請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
為病患轉介

提供給醫療服務專業人士的網路研討會:跨領域療護方式的疼痛處理

2017年網路研討會圖片

在安寧療護病人的照護計劃中,最首要和重要的莫過於疼痛處理。安寧療護提供在接近生命末期時的舒適及生活品質,而且安寧療護醫護人員是疼痛處理方面的專家。本網路研討會的目的在於協助醫療服務專業人員了解病人在接近生命末期階段,其疼痛症狀的所有層面,以及如何以跨領域療護方式提供最有效的疼痛處理。

參加此場免費的網路研討會可獲得一小時的在職教育學分。

參加此網路研討會的人將學習:

  • 了解患有癌症及非惡性腫瘤等末期病人的各種疼痛原因
  • 了解「整體痛」中所涉及的不同因素,以及了解跨領域療護團隊在有效治療整體痛中的必要性。
  • 明確說明並且遵循有效的疼痛處理指引
  • 定義疼痛及其不同的特徵
  • 說明對認知良好及認知障礙病人執行全面疼痛評估時的一些必要成分

如需更多關於此網路研討會的在職教育資訊, 按此處

感謝您參與本場於2017年2月23日舉辦的網路研討會

 
本課程經核准可作為註冊護士和社工以及認證個案經理一小時的在職教育學分。必須全程參與課程並且完成簡短的線上問卷調查;均完成後即核發證明。
 
特別介紹VITAS專家:
 
Joseph Shega醫師 | VITAS Healthcare
 
Joseph Shega醫師
資深副總裁暨全國醫療總監
VITAS Healthcare

Joseph Shega醫師於2013年加入VITAS Healthcare擔任醫療總監,但是他自1999年起即開始照顧並且研究老年病人與生命末期療護,同時也進行這方面的教學。他加入VITAS的使命:提升未獲足夠服務的人口對於安寧療護服務的使用。

「這不但包括少數族裔,」他表示「更包括傳統上未曾接受過安寧療護服務但是卻可受惠於這些服務的病人,例如,患有末期腎臟病的病人可以接受洗腎、心臟衰竭的病人可接受強心劑,和癌症末期病人可有不同的治療目標。」

此外,Shega醫師的焦點是放在轉換到安寧療護及緩和療護的照護,是達到所有利益關係人目標的一種方式。「病人可受惠於較好的生活品質、較好的症狀控制,以及在家中安養的機會。」 Shega醫生解釋,「醫院在品質指標上獲得了改善,包括透過使用量增加而降低急診的等候時間,以及再住院的次數。」

身為VITAS計畫在佛羅里達州、喬治亞州,以及阿拉巴馬州的地區醫療總監,Shega醫師掌管VITAS病人在家中、療養院、生活輔助社區、個人護理院和住院病房的醫療護理與治療,同時對於參與這些計畫的VITAS醫師進行指導和密切合作。

他擁有老年醫學以及安寧與緩和療護的醫師執照。他是美國老年醫學會(American Geriatrics Society )的倫理委員會主席,也是美國安寧和緩和醫療學會(American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine)的品質委員會委員。

在加入VITAS之前,Shega醫師曾經是芝加哥大學老年醫學及緩和醫療的醫學副教授。他曾在芝加哥南區擔任主治醫師達13年,提供住院老人及緩和療護諮詢、住院緩和照護、療養院照護、老人門診、居家探訪及安寧療護服務。他還對患有記憶障礙的病人提供從診斷至生命末期的評估與管理。

Shega醫師在芝加哥西北大學完成其醫學院的學位,在匹茲堡大學的內科完成住院實習,並在芝加哥大學完成老年醫學研究。Shega醫師有對雙胞胎小孩,休閒時喜歡和家人相處、打網球、游泳和跑步。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
Refer a patient

Webinar for Healthcare Professionals: Pain Management: An Interdisciplinary Approach

2017 webinar image

Pain management is first and foremost in a hospice patient’s plan of care. Hospice provides comfort and quality of life near the end of life, and hospice providers are experts at managing pain. The goal of this webinar is to help healthcare professionals understand all aspects of a patient’s pain as a symptom near the end of life, and how to utilize an interdisciplinary approach to provide the most effective pain management.

Earn one continuing education hour with this free webinar.

Attendees of this webinar will learn to:

  • Understand various causes of pain in terminally ill patients with cancer and non-malignant illnesses
  • Understand the different factors involved in “total pain” and how the interdisciplinary team is necessary to effectively treat total pain
  • Articulate and follow the guidelines of effective pain management
  • Define pain and its various characteristics
  • Describe the components necessary to perform a full pain assessment in both cognitively intact and cognitively impaired patients

For more continuing education information regarding this webinar, click here.

Thank you for attending this webinar held on February 23, 2017

 
This course is approved for one continuing education credit hour for Registered Nurses and Social Workers as well as approval for Certified Case Managers. Attendance for the entire online webinar, as well as completion of a brief online survey, is required; certifications are made available after completion.
 
Featured VITAS expert:
 
Dr. Joseph Shega | VITAS Healthcare
 
Joseph Shega, MD
Senior Vice President, National Medical Director
VITAS Healthcare

Joseph Shega, MD, joined VITAS Healthcare in 2013 as medical director, but he has been caring for, studying and teaching about geriatric patients and end-of-life care since 1999. He came to VITAS with a mission: to improve access to hospice services for underserved populations.

“That includes not only ethnic minorities,” he says, “but patients not traditionally served by hospice who would benefit from it, like end-stage renal disease patients receiving dialysis, heart failure patients receiving inotropic support and advanced cancer patients with conflicting goals.”

In addition, Dr. Shega’s focus is on the care transition to hospice and palliative care as a way to meet the goals of all stakeholders. “Patients benefit from a better quality of life, improved symptom management and an opportunity to age in place.” Dr. Shega explains. “Hospitals garner improvements in quality metrics, including decreased ED wait times via increased throughput, along with a reduction in hospital readmissions.”

As a regional medical director for VITAS programs in Florida, Georgia and Alabama, Dr. Shega oversees the medical care and treatment of VITAS patients in their homes, nursing homes, assisted living communities, personal care homes and inpatient units, supervising and working closely with the VITAS physicians in those programs.

He is board certified in geriatrics and hospice and palliative medicine. He chairs the Ethics Committee for the American Geriatrics Society and serves on the Quality Committee for the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine.

Prior to joining VITAS, Dr. Shega was an associate professor of medicine at the University of Chicago in geriatrics and palliative medicine. He worked as a primary care physician for 13 years on Chicago’s South Side, providing inpatient geriatric and palliative medicine consults, inpatient palliative care, nursing home care, outpatient geriatrics, home visits and hospice services. He also evaluated and managed patients with memory disorders from diagnosis to the end of life.

Dr. Shega completed medical school at Northwestern University in Chicago, residency in internal medicine at the University of Pittsburgh and a geriatrics fellowship at University of Chicago. The father of twins, Dr. Shega enjoys spending time with family, playing tennis, swimming and running.