vandermeer)醫師,VITAS Healthcare 瑞秋·范德梅醫師致力於為患有複雜慢性疾病的末期疾病兒童(包括神經功能缺損)提供愛心、貼心的照護。除了擔任VITAS的兒科計畫醫療總監,范德梅醫師目前在UT Health San Antonio任兒科助理教授以及聖安東尼奧大學醫院的兒科緩和療護醫學住院病人醫療總監。她致力於醫療品質的改善,並且參與UT Health San Antonio成人及兒科安寧療護和緩和療護醫學研究教育,並建立其兒科緩和療護課程。她在全州積極提出兒科緩和療護照護報告,並且在2016年美國安寧和緩和療護醫學會的年度大會中提出報告。

接受兒科醫學及安寧和緩和療護醫學研究員訓練的范德梅醫師,在奧斯汀的聖愛德華大學(Saint Edward's University)取得生化學士學位。她以極優異的成績獲得加爾維斯敦的德州大學醫學院醫學學位。范德梅醫師在德州大學奧斯汀分校的戴爾醫學院(The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School)完成兒科住院訓練,並且在聖安東尼奧的德州大學健康科學中心完成兒科安寧及緩和療護醫學的研究。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
REQUEST INFORMATION

Pediatric Care Near the End of Life

VITAS Pediatric Hospice Services

We Treat Complex Conditions with Compassion, Insight & Experience

The VITAS San Antonio pediatric team provides care for seriously ill children from birth to early adulthood who are born with or develop any of a wide range of medical issues. Our team can compassionately discuss the services and circumstances when hospice care is most appropriate.

We offer pediatric hospice care in the San Antonio area. If you have questions, please call us at 866.41.VITAS or contact us online.

A Team Approach to Pediatric Hospice Care

The VITAS interdisciplinary hospice team supports the physical, psychosocial and spiritual needs experienced by the child and family members.

  • Our pediatrics physicians work with the child’s physician and are available for pain and symptom management consultation as well as to make house calls, as needed.
  • Our nurses are skilled in assessing and managing pain and other symptoms, such as vomiting, agitation and fever; they are pediatric-trained caregivers who provide hands-on care in the home. The hospice aide helps the family with personal care for the child.
  • Our social workers skilled in pediatric psychosocial issues support the child, the family and other caregivers, including the hospital team and staff in the pediatrician’s office.
  • Our chaplains work with the family’s clergy, offering spiritual and emotional support for the child and the family.
  • Specially trained volunteers offer an “extra pair of hands,” perhaps spending time to play with the child or siblings to give parents some free moments.
  • Respiratory therapists, dieticians and other pediatric specialists support children’s unique needs.
  • Our bereavement programs help family members meet ongoing daily challenges before and after a child has died.

Learn more: What is Pediatric Hospice Care?

Meet Our Medical Directors

Our Medical Directors are responsible for overseeing the medical care and treatment of VITAS pediatric patients in their homes, hospitals and health clinics in San Antonio, Texas. They also consult with patients’ attending physicians, supervise VITAS team physicians, guide staff and volunteers, and serve as a resource to practicing physicians and other healthcare professionals on the benefits of hospice and palliative care for pediatric patients and their families.

Glen Medellin, MD, Medical Director

Dr. Glen Medellin, VITAS Healthcare Dr. Glen Medellin is passionate about caring for children with complex chronic conditions. He holds the Greehey Distinguished Chair in Palliative Care for Children at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, where he leads a multidisciplinary team that provides comprehensive coordinated palliative care to children in the hospital, clinic and community. In addition to serving VITAS as Medical Director of its Pediatric Program, Dr. Medellin currently serves as Professor of Pediatrics at UT Health San Antonio, where he began teaching in 2012. In recognition of the impact of his clinical services, Dr. Medellin was awarded the 2012 UT Health Presidential Clinical Excellence Award . He was selected for a 2014 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award by the University of Texas System and was selected as a 2015 Healthcare Hero by the San Antonio Business Journal.

Board certified in Pediatric Medicine and Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Dr. Medellin is a Fellow of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. He earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Biochemistry and Biology from Rice University. He received his Medical Degree with highest honors from The University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston and pursued pediatric training at The Children’s Hospital in Denver, Colorado. He is a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine.

Rachel Vandermeer, MD, Medical Director

Dr. Rachel Vandermeer, VITAS Healthcare Dr. Rachel Vandermeer is dedicated to bringing compassion and empathetic care to terminally ill children with complex chronic conditions, including children with neurological impairments. In addition to serving VITAS as Medical Director of its Pediatric Program, Dr. Vandermeer currently serves as Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at UT Health San Antonio and Inpatient Medical Director of Pediatric Palliative Medicine at University Hospital in San Antonio. She is dedicated to quality improvement and participates in both adult and pediatric hospice and palliative medicine fellow education at UT Health San Antonio, and is involved in the development of its pediatric palliative care curriculum. She has been active in presenting on pediatric palliative care throughout the state and presented at the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine Annual Assembly in 2016.

Fellowship trained in Pediatric Medicine and Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Dr. Vandermeer earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Biochemistry from Saint Edward’s University in Austin. She received her Medical Degree with highest honors from The University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston. Dr. Vandermeer completed her residency in pediatrics at The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School and her fellowship in pediatric hospice and palliative medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.