請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
要求資訊

什麼是緩和療護服務?

緩和療護服務

什麼是緩和療護服務?

緩和療護 是在美國從2006年開始獲得醫學認證的醫療專科,但事實上,緩和療護的存在已長達多個世紀。 我們都使用過緩和醫療(亦稱為舒適療護)服務。如果您的骨頭斷了,您會尋求治療:醫生會將骨頭固定使其無法移動,以便骨頭痊癒。但醫生會開止痛藥讓您感到舒服些。止痛藥是一種緩和藥物:在您配合醫生治療骨折的同時,這類藥可改善您的生活品質。

一般而言,當我們談到緩和療護時,都是在說嚴重的疾病:慢性、進行性的呼吸系统疾病;腎臟病;慢性心臟衰竭; 人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病、進行性的神經系統疾病、 癌症等等。 

請同時參閱: 緩和療護可以如何幫助癌症病患?

例如:當您進行化療(用來治療癌症)時,您的醫生也會開藥解決您的噁心、憂鬱或焦慮等問題,或指示您與治療師討論或安排寵物探訪。如果您的家人備感壓力,社工或靈性輔導師會提供支持。 所有這些配合治療的機制都會被視為 緩和療護:在您與您的醫師 抵抗癌症的同時,這類療護可改善您的生活品質。

治癒性療護旨在治癒疾病; 緩和療護 旨在讓病人感到更舒適。 減緩痛苦是「在不排除原因的情況下減少疾病或症狀的痛苦或不適」。

緩和療護的原由是什麼?

緩和療護治療源自於安寧療護推廣運動。如今,80%有300個或更多病床的醫院都有緩和療護專員或專業團隊,他們會與病患的其他醫師合作,解決嚴重疾病及其治療所帶來的生理、心理、社會或精神上的痛苦。

病患和家屬的更多資訊:

臨床醫生的更多資訊:

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
REQUEST INFORMATION

What is Palliative Care?

Palliative Care Services

What is Palliative Care?

Palliative care has been a board-certified medical specialty since 2006 in the US, but palliative care has been around for centuries. We’ve all had palliative medicine, also called comfort care. If you break a bone, you seek a cure: the doctor sets it and keeps it immobile in order for it to heal. But she prescribes painkillers to make you comfortable. The painkillers are palliative: they improve the quality of your life while you and your physician cope with your broken bone.

Generally when we talk about palliative care, it’s in the context of serious illness: chronic, progressive pulmonary disorders; renal disease; chronic heart failure; HIV/AIDS, progressive neurological conditions, cancer, etc. 

See also: How Can Palliative Care Help Cancer Patients?

An example: as you go through chemotherapy, which is prescribed to cure your cancer, your physician also addresses your nausea, depression or anxiety by prescribing a drug, directing you to a talk therapist or arranging for pet visits. If your family is stressed, a social worker or chaplain would provide support. All of these coping mechanisms are considered palliative: they improve the quality of your life while you and your physician cope with your cancer.

Curative care is meant to cure a disease. Palliative care is meant to make the patient more comfortable. To palliate is “to make a disease or its symptoms less severe or unpleasant without removing the cause.”

What is the History of Palliative Care?

Palliative care treatment grew out of the hospice movement. Today 80 percent of hospitals with 300 or more beds offer a palliative specialist or palliative team who work with the patient’s other physicians to address the physical, psychological, social or spiritual distress of serious illness and its treatment.

More for Patients and Families:

More for Clinicians: