請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
要求資訊

VITAS Healthcare的早期狀況

同於對美國安寧療護基金會之所述

1978年,兩位不滿現狀的教師開啟了安寧療護服務。這兩位教師分別是衛理公會的牧師Hugh Westbrook及身為護士的Esther Colliflower。他們於70年代中期,在南佛羅里達州的邁阿密-戴德社區學院認識,他們在那裡聯合教授一門人類性學的課程。

他們合作無間,喜歡共同講學;因此,他們決定再嘗試另一個禁忌話題:死亡。他們開發了一門名為「肯定生命與死亡態度」的課程,這個話題剛好吸引了具有同樣心態的專業人士。

「那次的經驗,」Hugh在2016年接受美國安寧療護基金會(簡稱HFA)的總裁兼執行長Amy Tucci訪問時,回憶當時的情形說道,「其實可以說是,我們認為光是教授這方面的知識是不夠的。我們不是實際的研究人員。我們其實是照顧者。」

意斯特·柯立佛勞爾(Esther Colliflower)
意斯特·柯立佛勞爾(Esther Colliflower),2004年

當時,Esther是位養育八個子女的護士,之後她重返職場擔任社區學院講師。Hugh擔任教區牧師近10年,包括曾有一年在杜克大學醫學中心擔任末期病人的靈性輔導師。

討論死亡與瀕死的會議

1977年,戴德郡心理健康協會(Dade County Mental Health Association)在費希爾島舉辦了一場討論照顧瀕死病人的會議,Hugh及Esther都前往參加。

VITAS有個廣為流傳的榕樹故事。甚至還有榕樹上釘著一張白色便條紙的照片。故事大意是說Hugh及Esther在費希爾島的這場會議中,將這個便條紙釘在樹上,詢問任何有興趣開啟安寧療護服務的人在此碰面。無論這個故事是真是假,它充分描繪出1977年安寧療護倡議者臨時起意的無限熱忱。

Hugh回憶他們當時找來的核心團隊:「我們的合作夥伴包括在退伍軍人管理局的一位社工;一位在當地醫院工作,曾經喪子的護士;一位因為罹患癌症必須接受根治性手術而切除手臂且因此完全改變他對醫學看法的外科醫師。我們聚在一起,開始討論這個想法:我們不再只是教授關於死亡及瀕死,取而代之的是嘗試建立一個計劃,能真正為末期病人提供特殊的照護形式。」

大家都不確定安寧療護是什麼,因此做了許多研究。Esther自行飛往加州馬林郡的一家安寧療護中心,以及聖克里斯多福一家由Cicely Saunders於1967年在倫敦附近所設的安寧療護住院病房。除照顧之外,這些機構為末期病人提供的郊遊及活動項目讓她大為感動。

「我想,這才是安寧療護!它不僅是生命末期療護,還是豐富生命的照護,」她在2016年時告訴HFA。「它不僅僅是回應身體上的痛苦。而是要對精神敏銳度作出回應。」

這個概念開始凝聚

VITAS歷史圖片1如果說她是受到改善生活品質的概念所啟發,她也同時發覺她偏好居家安寧療護的概念,遠勝於住院病房或安寧療養院。這個團隊的安寧療護概念逐漸凝聚,不過他們仍然繼續在摸索著。有一年的時間,這個由義工組成的小團體繼續見面討論。

「當時,對於安寧療護究竟應該是什麼樣子,每個人都有不同的觀點,」Hugh告訴HFA。「我們辯論過這些議題:

  • 我們如何組織起來?
  • 為了向末期病人提供另類服務,我們必須具備什麼?
  • 我們如何達到這些醫療及社會心理上的需求?
  • 如何處理家屬的問題?
  • 如何處理歷經沮喪及預想性哀傷的人、家屬及病人本身?」

有一天,在另一次的組織性會議中,Esther重拍著桌子,然後說:「大家聽著,我們要不就好好有一番作為,要不就停止這些對話。」 之後,她當場發誓將辭去她在學院的工作,並成為Hospice of Miami第一位不支薪的員工。1978年7月,他們照顧到了他們的 第一位病人,Emmy Philhour。

Emmy Philhour,VITAS的第一位病人
艾咪‧菲爾奧(Emmy Philhour)

「我們很幸運,」Hugh回憶道,「一位腫瘤科醫師轉介給我們一位已經接受癌症治療一段時間的病人,她經歷各種化療及手術、放射線治療等一切手段。她最後告訴她的腫瘤醫師,「我不要再繼續這些奪走我僅剩的生活品質的治療了,我再也不要到醫院去。我不想死在醫院裡。我想要待在家裡。」

從第一位病人身上學習到的經驗

「那是我們的第一次挑戰,」Esther說。「我記得我開車到她家,發現我們談了許多,但這是我們能有所付出的機會。很嚇人。Emmy告訴我:「我是末期病人,聽說有一群人正想要創立安寧療護服務。我會同意接受,如果你們能照顧我,好讓我不必回到醫院的話,我會教你們照顧好病人所必須知道的一切。」

這句話成為這家新公司的創建宗旨。如同Hugh所說,「我們必須從病人的需求中學習,並且聆聽病人的需求。我們的角色就是對此作出回應。」

擴大安寧療護團隊

Emmy僅活了一個月,她如其所願的死於家中。之後來了另一位病人。然後又來了另一位。Hospice of Miami基本上是「一次一位」地在照顧病人。他們增加了一位社工義工及一位護士義工,讓Esther成為義工團隊的經理,而Hugh則是行政管理人員義工。

當他們獲得第一次的補助金時,他們用這筆$10,000聘僱一位義工主任,認為這樣可以讓他們 招募更多的義工 為他們的安寧療護服務增添工作人員。

同時間,Esther開始規劃療護團隊應包括哪些人員以及他們的工作內容。「我們和第一位病人的約定,」Hugh說明,「是促成有個療護團隊的原因。這個團隊必須擁有所有必備資源以達到病人的需求。」

視病人及家屬的福祉為第一要務

Esther堅持病人及家屬必須是這個團隊的一份子。他們發覺護佐這個團隊成員,讓病人得以能夠待在家中、接受訪客、參加活動和改善生活品質者,將是最常進行居家探訪並且留在團隊內最久的人。對護佐的觀察結果受到團隊的重視,團隊也努力徵求他們的意見。逐漸地,IDT的組成及目的成為焦點。

「我們決定不要醫師擔任這個團隊的經理或主任,」Hugh表示。「醫師發出命令,然後大家就照命令執行。我們尋求的是一個團體,多半包括一位社工、一位護佐、一位義工、一位醫師、一位護士、一位靈性輔導師-來共同討論病人及家屬的整體需求,再和家屬及病人討論之後,才根據這些建立一個照護計劃。」

當他們發現有些安寧療護病人需要住院照護時,他們便著手處理這項議題;他們再次建立一個IDT方法,而並非讓安寧療護病人回到標準的醫院體制中。療護團隊成為安寧療護是否優良的關鍵所在。

VITAS歷史2

執照取得及聯邦醫療保險

Hospice of Miami的競爭者是居家醫療服務機構,他們在佛羅里達州極為普遍。有一度,安寧療護人員曾被告知他們必須取得執照才可提供居家醫療照護。

Hugh及Esther在了解到他們的IDT概念與眾不同並且需要政府的認可之下,他們與數位佛州的參議員會面以取得安寧療護及IDT的合法定義。

如Hugh向HFA所言,安寧療護是「一個機構,可由以下團隊成員提供具有以下目標的以下服務。」 在1979年,佛州立法院為全國立下第一個合法定義安寧療護內容的執業法規。

同年,聯邦醫療保險宣佈一項示範計劃。這項計劃將對全國26個安寧療護機構注資,以了解安寧療護是否能節省納稅人的錢。Hospice of Miami獲選代表南佛羅里達參加此項計劃。瞬時間,這個擁有遠大理想的小小安寧療護機構開始有了收入,讓他們能夠繼續實驗、探索和開發下去。

根據2016年Amy Tucci對Hugh Westbrook及Esther Colliflower所進行的訪談。訪談屬於美國安寧療護基金會(HFA)2016年版權所有。所使用的訪談內容獲得HFA許可。

閱讀關於安寧療護及VITAS的詳情

選擇VITAS達四十年

VITAS安寧療護的10項須知

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
REQUEST INFORMATION

The Early Days of VITAS Healthcare

As told to the Hospice Foundation of America

In 1978, two dissatisfied teachers started a hospice. The teachers were Hugh Westbrook, a Methodist minister, and Esther Colliflower, a nurse. They met in the mid ‘70s at Miami-Dade Community College in South Florida, where they joined forces to teach a course on human sexuality.

They made a good team and enjoyed teaching together, so they decided to try another taboo topic: death. They developed a course called “Life Affirmation and Death Attitudes,” a timely topic that drew like-minded professionals.

VITAS historical image 1

“That experience,” recalled Hugh in a 2016 interview with Hospice Foundation of America (HFA) President and CEO Amy Tucci, “led us to say, ‘You know, we’re not satisfied just teaching about this. We’re not really researchers. We’re really caregivers.’”

At the time, Esther was a nurse who raised eight children before she returned to the workforce as a community college instructor. Hugh was a parish minister for nearly 10 years, including a year as a chaplain for the terminally ill at Duke University Medical Center.

A conference on death and dying

When, in 1977, the Dade County Mental Health Association held a conference on Fisher Island to discuss care for the dying, Hugh and Esther attended.

There is an apocryphal story at VITAS about a banyan tree. There are even photos of the banyan tree with a white notice nailed to it. The story goes that Hugh and Esther posted the note on the tree during the Fisher Island conference, asking anyone who was interested in starting a hospice to meet there. True or not, it captures the seat-of-the-pants passion that defined hospice advocates in 1977.

Hugh recalls the core group they pulled together: “We worked with a social worker at the Veterans Administration; a nurse at a local hospital who had lost a child; a surgeon who’d had cancer and had radical surgery to remove his arm and changed his whole view of what medicine was about. We got together and began talking about this idea: instead of just teaching about death and dying, trying to create a program that would actually provide a special form of care for terminally ill people.”

Not sure of what a hospice was, they did lots of research. Esther took it upon herself to fly to a hospice in Marin County, California, and to St. Christopher’s, an inpatient hospice near London started by Cicely Saunders in 1967. She was inspired by the outings and events their terminally ill patients were provided as part of their care.

“I thought, ‘That’s what hospice is about! It’s not only end-of-life care, but enrichment-of-life care,’” she told HFA in 2016. “’It’s not just responding to physical pain. It’s responding to mental acuity.’”

The concept starts to gel

If she was inspired by the concept of improving quality of life, she also realized she preferred the idea of hospice care at home rather than in an inpatient unit or hospice house. The group’s concept of hospice started to gel, but they continued to feel their way. For a year, the small group of volunteers continued to meet.

“Everybody back then had a little different idea about what hospice ought to be,” Hugh told HFA. “We debated these issues:

  • How do we organize?
  • What do you need in order to provide an alternative for terminally ill people?
  • How do you meet those needs medically and psychosocially?
  • What do you do with the survivors?
  • What do you do with people who are experiencing depression and anticipatory grief, family members as well as the patients themselves?”

One day, during yet another organizational meeting, Esther slammed her hand on the desk and said, “You know, we’re either going to do something or we’re going to quit having these conversations.” And she vowed then and there to resign her job at the college and become the first unpaid employee of Hospice of Miami. In July of 1978 they cared for their first patient, Emmy Philhour.

Emmy Philhour, the first VITAS patient
Emmy Philhour

“We had the good fortune,” Hugh recalled, “to have referred to us, by an oncologist, a patient who had been treated for cancer for quite a while and had every kind of chemotherapy and surgery and radiation and everything else. She finally told her oncologist, ‘I am not wanting to continue all of these treatments that have taken away the quality of life that I had left, and I don’t want to go in the hospital, again. I don’t want to die in the hospital. I want to be at home.’”

Learning from their first patient

“That was our first challenge,” Esther said. “I remember driving to her house and realizing that we talked a lot, but this was our chance to produce. That was very scary. Emmy told me, ‘I’m terminally ill, and I hear a group of people are trying to start a hospice. My agreement would be, if you will take care of me so that I will not have to go to the hospital, I will teach you what you need to know about caring for patients.’”

That became the new company’s founding principle. As Hugh put it, “We had to learn from what the patient needed and listen to what the patient wanted. Our role was to respond to that.”

Growing the hospice team

Emmy lived only a month, and she died at home, as she wished. And another patient came along. Then another. Hospice of Miami was caring for patients quite literally “one patient at a time.” They added a volunteer social worker and a volunteer nurse so Esther could be the volunteer team manager and Hugh the volunteer administrative person.

When they won their first grant, they used the $10,000 to hire a director of volunteers, thinking that would enable them to find more volunteers to staff their hospice.

Meanwhile, Esther started to define who was on an interdisciplinary team and what they should do. “The contract with our first patient,” Hugh said, “became the reason there was an interdisciplinary team. The team had to have all the resources necessary to meet the needs of the patient.”

Putting the patient and family first

Esther insisted that the patient and family were part of the team. They realized that an aide—the member of the team who made it possible for a patient to remain at home, have visitors, attend events and improve their quality of life—would be the person who made the most home visits and stayed the longest. The aides’ observations were valued, their opinions sought. Slowly, the makeup and purpose of an IDT came into focus.

“We decided not to have the doctor be the manager or director of the team,” Hugh said. “The doctor gave the order and everybody carried out the order. We were looking for a group that would come together—a social worker, an aide, a volunteer, a doctor, a nurse, a chaplain in most situations—and talk about the overall needs of the patient and family and talk to members of the family as well as the patient, and then, from that, develop a plan of care.”

When they realized some hospice patients would need inpatient care, they tackled that issue, again creating an IDT approach rather than letting their hospice patients return to the standard hospital experience. The interdisciplinary team became the key to good hospice care.

VITAS Historical 2

Licensing and Medicare

Hospice of Miami had competition in the form of home health agencies, which were strong in Florida. At some point, the hospice people were told they needed to be licensed to bring medical care into the home.

Realizing their IDT concept was what set them apart and needing some kind of governmental recognition, Hugh and Esther met with several Florida state representatives to legally define hospice and the IDT.

As Hugh told HFA, hospice was “an agency that would deliver the following things with the following goals and with the following members of the team.” And in 1979, the Florida legislature made it the first licensing law in the country that legally defined what a hospice was.

That same year, Medicare announced a demonstration project. It would fund 26 hospices across the county to find out if hospice could save the taxpayers money. Hospice of Miami was chosen to represent South Florida. Suddenly, the little hospice with big ideas had a source of revenue that would allow them to continue experimenting, defining and developing.

Based on a 2016 interview of Hugh Westbrook and Esther Colliflower with Amy Tucci. Interview is copyright 2016, Hospice Foundation of America (HFA). Interview used with permission from HFA.

Read More about Hospice and VITAS

Forty Years of Choosing VITAS

10 Things You Need to Know about Hospice Care with VITAS