請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
為病患轉介

醫院系統、醫療計劃及服務提供者須知

轉介病患到VITAS: 線上 | 行動應用程式 | 800.873.5198

  1. VITAS如何影響我的經營績效?
  2. 安寧療護如何讓生命末期病人在入住安寧療護前遠離急診室?
  3. 我需要降低最重病病人的住院時間過長(LOS)。確保為急診病人保留床位。安寧療護如何提供協助?
  4. 病人的觀點呢?我需要考慮「醫療服務提供者的醫院消費者評估」(Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers,HCAHPS)及「基於醫療價值付費」(Value-Based Purchasing,VBP)評分。
  5. 我如何打破30天內重返醫院或急診室的「超級用戶」的惡性循環?
  6. 當這些有恢復潛力的病人出現在急診室時,我們如何辨識出他們?
  7. 我們在病人出院後繼續追蹤,確保他們在家中獲得良好的照護。這樣還不夠嗎?
  8. 安寧療護服務對於病人及醫療計劃的福利有哪些?
  9. VITAS如何有助於降低醫療開銷?
  10. 我本身是內科醫師,我參加當地的責任制療護機構。在行醫過程中,我們確實發現有較高醫療風險的末期疾病病人。安寧療護如何協助我照顧這些經常進出急診室、多次進出醫院的病人?
  11. 誰支付與末期診斷無關的照護費用?
  12. 我有聯邦醫療保險Advantage計劃的病人。安寧療護福利如何影響管理式療護福利?

VITAS如何影響我的經營績效?

對於生命期不到六個月的病人而言,安寧療護是個在最適當時機、最適當之處所提供的最適當療護。這些病人不適合使用急診室或住院病床。他們的狀況並不如同居家療護病人一樣會漸漸改善和變得更加獨立。在急症療護的環境中,他們的狀況不佳。安寧療護讓這些病人待在家中,無論這是指私人住宅、生活輔助社區或療養院。有提升的 療護層級 支持病人,避免他們經常進出醫院,甚至在症狀加劇時也一樣。而且安寧療護也處理情緒和心靈以及身體上的症狀,讓病人獲得全面性照護,也同時照護與他們息息相關的親人。

安寧療護如何讓生命末期病人在入住安寧療護前遠離急診室?

VITAS在病人入住醫院或接受積極性治療前,有效地將適合的病人從急診室過渡到安寧療護。我們的療護團隊可專業控制症狀,全面照護病人,並且讓功能衰竭的病人無需住院,釋出急診室資源的同時,也把病床空出來供真正需要的病人使用。

我需要降低最重病病人的住院時間過長(LOS)。確保為急診病人保留床位。安寧療護如何提供協助?

安寧療護轉介的流程始於將病人從醫院住院名單中移出,轉到一個更適合的療護環境中,也空出急診室的病床給急診病人使用。讓VITAS評估病人的安寧療護適用性以將病人從您的醫院中轉出。 

病人的觀點呢?我需要考慮「醫療服務提供者的醫院消費者評估」(Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers,HCAHPS)及「基於醫療價值付費」(Value-Based Purchasing,VBP)評分。

當病人在所需之際獲得所需的照護時,病人及家屬的滿意度都會提升,而家屬 會將這份滿意度歸功於醫院。研究顯示,及早和適當的轉介到安寧療護可改善病人對安寧療護前照護的評分。多數的家屬都表示但願能更早就知道安寧療護服務。 

VITAS實施個人化照護計劃:有效控制疼痛;進行快速評估、接收病人並且將病人過渡到他們想去的家,無論何處;以及有效地與病人及家屬溝通安寧療護細節。

我如何打破30天內重返醫院或急診室的「飛行常客」的惡性循環?

病人重複進出急診室及重複住院可導致療護困境,包括擁擠及入住問題、次優的滿意度及品質績效評量等。安寧療護每週至少提供五次的療護團隊居家服務。 如果病人要求額外的專業 照護,安寧療護可在家中及住院病房提供持續性療護,視病人及家屬的需求而定。安寧療護病人可不分日夜致電他們的團隊要求提供協助,免除他們需要驚懼地前往急診室及重複住院。

當這些有恢復潛力的病人出現在急診室時,我們如何辨識出他們?

當急診室人員注意到某位病人一再出現相同模式,而且他們的功能狀況也逐漸衰退,這就是應該接受安寧療護的時候了。臨床醫事人員有VITAS應用程式或Apple Watch應用程式,或活頁裝訂的版本可使用,或只需撥打VITAS轉介電話:800.93.VITAS。

常見問答3

我們在病人出院後繼續追蹤,確保他們在家中獲得良好的照護。這樣還不夠嗎?

對多數人而言已經足夠。但是讓VITAS參與其中(包括提供安寧療護評估和與病人/家屬對話等)將有益於規劃,包括醫療照護事前指示的討論,即使還未到安寧療護的時刻。

安寧療護服務對於病人及醫療計劃的福利有哪些?

當逆轉疾病的目標不再可能達到時,安寧療護將專注於病人及家屬,減輕疼痛及其他症狀的同時還維護其尊嚴,並提供心靈平靜,兼顧身心靈的考量。此外,無數研究都顯示增加安寧療護轉介之後,已經節省了聯邦醫療保險的開支,並降低再住院率、加護病房使用率及醫院死亡率。

VITAS如何有助於降低醫療開銷?

聯邦醫療保險Advantage計劃(聯邦醫療保險C部分)的會員,可根據其聯邦醫療保險A部分福利來使用聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利,而不會損及與聯邦醫療保險Advantage計劃或其主治醫師之間已建立的關係。一旦聯邦醫療保險Advantage計劃的病人選擇安寧療護之後,與末期診斷有關的療護費用皆直接由聯邦醫療保險與醫療補助服務中心(CMS)支付。除了定制個人化照護計劃以改善病人的生活品質之外,VITAS還提供、管理所有與末期診斷相關的用藥,可因此獲得較高的CAHPS®評分並且符合多項HEDIS®基準點。

我本身是內科醫師,我參加當地的責任制療護機構。在行醫過程中,我們確實發現有較高醫療風險的末期疾病病人。安寧療護如何協助我照顧這些經常進出急診室、多次進出醫院的病人?

您正在找出可能適合安寧療護的病人,非常好。下一步可開始關於醫療照護事前指示及生命末期療護的對話。前往HospiceCanHelp.com拿一份非常實用的指南。您可以寄給家屬、自己閱讀,或列印後在辦公室分發給大家,讓下一個步驟更加容易進行。 在醫師、病人及家屬都參與的情況下,安寧療護在最適當時機、最適當之處提供最適當的療護,以改善生活品質、降低費用、協助家人因應並且讓重病病人遠離加護病房、醫院及急診室。為您的醫師團隊配備 安寧療護適用資格參考指南及其他轉介資源: VITASapp.com。

誰支付與末期診斷無關的照護費用?

[請參閱「了解安寧療護的費用報銷方式」]

我有聯邦醫療保險Advantage計劃的病人。安寧療護福利如何影響管理式療護福利?

[請參閱「了解安寧療護的費用報銷方式」]

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
Refer a patient

What Hospital Systems, Health Plans and Providers Need to Know

Refer your patient to VITAS: Online | Mobile App | 800.873.5198

  1. How can VITAS impact my bottom line?
  2. How can hospice keep end-of-life patients out of the ED before they are admitted?
  3. I need to decrease the LOS of my sickest patients. I need to assure beds for acute-care patients. How does hospice help?
  4. What about patients' perspectives? I need to consider HCAHPS and hospice VBP scoring.
  5. How do I break the cycle of the “super utilizers” who are back in the hospital or ED within 30 days?
  6. How do we identify the restorative potential of these patients when they are present in the ED?
  7. We follow our patients post-discharge to ensure they have good home care. Isn’t that enough?
  8. What are the benefits of hospice services for patients and for health plans?
  9. How does VITAS help reduce med spend?
  10. As an internal medicine physician, I joined a local ACO organization. In my practice, we do identify the patients with advanced illness who are medically a higher risk. How can hospice help me with the care of these patients, who are frequenting the ED and even admitted and readmitted into the hospital?
  11. Who pays for care unrelated to the terminal diagnosis?
  12. I have Medicare Advantage patients in my practice. How does the hospice benefit impact managed care benefits?

How can VITAS impact my bottom line?

Hospice is the right care at the right time in the right place for patients with six months or less to live. These patients are inappropriate for your ED or inpatient beds. They are not improving and getting more independent, as home healthcare patients should. They don’t do well in an acute-care setting. Hospice keeps such patients at home, whether in a private residence, an assisted living community or a nursing home. There are increasing levels of care that support the patient to keep them out of the hospital even when symptoms escalate. And hospice manages emotional and spiritual symptoms as well as physical symptoms, so the whole patient is cared for, as are their loved ones who are immediately involved.

How can hospice keep end-of-life patients out of the ED before they are admitted?

VITAS effectively transitions appropriate patients from the ED, before inpatient admission or aggressive treatment is necessary. Our interdisciplinary team expertly manages symptoms, engages patients holistically and keeps functionally declining patients out of your hospital, making ED resources available while freeing up beds for those who can benefit.

I need to decrease the LOS of my sickest patients. I need to assure beds for acute-care patients. How does hospice help?

A hospice referral begins the process that would move the patient off the hospital rolls and to a more appropriate care setting, leaving acute-care beds for acute-care patients. Asking VITAS to assess your patient for appropriateness for hospice care will facilitate transfer from your facility. 

What about patients' perspectives? I need to consider HCAHPS and hospital VBP scoring.

Patient and family satisfaction improves when patients receive the care they need when they need it, and families attribute that satisfaction to the hospital. Studies show that early and appropriate referrals to hospice improve patient assessment of their pre-hospice care. Most families say they wish they had known about hospice sooner. 

VITAS implements personalized care plans; effectively controls pain; does rapid evaluation, intake and care transitions the patient home, where they want to be; and effectively communicates with patients and families about what hospice care entails

How do I break the cycle of the “frequent fliers” who are back in the hospital or ED within 30 days?

Repeat ED patients and hospital readmissions lead to challenging care episodes; crowding and boarding issues; and suboptimal satisfaction and quality performance measures. Hospice provides a care team in the home five or more times per week. If the patient requires additional skilled care, hospice offers continuous care in the home and inpatient care, depending on the needs of the patient and family. Hospice patients can call their team for assistance day or night, eliminating frightened trips to the ED and hospital readmissions.

How do we identify the restorative potential of these patients when they are present in the ED?

When ED staff recognizes the pattern of a patient presenting repeatedly, and their functional status is declining, it may be time for hospice. Clinicians can arm themselves with the VITAS app or the Apple Watch app, the spiral-bound printed version, or simply with the VITAS referral number: 800.93.VITAS.

FAQ 3

We follow our patients post-discharge to ensure they have good home care. Isn’t that enough?

For many it will be enough. But getting VITAS involved, including a hospice evaluation and a conversation with the patient/family, serves as an aid to planning, including an advance directives discussion, even when it’s not yet time for hospice.

What are the benefits of hospice services for patients and for health plans?

When the goal of reversing an illness is no longer possible, hospice focuses on the patient and family, relieving pain and other symptoms while maintaining dignity, providing peace of mind and attending to physical, emotional and spiritual concerns. In addition, numerous studies demonstrate that increased hospice referrals increased Medicare savings and decreased hospital readmissions, ICU use and hospital deaths.

How does VITAS help reduce med spend?

Members of Medicare Advantage Plans (Medicare Part C) can access the Medicare Hospice Benefit under their Medicare Part A Benefit without jeopardizing the established relationship with the Medicare Advantage Plan or their primary care physician. Once a Medicare Advantage patient elects hospice, care related to the terminal diagnosis is paid directly by CMS. VITAS supplies and manages all medication related to the terminal diagnosis, in addition to developing personalized care plans that improve patients’ quality of life, resulting in higher CAHPS® scores and meeting multiple HEDIS® benchmarks.

As an internal medicine physician, I joined a local ACO organization. In my practice, we do identify the patients with advanced illness who are medically a higher risk. How can hospice help me with the care of these patients, who are frequenting the ED and even admitted and readmitted into the hospital?

You are identifying patients who may be hospice appropriate; good. Having the conversation about advance directives and end-of-life care might be the next step. Go to HospiceCanHelp.com for an excellent guide you can send to a family member, read yourself, print and distribute in the office—all ways to make the next step easier for all. With physician, patient and loved ones on board, hospice provides the right care at the right time in the right place, improving quality of life, reducing expenses, helping families cope and keeping seriously ill patients out of the ICU, the hospital and the ED. Arm your group physicians and other possible referral sources with the hospice eligibility reference guide at VITASapp.com.

Who pays for care unrelated to the terminal diagnosis?

[See understanding how hospice is reimbursed]

I have Medicare Advantage patients in my practice. How does the hospice benefit impact managed care benefits?

[See understanding how hospice is reimbursed]