請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
為病患轉介

和您一起對抗疼痛的合作夥伴

VITAS的醫師擅長疼痛處理

疼痛是許多局限生命的疾病皆會出現的複雜症狀。患有末期癌症的成人是深受嚴重疼痛之苦的最大族群。1 除了疼痛之外,這些病人經常在生命末期時會經歷呼吸困難和呼吸窘迫;在瀕臨死亡時更需要使用醫院所採取的加護服務。2

生命末期的疼痛可有效處理,且疼痛處理是安寧療護的優先處理項目。一項針對1,970位癌症病人所做的最近調查,顯示其中有半數人正接受安寧療護服務。對照組並未接受安寧療護服務。安寧療護病人中,有91%接受疼痛藥物以控制症狀,相較於對照組的81%。2

接受安寧療護的病人家屬表示,病人疼痛處理方式皆針對病人的個別症狀級別進行調配;而這正是照護品質和病人滿意度的關鍵所在。大約有80%的家屬表示,他們接受安寧療護的親人被施以「最正確的疼痛用藥劑量」。研究人員也發現,隨著病人的住院時間增加,安寧療護的正面效果也增加。2

轉介您的病人: 線上 | 行動應用程式800.938.4827

VITAS的醫師擅長疼痛處理

VITAS安寧療護醫師與主治醫師密切合作,為患有末期疾病的病人找出最好的疼痛處理方式。我們共同確保病人能獲得疼痛舒緩和免於更多痛苦的必要用藥,以便他們在所剩時間內能享受到最優的生活品質。除了臨床專業之外,VITAS還提供教育性資料,其中包括:

  • 專為治療生命末期患者而設的VITAS疼痛處理指導方針。這些臨床醫療準則包含適當的用藥劑量及鴉片止痛滴定等資訊
  • 成功處理末期疾病病人複雜疼痛的案例研究
  • 協助病人及家屬了解和探索疼痛處理的教育性資料
  • 非藥物性介入,例如音樂及按摩治療等,有助緩解病人的疼痛和提供舒適感(提供情形因地點而有不同)

一種非僅限於處理身體疼痛的綜合照護

基於末期疾病的疼痛往往不止身體的疼痛,VITAS的療護團隊照顧病人及家屬在心靈及情緒上的需要,可補充主治醫師無法兼顧的部分。除了經過特殊訓練的緩和療護醫師之外,安寧療護團隊還包括護士、安寧療護護佐、喪慟專家、靈性輔導師及社工等。

請向能幫助您的VITAS疼痛處理專家諮詢

擅長疼痛處理的VITAS安寧療護醫師,可協助處理末期疾病病人的任何類疼痛。病人的主治醫師仍然負責照顧病人,而同時與安寧療護醫師合作配合。

與VITAS的疼痛專家合作將可確保鴉片的適當使用、最佳藥效及配方,以及施以劑量的適當時間。VITAS的專家具備處理複雜疼痛的高度經驗,例如:

  • 頑固性疼痛
  • 需要多種止痛劑的全身性疼痛加上局部性疼痛
  • 無法忍受部分藥物的病人
  • 出現不良副作用的病人
  • 因為多種止痛藥而增加藥物交互作用的風險
  • 因為止痛藥劑量而增加中毒的風險
  • 因嚴重疼痛而不當使用止痛劑
  • 鴉片滴定問題
  • 無法遵循建議用藥方式的病人
  • 尚未達到理想的疼痛控制程度的病人

VITAS還會衡量病人的情況以決定是否適用非藥物性疼痛介入。

轉介您的病人: 線上 | 行動應用程式1.800.938.4827

1美國國家癌症研究所(National Cancer Institute)。「Pain Overview」網站。http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/supportivecare/pain/HealthProfessional/page1。摘自2014年9月10日。

2Kumar P. 等《家人對癌症病人的安寧療護體驗之觀點》(Family Perspectives on Hospice Care Experiences of Patients with Cancer)。《臨床腫瘤學雜誌》- 於2016年12月19日紙本發行前的網路版。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

A Partner in the Battle Against Pain

VITAS physicians specialize in pain management

Pain is a complex symptom accompanying many life-limiting illnesses. The highest prevalence of severe pain occurs in adult patients with advanced cancer.1 In addition to pain, these patients often experience dyspnea and distress at the end of life, and use intensive, hospital-based services near death.2

Pain can be effectively managed at the end of life, and hospice makes pain management a priority. A recent study examined 1,970 cancer patients, half of whom were receiving hospice care. The control group did not receive hospice care. Ninety-one percent of the hospice patients were administered pain medication to manage symptoms, compared to 81% of control patients.2

Families of patients receiving hospice care reported that patients' pain management regimens were appropriately tailored to their symptom levels, a key component of quality care and patient satisfaction. Some 80% of families said their loved ones on hospice received “just the right amount” of pain medication. The researchers also found that the positive effects of hospice care increased as duration of stay increased.2

Refer your patient: Online | Mobile app800.938.4827

VITAS physicians specialize in pain management

VITAS’ hospice physicians partner with attending physicians to identify the best pain treatment for terminally ill patients. Together, we ensure that patients receive the medications needed to relieve their pain and prevent further suffering, allowing them to enjoy an optimal quality of life during their remaining time. In addition to clinical expertise, VITAS’ also offers educational materials that include:

  • VITAS pain management guidelines designed specifically for the treatment of terminally ill patients. These protocols contain information on the proper dosing and titration of opioid analgesics
  • Case studies on the successful management of complex pain in terminally ill patients
  • Patient and family education materials to facilitate understanding and explore options for pain management
  • Non-pharmacological interventions, such as music and massage therapy, that help ease patients’ pain and offer comfort (availability varies by location)

Comprehensive care beyond physical pain

Because end-stage illnesses often involve more than physical pain, VITAS’ multidisciplinary hospice team complements the care attending physicians provide by addressing the spiritual and emotional needs of patients and their families. In addition to a specially trained palliative care physician, the hospice team can include nurse, hospice aid, bereavement specialist, pharmacist, chaplain and social worker.

Talk to a VITAS pain management expert who can help

A VITAS hospice physician who specializes in pain management is available to help manage any type of pain in terminally ill patients. The patient’s attending physician retains the patient while collaborating with the hospice physician.

Partnering with a VITAS pain specialist can help ensure appropriate use of opioids, optimal drug delivery and formulations and proper timing of doses. VITAS’ experts are skilled at addressing complex pain management challenges, such as:

  • Refractory pain
  • Generalized plus localized pain, requiring multiple analgesics
  • Patients who are unable to tolerate some medications
  • Patients who develop undesirable side effects
  • Increased risk of drug interaction due to multiple analgesics
  • Increased risk of toxicity due to analgesic doses
  • Inappropriate analgesics for severity of pain
  • Problems with titration of opioids
  • Patients who are unable to comply with recommended drug delivery methods
  • Patients who have yet to achieve satisfactory levels of pain control

VITAS will also evaluate patients to determine if nonpharmacological pain interventions are appropriate.

Refer your patient: Online | Mobile app800.938.4827

1National Cancer Institute. “Pain Overview.” Web. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/supportivecare/pain/HealthProfessional/page1 Accessed September 10, 2014.

2Kumar P. et al., Family Perspectives on Hospice Care Experiences of Patients with Cancer. Journal of Clinical Oncology - published online before print December 19, 2016.