請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
為病患轉介

醫師及駐院專科醫師須知

轉介病患到VITAS: 線上 | 行動應用程式 | 800.873.5198

  1. 身為醫師,我接受的訓練是必須提供治癒性治療, 而安寧療護要求醫師、病人及家屬「放棄」?
  2. 我為何應轉介病人到安寧療護?
  3. 疾病惡化及預測有時很難決定。如果我接受安寧療護的非腫瘤診斷病人,生命期超過6個月的預後呢?病人是否因此而必須放棄安寧療護服務?病人有哪些選擇?
  4. 如果病人選擇安寧療護服務,他們是否會喪失保險給付?
  5. 為了接受安寧療護服務,我的病人需要放棄什麼嗎?
  6. 一位同仁剛將病人轉介到安寧療護,並且擔任其主治醫師。擔任安寧療護的主治醫師有哪些優點?我正在考慮中。
  7. 如果我繼續看病人,可以收費嗎?
  8. 我的病人可否繼續服藥?
  9. 誰可以為病人開立處方?
  10. 如果病人情況有異,護士可否打電話尋求指示?
  11. 如果我轉介病人但病人不適合安寧療護,我有責任嗎?
  12. 如果病人想去醫院或接受積極性治療,可否改變心意?
  13. 在病人開始接受安寧療護後,療護品質及治療目標是否仍然一致?
  14. 如果我仍然是主治醫師,安寧療護團隊的醫師將如何協助我?
  15. 當病人身故時,我會收到通知嗎?
  16. 哪些身體上的症狀有助於決定接受安寧療護的適當時機?
  17. 我如何轉介病人給VITAS?

為醫師及駐院專科醫師團體

身為醫師,我接受的訓練是必須提供治癒性治療, 而安寧療護要求醫師、病人及家屬「放棄」?

不是。當病人對於治癒性治療不再有反應時,安寧療護提供一個讓病人活得舒適、安詳及有尊嚴的方法,而無需治癒性療護。 透過確保病人的症狀如疼痛等獲得積極處理,有家人或親人陪伴在身旁和在 他們所選擇的舒適環境中(通常是在家中),安寧療護改善了病人的生活品質。 

常見問答1

當您轉介病人到安寧療護時,身為 醫師的您,知道自己已應病人的要求竭盡所能提供治療和延長生命。雖然安寧療護是指停止治癒性治療,但並不表示要放棄病人或加速(延緩)死亡。相反的,隨著病人接近生命末期之際,安寧療護可改善病人的生活品質,且這種方式已經顯示可延長病人的生命。

我為何應轉介病人到安寧療護?

任何嚴重疾病在某些時刻終究會出現治療效果越來越差,而副作用比疾病本身更傷身的情形。這時應專注於病人及其生活品質,也就是適合接受安寧療護的時候了。如果有幾個月或幾週而不是僅有幾天或幾個小時的時間,安寧療護可以改善生活品質,並且幫助病人及家屬專注於他們認為最重要的事情,例如在寶貴時間內與家人共處,沒有感覺不適,且自在處於自己所選的環境中。

疾病惡化及預測有時很難決定。如果我接受安寧療護的非腫瘤診斷病人,生命期超過6個月的預後呢?病人是否因此而必須放棄安寧療護服務?病人有哪些選擇?

安寧療護病人在一開始接受服務時,會收到一份由安寧療護醫師及轉介醫師開立的初始證明。頭兩個福利期間每一期為90天。安寧療護醫師在每次期滿之後將確認病人是否適合繼續接受安寧療護服務。之後,從第三個福利期間開始,病人將每60天重新接受一次確認,直到他們身故或離開安寧療護服務為止。適合安寧療護的病人或其醫師,都不會因為病人的較長預後而受到處罰。

如果病人的健康獲得改善,他們可能不再需要安寧療護。病人有權隨時透過簽署聲明來取消接受安寧療護的決定。如果病人停用安寧療護,他們將回到選擇安寧療護服務業者之前的聯邦醫療保險,例如傳統聯邦醫療保險、聯邦醫療保險Advantage計劃(例如HMO或PPO),或另一種聯邦醫療保險醫療計劃。病人在回到原先的保險時必須知道是否有等待期(例如,每個月的月初)。如果病人符合安寧療護的資格,他們可以隨時重返安寧療護。

如果病人選擇安寧療護服務,他們是否會喪失保險給付?

不會。當病人選擇安寧療護時,即認定為末期疾病且成為安寧療護的重心。承保安寧療護服務的保險,包括聯邦醫療保險,也會如往常一般繼續承保與該末期疾病無關的任何疾病或意外。安寧療護的費用報銷僅限與末期診斷相關的服務。

為了接受安寧療護服務,我的病人需要放棄什麼嗎?

病人在接受安寧療護時,不得尋求傳統的治癒性療護,雖然安寧療護將繼續提供讓病人舒適的積極性治療,例如控制疾病惡化、抗生素或傷口護理。如果他們因為緊急狀況而前往急診室或撥打911,入住醫院可表示他們想以非安寧療護的方式處理該項末期疾病。如果是這種情形,病人將簽署一份撤銷表格,他們的安寧療護也將終止。然而,選擇繼續留在安寧療護的病人,在某些情況下,可以仍在接受安寧療護的情況下入院。或者他們可放棄醫院療護而返回家中接受居家安寧療護。安寧療護病人及其療護團隊隨時準備處理緊急情況而無需涉及醫院。只要病人及家屬了解 安寧療護是緩和性而非治癒性療護,其目的在保持病人的舒適和尊嚴以及改善生活品質,故成為安寧療護病人並無任何不利之處。

一位同仁剛將病人轉介到安寧療護,並且擔任其主治醫師。擔任安寧療護的主治醫師有哪些優點?我正在考慮中。

病人的主治醫師也可以是複診醫師,可開立醫囑、與安寧療護團隊的護士商議、給予指示等。安寧療護團隊的醫師可供諮詢。或者病人的主治醫師也可選擇擔任安寧療護的主治醫師,可聽取安寧療護團隊的資訊並且提供個人專業意見,但是將複診醫師的責任留給安寧療護醫師。

如果我繼續看病人,可以收費嗎?

可以。如果在記錄上病人表示您為主治醫師,您可直接向聯邦醫療保險就您提供給病人的所有療護開立帳單,包括末期診斷。主治醫師也可將病人轉交給 安寧療護團隊 而完全不參與。註:任何非主治醫師但是為病人治療其末期診斷的醫師,必須由安寧療護約聘其服務才能獲得付款。

我的病人可否繼續服藥?

視情況而定。安寧療護團隊會根據緩和安寧療護照護計劃來檢視所有用藥。隨著病人情況的改變,某些用藥可能停用或改變劑量。也可能會加入新的用藥。身為病人的主治醫師,您可以是參與決策過程的一員。

誰可以為病人開立處方?

複診醫師通常可以開立處方,但如果決定有需要專業療護時,安寧療護也可能會約聘顧問醫師。這些醫師也可以在複診醫師的檢視下開立處方。

如果病人情況有異,護士可否打電話尋求指示?

可以。安寧療護護士可將情況通知複診醫師及主治醫師並且尋求指示。如先前所述,主治醫師可選擇由安寧療護醫師來後續追蹤病人而不參與療護。

如果我轉介病人但病人不適合安寧療護,我有責任嗎?

沒有。轉介醫師的安寧療護初始證明僅為意見陳述。對在那之後的疾病發展過程將無任何責任。每位病人在被接受前皆經過評估,接受安寧療護服務之後也將繼續予以評估。如果病人在任何時候不符合安寧療護的適用資格指南時,安寧療護即停止。病人可離開安寧療護,且如果適用也可多次再重新開始接受安寧療護,病人或其主治醫師都不會受到處罰。

如果病人想去醫院或接受積極性治療,可否改變心意?

可以。同時請了解安寧療護對於疼痛及其他末期疾病症狀亦給予積極性治療。安寧療護病人有權因任何原因取消其安寧療護福利。如果他們改變心意就可重新開始接受安寧療護,只要他們經過評估並且符合資格規定。

在病人開始接受安寧療護後,療護品質及治療目標是否仍然一致?

安寧療護的目標與治癒目標不同,但會有書面照護計劃,且安寧療護團隊將每週開會評估病人的狀況,並且根據狀況來調整照護計劃。每週評估中所考量的資訊將來自安寧療護護佐、家屬、醫師、社工,甚至 病人本身。 決定病人的治療目標是個協作過程,由病人及家屬推動,而由安寧療護團隊從旁引導及提供支持。

如果我仍然是主治醫師,安寧療護團隊的醫師將如何協助我?

安寧療護醫師接受過安寧療護及緩和療護訓練,而且是減輕疼痛及其他生命末期症狀方面的專家。

當病人身故時,我會收到通知嗎?

會。當經轉介的病人死亡時,主治醫師會收到通知。

哪些身體上的症狀有助於決定接受安寧療護的適當時機?

常見問答5

VITAS備有供智慧型手機使用的應用程式,請下載自 VITASapp.com。一本活頁裝訂的小手冊也提供同樣的資料:《安寧療護適用資格參考指南》(Hospice Eligibility Reference Guide)。我們也有供Apple Watch使用的應用程式。請向VITAS代表索取其他資料,從宣傳手冊到徽章卡都有,可提供醫療專業人士關於安寧療護轉介的資訊。

我如何轉介病人給VITAS?

供智慧型手機及Apple Watch使用的VITAS應用程式可能是最方便的轉介病人方式。但我們的申辦人員也提供每週七天,每天24小時的全天候服務,包括接受轉介、探訪病人/家屬或與您討論案件。

轉介病患到VITAS: 線上 | 行動應用程式 | 800.873.5198

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
Refer a patient

What Physicians & Hospitalist Groups Need to Know

Refer your patient to VITAS: Online | Mobile App | 800.873.5198

  1. As a physician, I am trained to provide curative treatment. Does hospice require physicians, patients and families to “give up”?
  2. Why should I refer my patients to hospice?
  3. Disease progression and prognostication are at times difficult to determine. What if my patient with a non-oncological diagnosis outlives his 6-month prognosis while on hospice care? Would he then have to forego hospice services? What are his options?
  4. Will my patient lose their insurance coverage if they choose hospice services?
  5. So what does my patient give up in order to receive hospice services?
  6. A colleague just referred one of his patients to hospice and is serving as the attending physician. What are the advantages of serving as a hospice attending physician? I am considering it.
  7. If I continue to see my patient can I bill for it?
  8. Can my patient continue their medications?
  9. Who will prescribe the patient's medications?
  10. Would the nurse call if there were a change in the patient’s status and ask for direction?
  11. Will I be responsible if I refer and my patient is not hospice appropriate?
  12. Can my patient change their mind if they wish to go to the hospital or receive aggressive treatment?
  13. Will the quality of care and goals of treatment for my patient remain the same once they are on hospice?
  14. If I remain as attending physician, how will the hospice team physician assist me?
  15. Am I informed when the patient dies?
  16. What physical symptoms can help determine when the time may be right for hospice?
  17. How do I refer a patient to VITAS?

For Physicians and Hospitalist Groups

As a physician, I am trained to provide curative treatment. Does hospice require physicians, patients and families to “give up”?

No. When patients are no longer responding to curative treatment, hospice provides a way for people to live in comfort, peace and dignity without curative care. Hospice improves quality of life by ensuring the patient is aggressively treated for symptoms such as pain, surrounded by family or loved ones and in the comfort of a place they choose, typically at home. 

FAQ 1

When you refer a patient to hospice, you, as a physician, know that you have done everything your patient has asked to offer a cure and extend their life. While hospice care means stopping curative efforts, it doesn’t mean giving up on your patient or hastening (or delaying) death in any way. On the contrary, hospice care improves the quality of patients’ lives as they near the end of life and such an approach has demonstrated to help patients to live longer.

Why should I refer my patients to hospice?

At some point in any serious illness, the treatment and its side effects become less efficacious/more debilitating than the disease. This is the time to focus on the patient and their quality of life—the time for hospice. Given the time—months or weeks, rather than days or hours—hospice can improve the quality of life and help the patient and family focus on the things they find most important, such as quality of time together, freedom from discomfort and the environment they choose.

Disease progression and prognostication are at times difficult to determine. What if my patient with a non-cancer diagnosis outlives his 6-month prognosis while on hospice care? Would he then have to forego hospice services? What are his options?

Hospice patients receive an initial certification upon admission from a hospice physician and, usually, the referring physician. The first two benefit periods last 90 days a piece. The hospice physician certifies the patient after each of these periods for continued appropriateness for service. Then, starting with the third benefit period, the patient is recertified every 60 days until they die or leave hospice. Neither a hospice-appropriate patient nor his physician is penalized for experiencing a longer prognosis than expected.

If a patient's health improves, they may no longer need hospice. Patients have the right to revoke the election of hospice care at any time via a signed statement. if a patient stops hospice care, they will revert to the type of Medicare coverage they had before they chose a hospice provider, like Original Medicare, a Medicare Advantage Plan (like an HMO or PPO) or another type of Medicare health plan. It is important to determine if there is a waiting period to resume prior coverage (for example, the beginning of the month). If a patient is hospice eligible, they can return to hospice care at any time.

Will my patient lose their insurance coverage if they choose hospice services?

No. When a patient selects hospice, the terminal disease(s) is identified and it becomes the focus of hospice therapy. Insurance that covers hospice services, including Medicare, also continues to cover any illness or accident unrelated to the terminal illness, as usual. Hospice is reimbursed only for services related to the terminal diagnosis.

What does my patient give up in order to receive hospice services?

While receiving hospice care, patients cannot seek traditional curative care although the hospice continues to provide aggressive treatments that preserve patient comfort such as management of disease exacerbations, antibiotics, or wound care. If they present to the ED or call 911 in what feels like an emergency, a hospital admission could indicate a desire for non-hospice care for the identified terminal illness. If this is the case, the patient would sign a revocation form and their hospice care would be terminated. However, a patient selecting to remain on hospice may, under certain conditions, be admitted to the hospital under continuing hospice care. Or they might return home to home-based hospice care and forgo hospital care. Hospice patients and their interdisciplinary teams are prepared to handle emergencies without involving the hospital. As long as patients and families understand that hospice care is palliative, not curative, and is intended to maintain comfort and dignity and improve quality of life, there is no downside to being a hospice patient.

A colleague just referred one of his patients to hospice and is serving as the attending physician. What are the advantages of serving as a hospice attending physician? I am considering it.

The patient’s PCP can be the following physician, writing orders, conferring with the hospice team nurse, giving direction. The hospice team physician would be available for consults. Or the patient’s PCP can choose to be the attending, being informed by the hospice team and contributing to the dialogue, but leaving the duties of the following physician to the hospice physician.

If I continue to see my patient can I bill for it?

Yes. If the patient designates you the attending physician of record, you would bill Medicare directly for the all patient care provided by you, including the terminal diagnosis. The PCP can also turn the patient over to the hospice team and not be involved at all. Note: Any physician treating the patient for the terminal diagnosis who is not the attending physician must contract for their services through the hospice in order to be paid.

Can my patient continue their medications?

It depends on the situation. The hospice team reviews all medications in light of the palliative hospice plan of care. Some may be discontinued or dosages changed as the patient’s condition changes. New ones may be introduced. As the patient’s PCP, you can be part of the decision-making process.

Who will prescribe the patient's medications?

The following doctor usually prescribes, but consulting physicians may be hired by the hospice if the need for specialized care is determined. Those doctors may also prescribe under the review of the following physician.

Would the nurse call if there were a change in the patient’s status and ask for direction?

Yes, the hospice nurse informs both the following and the attending physician of changes and asks for direction. As noted earlier, the attending physician may choose to allow the hospice physicians to follow the patient and not be called upon for care management.

Will I be responsible if I refer and my patient is not hospice appropriate?

No. The initial hospice certification by a referring physician is only a statement of opinion. There is no responsibility for the course of illness after that point. Every patient is evaluated before admission and continually while they are on hospice. If at any time the patient does not meet hospice eligibility guidelines, hospice is discontinued. Patients can come off hospice care and, if appropriate, resume hospice care multiple times with no penalty to them or their PCP.

Can my patient change their mind if they wish to go to the hospital or receive aggressive treatment?

Yes. Additionally, please understand that hospice is aggressive treatment of pain and other symptoms of the terminal illness. Hospice patients always have the right to revoke their hospice benefit for any reason. If they change their minds, they can begin hospice again, as long as they are evaluated and meet eligibility requirements.

Will the quality of care and goals of treatment for my patient remain the same once they are on hospice?

Hospice goals are different from curative goals, but a care plan is written and the hospice team meets weekly to assess the patient’s status and revise the care plan accordingly. Information considered in that weekly assessment may come from the hospice aide, the family, the physician, the social worker, even the patient. Determining the goals of treatment for a patient is a collaborative process driven by the patient-family with guidance and support of the hospice team.

If I remain as attending physician, how will the hospice team physician assist me?

The hospice physician is trained in hospice and palliative medicine and an expert in reducing pain and other EOL symptoms.

Am I informed when the patient dies?

Yes, the PCP is informed when a referred patient dies.

What physical symptoms can help determine when the time may be right for hospice?

FAQ 5

VITAS has an app for your smartphone: download it at VITASapp.com. The same information is available in a small spiral-bound notebook, the Hospice Eligibility Reference Guide. There is an app for the Apple Watch as well. Talk to a VITAS representative for other pieces, from brochures to badge cards, which arm professionals with hospice referral information.

How do I refer a patient to VITAS?

The VITAS app for smart phones and the Apple Watch are perhaps the easiest ways to refer a patient. But our admissions staff is available 24/7/365 to take a referral, visit a patient/family or discuss a case with you.

Refer your patient to VITAS: Online | Mobile App | 800.873.5198