針對敗血症及敗血性休克病人的安寧療護

敗血症有別於其他的嚴重或慢性疾病,因為它的發展快速,通常會導致適合安寧療護的診斷。與敗血症相關的感染若未能迅速治療和解決,則通常在幾小時或幾天內即可擴散至全身並且急速惡化。病人一經診斷為敗血症之後便應立即通知安寧療護住院人員,因為此刻正是VITAS可以提供協助之際。

什麼是敗血症或敗血性休克?

敗血症是一種危及生命的病況,起因為身體的免疫系統對於感染的反應不足,這種情形可對身體自身的組織及重大器官造成傷害。大部分與敗血症相關的感染都是由細菌引起,但是也可源自黴菌、病毒或寄生蟲。原發性敗血症感染常好發於血流、肺部、腦部、尿道、皮膚及腹部器官等部位。

敗血症分為三個階段;如果必須轉介至安寧療護,則應該儘速行動。

1. 敗血症屬初始感染,它將啟動一種影響全身的發炎性免疫反應。如果能在診斷後的幾個小時內便及早開始施以抗生素、流質及支持性治療,則輕微敗血症患者多半可以康復。

2. 嚴重的敗血症可影響並且阻擾血流流至重要器官,包括腦部、心臟、腎臟等。它也可以在內臟器官、手臂、手指、腿部、腳趾等處形成血栓,造成各種程度的器官衰竭及壞疽(組織壞死)。住院病人中,敗血症是頭號殺手(34%)。1嚴重的敗血症症狀包括:

  • 呼吸困難
  • 震驚
  • 腎臟損傷(症狀為尿量較低)、肝臟損傷和其他代謝變化
  • 譫妄/心理狀態改變
  • 大量出血
  • 血液中乳酸水平升高

3. 敗血性休克是指當嚴重敗血症造成血壓大幅下降時所產生的情況。

醫生們仰賴各種因素及檢驗來找出感染源以診斷敗血症,包括體溫、心率、呼吸次數、血液/血小板計數、生物標記分析及其他的細菌培養/檢驗。

誰是敗血症及敗血性休克的高危險群?

有以下情況的病人較容易感染,包括:

  • 年幼或年長者
  • 患有慢性病或抗藥性細菌感染者
  • 因愛滋病、癌症治療、服用器官移植藥物、糖尿病或重大創傷而造成免疫系統減弱
  • 具有以下疾病者(40%住院病人)即適用安寧療護,包括末期癌症、心臟衰竭、晚期肺病(定義為休息或極少用力時出現呼吸困難,無論有氧或無氧),以及及連帶出現無法進行日常生活行動(進食、沐浴、穿衣、控制大小便、個人衛生)的失智症。
  • 心臟必須仰賴侵入性裝置,包括靜脈導管、呼吸管或心室輔助器者

病人及家屬不可不知的敗血症常識,及安寧療護可提供的協助

當醫師臨床認定病人的情況或疾病在其預期的發展下,預估生命期為六個月或以下時,病人便適用安寧療護。

然而,許多敗血症感染往往發生在已經患有重病、已住院、已住在加護病房的病人,或正從醫院治療中康復的病人身上。然而,老年人或虛弱的病人也許能夠成功獲得控制並出院轉為門診治療,但是之後由於隱伏性疾病的潛在影響開始持續漸進的衰退。理想上,罹患敗血症並在敗血症初期住院後存活的病人而現在正在惡化者應接受評估是否參與療護目標討論。這些討論的用意為找出他們對安寧療護的偏好。如果符合資格,安寧療護是這些個人能夠在家中接受的多數療護方式。

一經診斷為嚴重的進行性敗血症時,應立即通知安寧療護住院人員,因為當末期疾病的發展中出現潛在快速、進行式的感染,或病人的健康已經不穩定或缺乏抵抗力時,掌握時間將是關鍵要素。如果病人從敗血症中存活下來,則緩和療護可以是個處理長期症狀、控制疼痛及支持病人和家人的最佳選項。

以下有些建議提供給家屬及因為重症、住院或數種治療程序而面臨敗血症風險的病人:

  • 閱讀和分享 《考慮安寧療護:家人研討指南》(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families))
  • 立即表達您的心願:談談您的心願、寫下來並予以分享。 如果您是敗血症的高危險群患者,請務必在危機發生前將您對生命末期療護的願望及偏好記錄下來。決定當您面臨限制生命的診斷或可能致命的感染如敗血症時,您所希望或不希望的介入方式。當您完成醫療照護事前指示(例如生前遺囑或醫療決定全權代理授權書)時,您的家人、醫療服務代理人及醫療團隊即可順利做出關於生命末期療護的決定而無任何歧異或愧疚。

1Rhee C.等。《美國急症療護醫院敗血症相關死亡率的患病率、潛在原因和可預防性》(Prevalence, Underlying Causes and Preventability of Sepsis-Associated Mortality in US Acute Care Hospitals))。JAMA Network Open. 2019;2(2):e187571

致電VITAS,了解更多有關安寧療護以及緩和療護選項的資訊。

Español English

Hospice Care for Sepsis/Septic Shock

Sepsis is different from other serious or chronic diseases that often lead to a hospice diagnosis because of the speed at which it develops. If not treated and addressed quickly, a sepsis-related infection can spread quickly throughout the body and worsen, often within a matter of hours or a few days. As soon as sepsis is diagnosed, it should be brought to the immediate attention of hospice admissions personnel, because that’s when VITAS can help.

What is sepsis or septic shock?

Sepsis is a life-threatening condition that arises when the body’s immune system responds inadequately to an infection, a response that damages the body’s own tissues and major organs. Most sepsis-related infections are caused by bacteria, but they can also stem from fungi, viruses or parasites. The bloodstream, lungs, brain, urinary tract, skin and abdominal organs are the most common locations for a primary sepsis infection.

Sepsis is classified into three stages, and if a referral to hospice is necessary, it should be made quickly.

1. Sepsis is the initial infection, which sets off an inflammatory immune response that affects the entire body. Most people recover from mild sepsis if antibiotics, fluids and supportive treatments are started early, preferably within hours of diagnosis.

2. Severe sepsis impacts and impairs blood flow to vital organs, including the brain, heart and kidneys. It can also cause blood clots to form in internal organs, arms, fingers, legs and toes, leading to varying degrees of organ failure and gangrene (tissue death). Among hospitalized patients, sepsis is the leading cause of death (34%).1 Symptoms of severe sepsis include:

  • Difficulty breathing
  • Shock
  • Kidney damage (marked by lower urine output), liver damage and other metabolic changes
  • Delirium/changes in mental status
  • Excessive bleeding
  • Increased levels of lactate in the blood

3. Septic shock evolves when severe sepsis produces a dramatic drop in blood pressure.

Doctors rely on a variety of factors and tests to identify the source of the infection and diagnose sepsis, including temperature, heart rate, respiratory rate, blood/platelet counts, biomarker analysis and other cultures/tests.

Who is most at risk for sepsis or septic shock?

Some patients are more susceptible than others, including those who:

  • Are very young or very old
  • Are suffering from a chronic illness or a drug-resistant bacterial infection
  • Have weakened immune systems from HIV, cancer treatments, transplant drugs, diabetes or major trauma
  • Have underlying illnesses (40% of hospitalized patients) that would make them eligible for hospice care, including advanced cancer, heart failure, advanced lung disease (shortness of breath at rest or with minimal exertion, with or without oxygen), and dementia accompanied by any difficulty with activities of daily living (eating, bathing, dressing, toileting, personal hygiene, etc.)
  • Rely on invasive devices, including intravenous catheters, breathing tubes or ventricular assist devices for the heart

What patients and families should know about sepsis, and how hospice can help

Patients are eligible for hospice care when a physician makes a clinical determination that life expectancy is six months or less if the condition or disease runs its expected course.

Many sepsis infections, however, occur in patients who are already seriously ill, hospitalized, in the intensive care unit (ICU) or recovering from a hospital procedure. However, elderly or debilitated patients may be successfully managed and discharged to outpatient care to only begin a persistent and progressive decline from the latent effects of this insidious disease. Ideally, patients who develop sepsis and have survived the initial hospitalization from sepsis, but are now experiencing decline, should be evaluated for participation in goals-of-care conversations. These conversations serve to identify their preferences for end-of-life care. If eligible, hospice care is the most care these individuals can receive at home.

Hospice admissions personnel should be contacted immediately when severe progressive sepsis is diagnosed, because time is of the essence when a potentially rapid, progressive infection occurs late in the disease progress or in patients whose health is already unstable or compromised. If sepsis does not result in the patient’s death, hospice care may be the best option to manage long-term symptoms, address pain and support the patient and family.

Here are some tips for families and patients who face the challenges of serious illness, hospitalization or numerous procedures that put them at risk of sepsis:

  • Read and share "Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families."
  • Make your wishes known now: Talk about them, write them down, share them. If you are a patient at risk for sepsis, make sure to document your wishes and preferences for end-of-life care now, before a crisis arises. Decide what interventions you want and do not want if you face a life-limiting diagnosis or a potentially deadly infection like sepsis. When you have completed advance directives, such as a living will or durable power of attorney for healthcare decisions, your family, healthcare proxy and healthcare team can make decisions about end-of-life care without disagreement or guilt.

1 Rhee C., et al. “Prevalence, Underlying Causes and Preventability of Sepsis-Associated Mortality in US Acute Care Hospitals.” JAMA Network Open. 2019;2(2):e187571

Call VITAS to learn more about hospice and palliative care options.