請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
要求資訊

VITAS醫師及護士:合規夥伴

撰稿人:凱倫‧皮特森(Karen Peterson),護理總長

國會在1980年代所定義的「聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利」中,一個十分獨特之處即在於它強調整個醫療團隊在為末期病人制定療護計劃時所扮演的重要角色。我們從事安寧療護工作者都認同這項睿智的決策。這表示安寧療護團隊的每一成員都可將其個人獨特的技能及專業知識,帶到我們所服務的弱勢族群的病床邊。醫生、護士、靈性輔導師、社工及安寧療護護佐等,每個人皆在病人的家中貢獻己力。我們共同的目標即是在關懷和技能間取得最恰當的「平衡」。

許多同業都對我們安寧療護臨床人員大表讚歎,他們對於我們在處理末期病人及家屬時所展現的技能和關懷極為讚賞,因為他們較專注於復健及病癒。我們不斷磨練我們在專業訓練中所習得的臨床技能和工具,以及多年來從指導老師處學來的精湛介入方式。在這一切之中,我們都運用VITAS所特有的愛心盡全力緩和疾病的痛苦症狀,幫助病人及家屬能充分利用剩餘的時間。

我們是一個團隊,我們的照護能改善病人的福祉。但本篇報告旨在強調該團隊的「醫療」部分,特別是護士及醫師如何合作以確保符合安寧療護的規定及法規。對於VITAS而言,這是一個互相尊重和誠心奉獻的合作關係,致力於提供舒緩痛苦的最佳醫療。這只是VITAS將病人及家屬的福祉視為第一要務的另一個方式。

安寧療護及緩和醫學證書/安寧療護及緩和療護護理證書

「我為做出貢獻而引以為傲」是VITAS的第四個價值觀,我相信也是各地安寧療護工作者所共享的信念。VITAS的專業人員都對於能成為提供最優質生命末期療護團隊的一員而感到無比光榮;同時,幾乎所有我們的病人都表示將會向其親友推薦我們。我們也知道,我們在病床邊所提供的醫療類型,與我們同業所採行和提供的有著極大差異。大部分醫師及護士都偏好在一個他們提供介入以達到復健及病癒的環境中工作,而VITAS的臨床人員則專注於減緩痛苦。事實上這就是「治癒」這個字最好、最廣義的意義。

身為護士,我可以告訴您,從事安寧療護的醫師絕非一般的醫師。對於許多醫師而言,以身為團隊的一份子而非「領導」一個團隊來進行工作的概念,是不具成就感的。這讓我們的醫師更顯得獨特。這也讓他們更能充分發揮所長。我曾經聽過不止一位我們的醫師說,他們與安寧療護護佐、靈性輔導師、社工及護士並肩工作所習得的事物,並不亞於他們自醫學院中與其他醫師共事之所學。我認為VITAS團隊成員中這種互相尊重所產生的照護,正是上面所提家屬表達滿意評分之由來。

我們的醫師及護士也因為擁有這些獨特的技能而被VITAS以外的機構大加讚揚。2006年,美國認證專業委員會(American Board of Certifying Specialties)中的10個認證委員會,確認安寧療護及緩和療護醫學為一種次專科,並且建立取得這項認證的新規定。VITAS大力支持安寧療護及緩和療護的認證制度。

安寧療護及緩和療護護士協會(Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association)已經針對安寧療護護士(及安寧療護護佐)制定了平行認證的制度。VITAS強力支持這些專業的這項認證,並且認為這是確保為病人及家屬提供最優質療護的方法。

末期疾病證明

我們現在繼續討論另一種不同的證明,即是當病人進入安寧療護階段時由醫師所開立的證明。合規的VITAS醫師及護士之間的協作關係,基本上始於療護開始的那一刻。聯邦醫療保險投保條款(Conditions of Participation,簡稱CoP)要求安寧療護服務提供者在開始進行療護時,必須先取得末期疾病的書面證明。任何涉及住院程序的人員都會告訴您,這不僅表示醫師必須簽署一份證明文件而已。

「證明將根據醫師或醫療總監就該位病人疾病的正常發展所做的臨床判斷而定」[聯邦醫療保險投保條款418.22(b)]。這表示醫師將與住院團隊及VITAS護士進行溝通以取得足夠資訊來決定病人的預後。該位醫師也要照看初始療護計劃的制定,並與安寧療護護士合作以處理病人的症狀。有些時候,開立證明的醫師必須親自上門探視病人,或致電病人的轉介醫師,或瀏覽病例以確認資格或詳細了解需要處理的病人症狀。

每週七天、每天24小時的任何時間,都有一位住院團隊可以聯絡而且必須聯絡的專屬VITAS醫師,來提供這項支持住院流程的必要部分。只有在完成此項流程時,該位醫師才能開立「醫師敘述」(physician narrative) ,亦即就技術上而言,符合了上述的規定。這個流程是個形式追隨功能(form following function)的實際案例。這個形式(醫師敘述)當然必須完成,但形式是在流程結束時才算完成,這個流程涉及許多協作關係,因為醫療及護理專業人員必須評估病人及家屬的需求。

與主治醫師或轉介醫師討論

初始證明流程只是VITAS醫師及護士可能需要聯絡主治醫師或轉介醫師的其中一次聯絡。這類溝通可能需要在病人療護期間的任何時間點持續進行。團隊將聯絡轉介醫師以完成初始證明流程,因為轉介醫師也必須以書面表示,病人的預後符合安寧療護的資格,亦即根據醫師的判斷,在疾病正常的發展下,病人的預後非常可能在六個月或更短時間內即死亡。有時候是團隊醫師及主治醫師共同研究出這項結論,或變更療護計劃,以讓病人的最後幾天和幾週過得更為舒適。

有時病人並沒有固定的主治醫師。他們可能是將病人轉介到安寧療護的住院醫師或甚至是急診室的醫師;或病人可能並未與特定醫師建立起持續的醫病關係。但在入院時,我們會將病人所偏好的醫師設成他(她)的主治/複診醫師,這點十分重要。這讓我們知道病人想持續從哪位醫師處取得醫囑。只要可能,我們都會支持病人的選擇。

病人選擇當其主治醫師的醫師可能會不同意擔任病人在接受安寧療護時的複診醫師。雖然沒有主治醫師很不理想,但是當發生這種情況時,CoP會提供符合病人醫療需求的安寧療護醫師。有時當取得轉介醫師在證明聲明上簽名的各種努力都失敗時,這甚至還包括初始證明在內。出現這種情形時,如CoP中所規定,安寧療護醫師可同時擔任安寧療護醫師及主治醫師。

決定末期疾病診斷

對多數轉介到VITAS的病人,其主要的末期診斷及其他任何影響病人的病況,將從轉介一開始便完全清楚明確。而對其他轉介到VITAS的病人,其主要的末期診斷在轉介時並不清楚。雖然醫師的最佳判斷認為這些病人的預後為六個月或更短時間,但是對於最有可能造成其死亡的根本疾病狀況則不清楚。

這些病人正確地被轉介到安寧療護,並且適當地予以住院,因為他們的身體情況逐漸衰退,並且有著末期預後。除了知道他們即將死亡之外,對他們衰弱的真實原因則不得而知。病人住院後,安寧療護醫師可能需要幾天的時間來進行額外的評估及審閱病歷,甚至與轉介醫師進行醫師間的討論,才可以決定最適當的主要末期診斷。在這個過程中,安寧療護醫師及護士的臨床經驗、判斷力及團隊合作精神實屬關鍵,而且醫師在建立主要診斷以支持一套全面療護計劃的發展中扮演著重要角色。在病人接受我們服務的整個住院期間,這個流程會持續進行;我們將不斷對全面診斷(主要、次要、合併症)進行檢視、評估並予以記錄。

制定全面療護計劃

在制定初始及全面療護計劃時,VITAS團隊的醫師及護士間的合作尤其重要。隨著安寧療護團隊對病人的日益了解,持續的回饋意見及IDG檢視可提供團隊護士善盡其CoP責任所需要知道的額外資訊,以便協調可控制病人症狀所需的各種介入方法。第一次的病人病情討論會議是個關鍵點,此時整個團隊在檢視及討論全面療護計劃之下可對病人的情況有全盤了解,而此全面療護計劃是在頭幾天的照顧過程中發展而成。

檢視的其中一個最關鍵部分是檢視病人的用藥資料,這也是團隊醫師必須獨自承擔責任的部分之一。據我們所知,許多病人在入住安寧療護前,其主治醫師未能就病人疾病的實際情況與病人進行認真的溝通。例如,病人可能持續服用降低膽固醇的藥物,而實際上,在處理末期疾病時,這些藥物對病情的益處不大或毫無益處。當主要目的在延緩阿茲海默症的惡化時,我們是否仍持續提供例如Aricept這種藥物?這些藥物往往具有副作用,還可造成併發症,因此應該避免讓病人服用。面對這種情況時,安寧療護醫師可能考慮停用這些藥物,以利於控制不良症狀而無需受到無效藥物的干擾。有時,在管理全面療護計劃的這個方面必須與主治醫師聯絡,以討論停藥的適當方式。同時當然也會涉及到與病人及家屬進行審慎、廣泛及技巧性的溝通。

藥物療效的問題持續受到許多關注。長久以來,安寧療護一直就每位病人的用藥是否與末期診斷有關做出決定。聯邦醫療保險與與醫療補助服務中心(CMS)最近表示,希望安寧療護能在藥物療效、潛在的用藥相互作用,以及檢視病人的用藥是否與末期診斷有關等方面進行深入了解。CMS希望安寧療護團隊能淘汰對治療病人已經無效的用藥。事實上,CMS希望多數病人中斷與末期診斷無關的用藥。這種立場使得病人在剛入住VITAS以及在VITAS接受安寧療護的整個期間,對用藥資料的檢視更形重要。

VITAS會在團隊會議中檢視全面療護計劃,此項會議通常是每兩週進行一次。在這個檢視過程中,VITAS團隊的醫師及護士是主要的參與者,並協助團隊根據病人的病情發展,可確保療護計劃持續符合病人及家屬的需求。

再度證明

在護士及其他團隊成員的協助下,安寧療護醫師必須定期再度證明病人仍然符合且適合接受安寧療護服務的資格,並且就這方面撰寫一份醫師敘述。這表示醫師要再度證明,根據其醫學看法,在疾病正常的發展下,該位病人的生命將不超過六個月。

多年來,CMS一直在確保安寧療護醫師及主治醫師了解這種醫學看法並不是一門精準的科學。基於目前關注於入住時間較長的病人,即表示這個看法並未受到否定。雖然CMS逐漸注意到超過180天(六個月)仍然在接受安寧療護的病人之醫師所提出的證明文件,但是法律及法規仍清楚表示,必須靠團隊醫師的臨床判斷來決定病人是否可接受安寧療護服務,以及病人是否繼續符合條件以確保仍可接受該項服務。

我們的醫師不但提供卓越的照護,他們也非常通曉管理聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利的這些規定。他們遵守六個月的指導方針,甚至在最困難的情況下也堅持,例如非癌症診斷的情況。如同在其他的安寧療護領域中一樣,VITAS的醫師在這個領域中是業界的佼佼者。在此必須強調的是,VITAS在判斷任何已知病人的預後方面有著非常豐富的經驗。接受我們療護的病人中,幾乎90%是在六個月或更短的時間。事實上,約有半數病人是在進入安寧療護後的兩週內死亡。即使僅短暫接受安寧療護的病人,在其入住時的狀態記錄也極為重要。

VITAS的醫師在病人入住及再度證明時對於病人預後的判斷極具經驗。而且,在我們接受CMS的聯邦醫療保險管理合約商(簡稱MAC)對於病人適用資格的審查時,我們醫師對病人符合入住資格的決定總是獲得支持。作為此項法規審查的一部分,我們的團隊醫師及醫療總監定期在行政法官前就這些個案作證,以說明為什麼根據醫師的看法,這些證明或再度證明實屬恰當。

於2011年生效的一項法規,旨在確保獲得安寧療護服務的病人能繼續符合安寧療護的資格,即使他們已接受該項服務超過六個月的時間。超過180天還繼續接受安寧療護服務的病人必須由安寧療護醫師前往探視或面對面看診,並在後續的60天再證明期間再進行一次。換言之,對於這些不服預期且存活時間超過180天的「局外」病人,VITAS的醫師(或專科護理師)每隔60天即親自上門探視。在看診中,醫師/護理師會進行實際評估、決定資格適用性,並且在此次看診後對病人的醫囑進行任何變更。雖然面對面看診的要求會增加安寧療護的成本,但我們與我們的產業組織,美國國家安寧緩和療護組織(National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization),一致支持這項已提升大眾對我們服務信任的指令。

療護層級的改變

團隊醫師及護士在合規中扮演關鍵角色的最後一項與療護層級的改變有關。療護層級的改變與其他稍早所討論的醫囑非常類似。安寧療護團隊的功能之一,除了用藥管理、治療、提供用品及居家醫療設備之外,即是將病人置於正確的安寧療護層級。

較高的療護層級反映出病人的深度需求,以及家屬處理這些深度需求的能力。當護士確認病人的症狀無法在居家環境中由家屬妥善處理時,護士即可諮詢醫師,報告所見到的情形。醫師透過護士作為其「耳目」,可評估是否適用持續性居家療護(簡稱CHC),或一般住院療護(GIP)。這兩種較高的療護層級,任何一種皆提供病人及家屬加護服務以符合病人更具挑戰性的需求。

VITAS的教育性資料將不同的療護層級做出摘要,且在先前發表於VITAS合規網站(稱為VITAS的持續性療護)的一篇文章中,我們提供關於持續性療護及住院療護的更詳細說明。雖然每種較高療護層級的資格要求實際上皆相同,但是將病人及家屬對於這種較高療護層級環境的偏好納入考量十分重要。包括病人及家屬在內的療護團隊將決定選擇接受CHC或GIP。

長久以來,待在較高療護層級的病人通常入住時間較短。接受較高療護層級的病人之入住時間較短是源自VITAS臨床人員對掌控症狀的專業知識。VITAS臨床人員通常都能快速地控制症狀,並且讓病人返回「常規」療護層級;然而,有時讓病人適用於GIP或CHC的症狀也可能是瀕臨死亡的徵兆。無論是哪種情形,適用時,這些較高療護層級可減輕難處理症狀的「危機感」,並且讓病人及家屬在生命最重要的時刻能有高品質的相處時間。您會發現,醫師及護士在這些情況中的合作關係至關重要。

回到我們最初來時路

最終,在VITAS,正是護士及醫師間作為療護團隊成員經過多年的培訓及磨練所培養的合作關係,讓VITAS臨床人員能每天都將卓越的醫療護理提供給15,500多位病人。就是這種部分科學、部分藝術促成如此有效的組合。這也是部分技能、部分關懷的組合。

身為VITAS的護士,我藉由珍視這種合作關係而獲得成長。在本篇文章內,我大力提升這種為病人及家屬提供優質療護服務的合作關係之重要性。VITAS的醫師及護士提供最優質的安寧療護及緩和療護服務,且始終盡力維護我們病人的權益,同時也確保符合所有政府規定。

身為護理長,我特別要感謝每位護士/醫師團隊為我們所提供的服務帶來各醫療層面的努力。我們的護士及醫師群確實做出不凡的貢獻。我以這些醫師和護士以及所有我們奉獻的團隊成員,以及每天與我們的病人及家屬互動的辦公室/支援人員為傲。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
REQUEST INFORMATION

The VITAS Physician and Nurse: Partners in Compliance

By Karen Peterson, Chief Nursing Officer

The Medicare Hospice Benefit as defined by Congress in the 1980s is unique in that it emphasizes the role of the entire team in establishing the plan of care for a terminally ill patient. Those of us who work in hospice care recognize that this was a wise decision. It means that each member of the hospice care team brings his or her own unique set of skills and expertise to the bedsides of the vulnerable population we serve. Doctors, nurses, chaplains, social workers and hospice aides each do what they can while in a patient’s home. Our shared goal is to strike the right “balance” of compassion and skill.

Many of our peers are in awe of hospice clinicians—they admire our skill and compassion in working with patients and families facing terminal illness because they prefer to focus on rehabilitation and recovery. We hone our clinical skills, tools we have learned in our professional education, along with more subtle interventions we have picked up from mentors over the years. In all of this, we strive to palliate distressing symptoms of illness with that special VITAS touch that helps patients and families make the most of the time remaining with their loved ones.

We are a team, and our care is the better for it. However, this paper is intended to focus attention on the “medical” component of that team, and in particular, how the nurse and physician work together to assure compliance with hospice rules and regulations. At VITAS, this partnership is one of mutual respect and dedication to offering the best that medicine can bring to alleviate suffering. It is just one more way that we at VITAS put patients and families first.

Certification in Hospice and Palliative Medicine / Certification in Hospice and Palliative Nursing

“I am proud to make a difference” is VITAS’ fourth value, and it’s one that I believe resonates for hospice workers everywhere. VITAS professionals are proud to be part of a team that delivers quality end-of-life care, which almost all of our patients say they would recommend to their friends and families. We also know that the type of medicine that we provide at the bedside is a very different kind of medicine from the kind our peers practice and provide. While most physicians and nurses prefer to work in an environment in which the interventions they prescribe lead to rehabilitation and recovery, VITAS clinicians focus on the alleviation of suffering. And this is, in fact, “healing” in the best and broadest sense of the word.

As a nurse, I can tell you it takes a special kind of doctor to work in hospice. The idea of working on a team— being one component of a team as opposed to being “in charge” of a team”—would not be satisfying to many physicians. This makes our doctors unique. It also makes them the absolute best at what they do. I have heard more than one of our physicians say that they have learned as much by working alongside hospice aides, chaplains, social workers and nurses as they did in medical school working alongside other physicians. I believe it is this mutual respect among members of the VITAS team that results in the kind of care about which families express the satisfaction rating mentioned above.

Our physicians and nurses have also been recognized as having these unique skills by respected organizations outside of VITAS. In 2006, 10 of the certifying boards of the American Board of Certifying Specialties recognized Hospice and Palliative medicine as a sub-specialty and created new rules around obtaining this certification. VITAS is a strong proponent of the Hospice and Palliative certification.

A parallel certification for hospice nurses (and hospice aides) has been created by the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association. VITAS strongly supports this certification for these disciplines as well as a way to assure the highest quality care for patients and families.

Certification of Terminal Illness

And now we move on to a different kind of certification—the certification that a physician makes when a patient comes onto hospice. The collaboration between VITAS physicians and nurses who are in compliance starts, quite literally, at the moment care starts. The Medicare Conditions of Participation (CoPs) require the hospice provider to obtain written certification of terminal illness as care begins. Anyone involved in the admissions process will tell you this does not just mean that the doctor signs a certification.

The “certification will be based on the physician’s or medical director’s clinical judgment regarding the normal course of the individual’s illness.”[Medicare Conditions of Participation 418.22(b)] This means that the doctor will interact with the admissions team and the VITAS nurse to obtain enough information to determine the patient’s prognosis. The physician also oversees the establishment of the initial plan of care, collaborating with the hospice nurse to address the patient’s symptoms. In some cases, the certifying physician will need to make a house call to visit the patient, or call the patient’s referring physician, or review medical records in an effort to confirm eligibility or to best understand the patient’s symptoms that need to be addressed.

At any moment—24 hours a day, seven days a week—there is a designated VITAS physician who the admissions team can contact—and must contact—to provide this support as a part of the admissions process. It is only at the conclusion of this process that the doctor can compose the ‘physician narrative’ that technically meets the regulation referenced above. This process is a true case of form following function. Certainly the form (the physician narrative) needs to be completed, but the form is completed at the conclusion of the process that involves a great deal of collaboration as medical and nursing professionals assess the needs of the patient and family.

Reaching out to the Attending or Referring Physician

The initial certification process is only one of the times that the VITAS physician and nurse might need to reach out to the attending or referring physician. This communication may need to be facilitated at any point during the course of a patient’s care. The team will reach out to the referring physician to complete the initial certification process, as the referring physician also needs to indicate in writing that the patient’s prognosis meets the patient’s eligibility for hospice care, that in the physician’s judgment the patient’s prognosis more likely than not will result in death in six months or less if the illness runs its normal course. Sometimes it is the team physician and the attending physician putting their heads together that results in this conclusion or in changes to the plan of care that will make the patient’s last days and weeks more comfortable.

There are cases in which a patient does not have an attending physician of record. It might be a hospitalist or even an emergency room physician who made the referral to hospice, or the patient might not have established an ongoing relationship with a specific physician. Nonetheless, it is important that we establish who the patient prefers to have as his or her attending/following physician at the time of admission. This tells us who the patient wants us to get orders from on an ongoing basis. Whenever possible, we support this preference.

The physician the patient chooses to be his or her attending physician might not agree to follow the patient while the patient is receiving hospice care. Although the absence of an attending physician is not ideal, when this happens, the CoPs provide for the hospice physician meeting the medical needs of the patient. Sometimes this includes even the initial certification when various efforts to obtain the referring physician’s signature on the certification statement fail. In these instances, the hospice physician functions as both the hospice and the attending doctor, as set forth in the CoPs.

Determining the Terminal Diagnosis

For most patients referred to VITAS, the primary terminal diagnosis as well as any other conditions affecting the patient will be completely clear from the initiation of the referral. For other patients who are referred to VITAS, the primary terminal diagnosis is unclear at the time of referral. While these patients have a prognosis of six months or less to the best of the physician’s ability to judge, the underlying disease state that is most likely to contribute to their death is unclear.

These patients are correctly referred to hospice and appropriately admitted because they are declining and have a terminal prognosis. The actual cause of their decline may be unclear beyond the fact that they are dying. It might take a few days after the admission to allow for additional evaluation and medical-record review and even physician-to-physician conversation with the referring doctor before the hospice physician can determine the most appropriate primary terminal diagnosis. The clinical experience, judgment and teamwork of the hospice physician and nurse in this process are critical, and the physician’s role in establishing the primary diagnosis is an important step in supporting the development of the comprehensive plan of care. This process is an ongoing one throughout the patient’s length of stay on our service where the comprehensive diagnoses (primary, secondary, co-morbids) are constantly being reviewed, evaluated and documented accordingly.

Establishing the Comprehensive Plan of Care

The cooperation of the VITAS team physician and nurse is especially critical when the initial and comprehensive plans of care are established. As the hospice team gets to know the patient, ongoing feedback and IDG review provides additional information the team nurse needs to know in order to fulfill his or her responsibility under the CoPs to coordinate the various interventions that are needed to manage the patient’s symptoms. That first team meeting during which the patient is discussed is a key point at which the whole team is able to see the “big picture” as they review and discuss the comprehensive plan of care that has been in the process of being developed over the first days of care.

One of the most critical parts of this review–and this is one of those places where responsibility rests solely on the team physician–is the review of the patient’s medication profile. As we know, many patients come to us without their attending physician having had a serious conversation with their patient about what their disease really means in practical terms. So, for example, a patient might continue to take cholesterol-lowering medications, despite the fact that these drugs are of little or no benefit when dealing with a terminal illness. Do we continue providing medications such as Aricept where the primary purpose is to delay the progression of Alzheimer’s disease? These medications often have side effects and invite complications from which the patient should be spared. When faced with such circumstances, the hospice physician might consider discontinuing these medications so that challenging symptoms can be better controlled without the interference of ineffective medications. Sometimes this aspect of managing the comprehensive plan of care requires reaching out to the attending physician to discuss an appropriate strategy towards discontinuation. And it certainly involves a thoughtful, knowledgeable and skilled conversation with the patient and family.

The issue of medication efficacy continues to receive a lot of attention. Hospices have historically made a determination about whether or not each individual medication is related to the terminal diagnosis. The Centers for Medication/Medicaid Services (CMS) recently stated that it expects hospices to do more to address medication efficacy, the potential for medication interactions and reviewing the patient’s medications whether related to the terminal diagnosis or not. CMS expects the team to encourage the elimination of medications that are no longer effective in the treatment of the patient. In fact, CMS expects that most patients will not continue to receive medications that are unrelated to the terminal diagnosis. This makes the review of the medication profile upon admission and at regular intervals throughout the patient’s time on VITAS that much more critical.

At VITAS, the comprehensive plan of care is reviewed at team meeting, generally every two weeks. The VITAS team physician and nurse are key participants in this review and help the team assure that the plan of care continues to meet the needs of the patient and family in light of the trajectory of the patient’s illness.

Recertification

At regular intervals, the hospice physician, with support from the nurse and other members of the team, must again certify that the patient remains eligible and appropriate to receive hospice services and dictates a physician narrative to that effect. This means the physician again certifies that, to the best of his or her medical opinion, the patient will not live longer than six months if the illness runs its normal course.

Over the years, CMS has assured hospice and attending physicians that they understand that this medical opinion is not an exact science. This is not negated by the current focus on longer stay patients. While CMS is increasing its focus on the physician documentation supporting certification of patients who remain on hospice longer than 180 days (six months), the statute and the regulations remain clear that it is the clinical judgment of the team physician that must determine whether a patient is appropriate for admission to hospice, and whether or not the patient continues to meet the criteria to warrant remaining on service.

Our physicians not only provide outstanding care, but they are keenly aware of these rules governing the Medicare Hospice Benefit. They honor the six-month guideline and do so even when it is most difficult, such as with non-cancer diagnoses. In this area, like other areas of hospice care, VITAS physicians are industry leaders. It should be noted here that VITAS’ experience determining any given patient’s prognosis is remarkable. Nearly 90 percent of patients admitted to our care are with us for six months or less. In fact, about half of all patients admitted die within two weeks of admission. Even for patients on hospice for only a short period, the documentation of their status at admission is critical.

VITAS doctors are highly skilled at determining a patient’s prognosis upon admission and at the time of recertification. And, in instances when we are reviewed by CMS’s Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) regarding a patient’s eligibility, our physicians’ decisions to admit patients as appropriately eligible are almost always upheld. As part of such regulatory reviews, our team physicians and medical directors periodically testify before Administrative Law Judges in these cases to explain why, from the physician’s perspective, certification or recertification was appropriate.

A regulation put into effect in 2011 is intended to ensure patients receiving hospice services continue to be eligible for hospice even if they have been on service for more than six months. Every patient who remains on service longer than 180 days must have a visit, or “face-to-face encounter,” with a hospice physician, and again at each subsequent 60-day recertification period. In other words, for these “outlier” patients who defy prediction and happen to live longer than 180 days, a VITAS physician (or nurse practitioner) makes a house call every 60 days. During that “encounter,” the physician/nurse practitioner does a physical assessment, determines ongoing eligibility and makes any changes to the patient’s medical orders that are necessary as a result of this visit. While the face-to-face requirement is costly to hospices, we joined our trade organization, the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization, in supporting this directive, which has promoted public trust in our services.

Changes in Level of Care

One last place where the team physician and nurse play a key role in compliance is related to changes in level of care. A change in level of care is very similar to other physician orders discussed earlier. One of the functions of the team, in addition to medication management, treatments, the provision of supplies, home medical equipment, etc., is the placement of the patient on the correct level of hospice care.

Higher levels of care reflect the intense needs of the patient and the ability of the family to manage those intense needs. When the nurse identifies that the patient’s symptoms cannot be well-managed by the family in the home setting, the nurse can consult the physician to report what he or she is seeing. Using the nurse as his or her eyes and ears, the physician might assess that either Continuous Home Care (CHC) or General Inpatient Care (GIP) are appropriate to order. Either of these higher levels of care provides the patient and family with more intensive services to meet the more challenging needs of the patient.

VITAS education materials summarize the different levels of care, and in a previous article published on the VITAS compliance website called Continuous Care at VITAS, we provided a greater explanation of continuous care and inpatient care. Although the eligibility requirements for each of the higher levels of care are virtually the same, it is critical to take the patient and family’s preferences for the setting of this higher level of care into account. The interdisciplinary team, which includes the patient and family, drives the choice as to whether to receive CHC or GIP.

Historically, these patients have a short length of stay on the higher level of care. The very short length of stay for patients receiving these higher levels of care is the result of the expertise of VITAS clinicians at controlling symptoms. VITAS clinicians are often able to manage symptoms quickly and return patients to a “routine” level of care; however, sometimes the symptoms that made the patient appropriate for GIP or CHC are also signs of impending death. In either case, when appropriate, these higher levels of care ease the “crisis” of unwieldy symptoms and allow patients and families to spend more quality time at one of life’s most important moments. As you can tell, the partnership between the physician and the nurse in these situations is critical.

Back to Where We Started

Ultimately, at VITAS, it is the partnership between nurses and physicians, developed over years of training and honed as members of the interdisciplinary team, that enables the outstanding medical aspects of the care that VITAS clinicians deliver to 15,500-plus patients on any given day. It is part science and part art that make such an effective combination. It is also part skill and part compassion.

As a nurse at VITAS, I have “grown up” appreciating this partnership. In this article I have elevated the importance of this partnership in delivering care to our patients and families. VITAS physicians and nurses provide the highest-quality hospice and palliative care and remain advocates for our patients while, at the same time, assuring compliance with all government rules.

As Chief Nursing Officer, I especially want to acknowledge what each and every nurse/physician team brings to the medical aspects of the care we deliver. Our nurses and doctors really do make a difference. I am proud of these physicians and nurses and of all of the dedicated team members and office/support personnel who interact with our patients and families every day.