請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
為病患轉介

州政府醫療保險管理式療護及安寧療護

管理式療護

為您最弱勢成員提供的最佳照護

許多州都與管理式療護機構簽約以向受益人提供州政府醫療保險服務。 了解 安寧療護服務 如何達到這些最弱勢族群的需求,以及如何開立服務帳單及付款,確保為您的會員提供最理想的急性後期照護。 

安寧療護是照護生命末期病患的一種方法。療護團隊處理病人及家屬的身心靈需求。醫生、護士、安寧療護護佐、靈性輔導師、社工及義工人員,在任何病人稱為家的地方照顧他們。

讓VITAS® Healthcare成為您的夥伴。 身為全美領先的安寧療護提供者,我們的專科醫師能讓您更加了解 安寧療護的優點 及生命末期療護。您可放心您的會員將獲得適當的照顧,同時費用申報的處理也正確又高效。確保服務提供者及醫療保險計劃之間的順暢溝通,會加強對您的會員及我們病人的服務。

如欲了解詳情或 進行轉介,請撥打800.93.VITAS。

關於安寧療護及州政府醫療保險的實況

  • 您的州政府醫療保險代理商會公佈核心安寧療護服務及療養機構日常膳宿的費用報銷費率。請定期查看最新更新,因為這些資料通常是每年更新一次,有時還會有更多次更新。
  • 根據CMS的規定,安寧療護協調會員的照護以避免出現服務重複的情形
  • 通常而言,當病人選擇安寧療護時,療養機構的膳宿費用是由州政府醫療保險管理式療護機構直接支付該安寧療護服務。該安寧療護機構再將款項「轉給」療護機構。一般而言,如果會員是療養院的安寧療護病人,僅95%的療養院膳宿費用是由管理式療護機構支付。這種付款模式及轉付系統可因個別州的州政府醫療保險代理商而有差異。

安寧療護及付款的常見問答

安寧療護的先決條件為何?

聯邦醫療保險A部分規定,最常見的先決條件為「在疾病正常發展下,住院病人的預估生命期為六個月或六個月以下的醫療預後」。

會員接受評估的費用為多少?

如欲符合接受該項服務的資格,VITAS的註冊護士會對會員進行評估,且對會員或計劃而言均無需付費。與聯邦醫療保險的指南類似,接受安寧療護的病人在超過原始的六個月預後時,必須由安寧療護醫師進行「面對面」的評估。只要認定病人在醫療上適合安寧療護,則承保可延長至60天的福利期間。

安寧療護的療護層級為何?他們代表哪些服務?

照護的提供及費用報銷的定義是根據以下聯邦醫療保險指南中的 四個療護層級 而定:

  • 常規居家療護 - 在任何病人視為家的地方提供,包括私人住所、療養院、長期護理之家等。
  • 加護舒適療護(持續性療護)- 當病人有醫療上的需要時,在居家環境中提供輪班照護直到症狀得到控制為止。
  • 一般住院療護 - 當症狀無法在家中得到控制時,短期間內在安寧療護住院病房或醫院提供。
  • 喘息療護 -為居家安寧療護病人提供住院病床,以便為家庭照顧者提供最多達五天的喘息時間。

何謂「安寧療護-療養機構膳宿轉付」?

如果長期照護機構的病人同時符合聯邦醫療保險及長期州政府醫療保險的資格而選擇安寧療護服務時,安寧療護將針對核心安寧療護服務向聯邦醫療保險A部分收取費用,並向MMC機構收取療養機構的膳宿費用。當醫療保險計劃支付安寧療護時,該安寧療護將膳宿付款轉付給特約機構。醫療保險計劃的付款應轉給安寧療護服務提供者。

醫療保險計劃可能不為安寧療護病人支付100%的療養院膳宿帳單,這是真的嗎?

在多數的州中,醫療保險計劃將根據州政府醫療保險的費率支付95%的療養院膳宿費用給安寧療護機構。安寧療護再將100%的全部金額轉付給病人的療養機構。

安寧療護-療養機構的膳宿費用申報表為何?必須使用什麼帳單代碼?

每個州或醫療保險計劃的UB04、CMS 1500或837電子表格皆可能有所不同。每個表格應包含核心安寧療護服務/日期及療養機構膳宿費用/日期(如適用)。醫療保險計劃必須對兩項服務進行申請裁定。對符合聯邦醫療保險及州政府醫療保險兩項資格的病人,其醫療保險計劃費用申報單上僅會出現膳宿項目。安寧療護將對核心安寧療護服務向聯邦醫療保險A部分收費。

帳單代碼通常遵循聯邦醫療保險指南。其他代碼可能適用。

651-常規居家療護

652-持續性療護

655-住院病人喘息療護

656-住院療護

657-醫師費用

658-659-療養機構膳宿

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Medicaid Managed Care & Hospice

Managed Care

The Best Care for Your Frailest Members

States are using Medicaid Managed Care to provide benefits to their low-income constituents. Knowing how hospice services meet the needs of the frailest of those constituents, and how services are billed and paid for, ensures the best possible post-acute care for your members. 

Hospice is a way of caring for patients near the end of life. An interdisciplinary team addresses the physical, emotional and spiritual needs of patients and their families. A physician, nurse, hospice aide, chaplain, social worker and volunteers care for patients wherever they call home.

Let VITAS® Healthcare be your partner. As the nation’s leading hospice provider, our specialists will provide you with a better understanding of the hospice benefit and end-of-life care. You will be confident that your members are receiving appropriate care, and that claims administration is accurate and efficient. Assuring communication between providers and health plans increases service to your members and our patients.

For information or to make a referral, call 800.93.VITAS.

Facts about Hospice and Medicaid

  • Medicaid benefits in most states dictate the rate for core hospice services and nursing facility daily room and board
  • Hospice coordinates members’ care to prevent duplication of services, as mandated by CMS
  • Typically, only 95 percent of the nursing facility room & board charge should be paid by the Managed Care Organization when the member is a hospice patient in a nursing facility. This may vary from state to state

FAQs about Hospice Care and Payment

What is the prerequisite for hospice care?

As provided by Medicare Part A, the most common prerequisite is “a medical prognosis that the resident’s life expectancy is six months or less if the illness runs its normal course.”

What does it cost to have a member evaluated?

To qualify for services, a member is evaluated by a VITAS registered nurse at no cost to the member or the plan. Similar to Medicare guidelines, patients receiving hospice care beyond the original six-month prognosis must be evaluated “face to face” by the hospice physician. Coverage is extended into 60-day benefit periods as long as the patient is determined to be medically hospice appropriate.

What are the hospice levels of care? What services do they represent?

Hospice care is provided and reimbursement is defined based on four levels of care following Medicare guidelines:

  • Routine Home Care–provided wherever the patient calls home: private residence, nursing facility, LTC, etc.
  • Continuous Home Care–shifts of care provided in the home setting until symptoms are brought under control.
  • General Inpatient Care–provided in an inpatient hospice unit or facility for a short period when symptoms cannot be managed in the home.
  • Respite Care–provides an inpatient bed to a home-based hospice patient in order to relieve the family caregiver for up to five days.

What is the “hospice-nursing facility room & board pass through”?

When a resident of a long-term care facility is dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid and elects hospice care, the hospice will bill Medicare Part A for core hospice services and bill the health plan for nursing facility room & board. When the health plan reimburses the hospice, the hospice passes the room and board payment through to the contracted facility. Health plan payments should be directed to the hospice provider.

Is it true that a health plan may not pay 100 percent of the nursing home room & board bill for a hospice patient?

In most states, the health plan will pay 95 percent of the nursing facility room & board Medicaid rate to the hospice. The hospice forwards the full 100 percent to the patient’s nursing facility.

What does the hospice-nursing facility room & board claim look like? What billing codes may apply?

The format of the UB04, CMS 1500 or 837 electronic formats may differ state to state or even health plan to health plan. Each should contain core hospice services/dates and nursing facility room & board charges/dates when applicable. Health plans will need to adjudicate claims for both services. For dually eligible Medicare and Medicaid patients, only room & board will appear on the claim to the health plan. The hospice will bill Medicare Part A for core hospice services.