Patient & Family Hospice Testimonials

Testimonials are a way for family members and patients to share their VITAS experience with others who may be considering hospice care for a loved one.

All of the testimonials on this page were submitted through our Share Your Experience tool here on VITAS.com.

How was your experience with VITAS?

August 2020

5 stars

I want to thank the entire VITAS team for the wonderful service they provided for my mother, Milagros. Every single person involved was professional, caring, thoughtful, and guided us during this difficult time. I especially want to thank Dr. Nagy, head nurse Felicia, and Sandra in continuous care services from Team 142. Thank you. You made a difference.

Ignacio R.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

I am so grateful to the care you provided for my mom and our family. My mom passed away a week ago, peacefully in our home.

Nurse Mirlene was amazing; she cared for my mom as well as me. She always knew when I was having a bad day, and she would stay and chat with me and encourage me. The aide, Maria, was amazing as well. She taught me how to care for my mom. I learned so much from her. She was so patient with my mom. When I called the emergency number to report my mom had passed, the person on the phone was so kind. She offered sympathy but immediately asked if I was alone at home. The chaplain, Greg, came to our home that night. He was so kind and not rushed. He checked on all of us before going into my mom's room. He shared his own experience with us. He was at our home for hours, working with the funeral home, etc.

I am so grateful to everyone who helped us through the last few months.

Doreen D.
Palm Beach County, FL


July 2020

5 stars

Outstanding care by compassionate and knowledgable people. We could not have asked for better care for my father throughout his last 6 months with us. Every caregiver became friends, especially the PA, Helena, who became like family, and nurse, James, who stayed way beyond his shift to see us through the last hours. I highly recommend VITAS!

Cindy B.
Jacksonville


5 stars

The staff at VITAS were great. They took care of all my dad’s hospice needs. They kept him comfortable and his pain under control. He really loved the staff and told me they were all super. Every time he met a new staff member, he would say that they were his favorite.

I would highly recommend VITAS to anyone needing hospice. Thank you for the heroes you have been to my family and me.

Brian H.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

My father who lived with us started to decline after he had a stroke. We called VITAS to help us. They were absolutely wonderful.

Dr. Nagy visited him often and gave him great care. My father adored her. Lisa was my dad’s nurse and came almost every day to check on him. During the day, we had very skilled caregivers, and at night, we had the most wonderful LPNs.

Everyone we dealt with was so compassionate and answered every question we had. We highly recommend hospice to any one that needs help with a love one.

Gale K.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

I just wanted a place to let anyone needing hospice care know how kind, caring, compassionate, and loving VITAS was for my husband and our family. Thank you all so much from the bottom of my heart. We will never forget how you made a difficult time feel so loving.

Annie S.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

We could not have a more considerate, caring team. Maricel and Rhea treat my mom, Bernice, like family. They were our eyes, presence, and advocates when we could not be there due to “no-visitors” policy at her assisted living. My mom has gone up and down so many times, and they always support her and our family through these times with a smile, kind words, and compassion. Moshe and Dawei call to check on us often, and before COVID, Moshe visited my mom with singing, puzzles, and even took her to Hawaii through virtual reality. Dr. Raj is always available for questions or concerns we have.

Hospice is a scary word, but this team has made this a better journey for our mom and family because they are such a great team. We are so blessed to have them on our side. Thank you!

Tami M.
San Francisco


5 stars

I cannot thank the social worker, Keri, and my grandpa's nurse, Brenda, enough. Not only have they helped me through a time that I knew nothing about but continue to be my main support when it comes to the well-being of my grandfather during these crazy times.

Keri is not only his social worker, but someone that I can call and depend on to help me through every emotional step. Brenda, his nurse, has been my eyes and ears while I can't go see him at the retirement home. I trust his life in her hands.

Without these two during this time, I would be lost and scared for his well-being. With any issues, they call me. Even when there aren’t any, they call just to tell me how their visit went. I really hope that VITAS cherishes these two employees. VITAS was definitely the best decision I made—for not just my grandfather, but for me also. Words can never show how much I appreciate these ladies in our lives.

Crystal B.
Inland Empire


5 stars

My wife, Sandi, was diagnosed with small-cell lung cancer in November 2019. Scans and MRIs confirmed the cancer had rapidly spread to her neck, spine, hips, and both lungs. Immediate treatment with the most recently approved immuno-therapy, chemotherapy, and finally radiation therapy from December 2019 through April 2020 showed no cancer remaining.

Unfortunately, the treatments, as carefully administered and supervised as they were, caused too much collateral damage, and she was unable continue a follow up regimen of immuno-therapy. That began her first, and then a second stay at the hospital. The hospital advised to opt for at-home nursing, and with the reality that she would never recover any ground, we turned to our family physician, who has treated us for over 30 years. He urged us to contact VITAS.

VITAS explained the functions of at home hospice, and when the hospital and VITAS declared she qualified for hospice, we agreed immediately to begin palliative care at home. A sacrum wound acquired at the hospital required daily monitoring and treatment. At first, the concept of strictly medicating as necessary for pain and proactive scheduling to prevent agitation and ease withdrawal from a 60-year smoking habit of a woman with COPD seemed impossible. The almost daily changes in strength and dosage made it impossible for a lay person to properly administer a strict schedule of proactive treatment.

Enter an amazing parade of nursing professionals, Team 151. Richard was first arrive, and he set up the hospital bed and accouterments on that visit, gently examined, and treated the wound, and explained in some detail what to expect during the following days. He was confident, reassuring, and anticipated the questions most families of new patients often asked. I’m sorry that I can’t remember the names of all the RNs, LPNs, and CNAs. So that I don’t offend anyone by forgetting a name, I won’t mention any by name. The two exceptions are Richard who I mentioned earlier, and Meredith. Nurse Meredith Glassman and Dr. Leung were the leaders who day by day, either physically or on Facetime, kept detailed notes on Sandi’s declining health in order to adjust medication dosage or timing. Nurses on duty kept copious notes of every detail of physical changes, bodily functions, all medications, and any visible sign of patient discomfort.

Being unfamiliar with the practical uses of some medications, and the concept of palliative care versus healing care, it took some time for us to understand fully the absolute necessity for proactive rather than reactive care. My family and I were impressed by the attentiveness of the nurses and their obvious compassion for their patient. The chaplain services offered by Tim Lott were a comfort and resource for us. It was clear that Nurse Glassman and Dr. Leung have a history of hospice patient treatment, working as a team with efficiency and care; each patient receiving tailored treatment to ensure them the greatest possible peaceful and pain-free final days in their care.

Our thanks and gratitude to the entire VITAS staff. Sandi, wife and mother of three adult children, passed away 7/10/2020. Thanks to the VITAS staff, it was peaceful, painless and gentle.

Perry A.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

My mother was at Emerald Park in Hollywood in the memory care unit. The VITAS people were excellent. I only had to provide her meds. During the pandemic, I couldn’t see her for months until she died, the VITAS nurses called me 2-4 times a week to tell me they were with her or saw her, if she was eating (no), and I liked getting that information. It’s difficult, and I appreciated their keeping me up-to-date.

George L.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

The people I spoke with (Dawei, Moshe, Martin, and Yaya) have been very helpful and kind during the past month. I believe my sister, Ann, was made comfortable and had a good team of professionals during her last weeks of life.

Her residence staff told me that she was in good spirits on the last day of her life. I credit her VITAS team for this. I had the pleasure of dealing with two chaplains, Moshe and Martin. Each of them touched my heart with their kindness.

Amy R.
San Francisco


5 stars

All the nurses and aides that attended to my mother were kind, caring, and compassionate. Special thanks to Nurse Veronica, who has gone way beyond. She is a wonderful nurse and an extraordinary person.

Eileen T.
Palm Beach County, FL


5 stars

My family and I would like to commend VITAS for a wonderful job caring for our 102-year-old mother. I witnessed firsthand the genuine compassion and caring, first through palliative care, then through end-of-life care. The entire staff was supportive of family, and very knowledgeable. Though we did not directly require services of the chaplain, his weekly calls were comforting and uplifting.

Your organization should be VERY PROUD of the service you are providing, as you assist patients and families on this final journey. May God bless each and everyone for the selfless work that you do.

Marilyn L.
Northern and Central Illinois


5 stars

I can't say enough about this company and its staff. They really helped my mother pass nicely and helped me handle it. Plus they were the only ones that responded immediately, without jumping through hoops, when my mom notified me that she only had days to live. I am probably going to miss some names because there have been a lot of medical staff in our lives over the last month. Shout-out to Linda, Clare, Stephanie, Regina, Mahrlon, Emily, and others I simply can't remember. I went from a royal mess with high pressure to calm and accepting, peaceful myself, when the time came.

They kept my mom out of pain and comfortable. I only wish Mom had agreed to their services earlier.

Pegi A.
East Bay, CA


5 stars

Everyone was so caring and supportive. We are so grateful for the care and support that Kaitlin, Megan, Violeta, and Rick gave to our family. God bless you all. They were so good in communicating with us—just a great, great team.

Janie A.
Dayton, OH


5 stars

Allan gave an awesome presentation! He was very professional, informative, and took the time to explain the VITAS organization and its mission. Allan and Chrissa answered all the questions we had thoroughly, and they went over the procedures for my dad, who was in the ICU. We are thankful to Allan who made it possible for 10 family members to see my dad in his ICU room. The other family members present were also able to see a glimpse of my dad through his room from the outside parking lot. Appreciate all Allan’s effort in accommodating our family needs.

Joann E.
San Francisco


June 2020

5 stars

I had such a short time period dealing with VITAS, as my 95-year-old mother only had 4 days from diagnosis of COVID-19 to her death. However, in those 4 days,VITAS stayed in contact with me and provided excellent end-of-life care for my mother, as I couldn't be with her due to the pandemic.

Barbara K.
Virginia and Washington DC


5 stars

I want to reach out to you and praise our nurse, Maxine. She went above and beyond with the care of my father, Bud. I cannot express enough what a wonderful caretaker she is. She was so gentle and caring, and we wish she could have stayed with our family through this whole ordeal. No words can thank her enough for her kindness. She is our angel at VITAS.

Lori D.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

My brother had a stroke 10 years prior to his lung cancer diagnosis, so assessing his pain and breathing issues at the end was difficult. I was an ICU nurse, so the care itself was not difficult, but the confusion and climbing out of bed was hard to handle near the end, and I wish I had been kinder.

Kim, our nurse, was very informative and kind. Thankfully Patricia, our home aide, came the day before he died and recognized that I needed help and informed the team. The nurse who cared for him the last day was very caring and provided comfort care professionally and knew it was close. Thank you.

Alisha, our social worker, was an old friend from the hospital, and she was quite reassuring and spent time with me. Even Devon, the equipment transporter, was so kind and did a great job.

All in all, it was a positive experience, and I know I did the best I could for my brother with their help.

Kathleen M.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

I want to take the time to acknowledge an outstanding nurse that came to our home, Claudette. She cared for my dad, Willis. She has such patience and compassion, sang to him and told him stories. She is an amazing person and caretaker. We wish she could be with us full-time. It gave us peace of mind having her in our home. Thank you.

Lori D.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

Securing VITAS hospice at-home services was one of the best decisions we made. After my wife passed, I had and still have many regrets that I could have done better for her, going back to the day I met her, some 65 years ago. Everybody tells me I did great, but I am very critical of myself. One bright spot is that I choose VITAS in-home hospice care to take care of her during her last about three months. It comforts me that at least I did that right, and now, months after her passing, VITAS is still helping me with bereavement counseling.

They are great—they went and still go beyond my and my extended family's expectations.

Benjamin Z.
Chicagoland


5 stars

When my 98-year-old grandmother began her descent from stage 4 lung cancer, I just didn't know how we'd all handle things. This team of angels came to help us through.

The primary nurse Jennifer was the perfect person for us. And the team of daily nurse attendants I just can't praise enough. Her hygiene attendant Mel was amazing and my grandmother adored her! The last nurse Pauline, on the 1- 10 scale, was a 250! She absolutely made the last few hours of my grandma's time with us so peaceful and so stress-free. I cannot express the gratitude we all have for her, specifically her. God clearly knew who we'd need, and it was certainly her, to help us through.

Sincere thanks to VITAS and all the members of Team 148.

Joyce S.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

Thank you with all our hearts to the VITAS team, especially to Katie (nurse) and Jackie (aide) who took excellent and compassionate care of Dad (Jack) as he arduously fought his 20+ year battle with cancer while his wife (Kathy) of 50 years was right by his side and Scott (younger son) visiting frequently from GA.

Both Jack and Kathy and Scott commented how very well you treated them and met their needs with grace. Since we are 1,000 miles away (older son and family), we were so relieved and so thankful to have your very professional and trusting care of both Dad and Mom. Thank you!

May you, Katie and Jackie know that your care had such a ripple effect over 1,000 miles away! You honored Dad in his most difficult journey of all of life. As a family of believers in the Lord Jesus Christ, we believe this is not our home and we yearn to be with our omnipotent Creator and sin-bearing Savior, yet the suffering is a part of walking in His steps.

Thank you for easing Dad's suffering in his last days until his home-going. Both of you are precious gifts from our Lord and please thank your families from our family for all you sacrifice to serve with your talents and time. We praise our heavenly Father for you and may He bless you and shine His face upon you and give you His peace. Amen!

Lisa S.
Polk, Highlands and Hardee Counties, FL


5 stars

I had such a short time period dealing with VITAS, as my 95-year-old mother only had 4 days from diagnosis of COVID-19 to her death. However, in those 4 days, VITAS stayed in contact with me and provided excellent end-of-life care for my mother, as I couldn't be with her due to the pandemic.

Barbara K.
Virginia and Washington, D.C.


5 stars

We were given such a short period of time with our father, as his condition degraded so quickly. Thankfully we were able to have the services of VITAS in those final days, as they were respectful of my father’s wishes and also made sure he received exactly what he needed.

On top of the services mentioned, our caretaker Josh provided one of the most important things: ever: Time.

Josh recognized that my father’s passing was imminent and was able to get me, my siblings, and my mother all in the room, and within 90 seconds of him recognizing he was slipping, he passed. Because of Josh’s quick actions, we were all able to be right at his bedside when he passed, telling him we loved him. We cannot thank Josh enough for this gift.

Dominic L.
Pensacola


5 stars

VITAS nurses are absolutely amazing! Dad has been home with us 3 days now. Every single nurse we have been in contact with, whether our own or the night nurses, they have all brought us such peace. They are always reassuring us that our best is enough. They teach us how to do things and will continue to come out when we need them to teach us again. They ALWAYS make sure they have answered all our questions before leaving. They are all such a pleasure and a blessing.

God bless you all, VITAS nurses. God bless you continuously!

Elena G.
East Bay, CA


5 stars

VITAS Sacramento provided the most loving care to my husband you would only hope to imagine. All nurses and chaplain came to our home with love in their hearts and a smile in their pocket. I cannot thank them enough.

Barbara H.
Sacramento


5 stars

I want to let to know that from the very beginning of my dear husband’s care, the staff was wonderful caring professional. They cared for my husband and I and my family. They answered questions we had at any time. They were so loving to my husband to the end, and stayed and comforted me after he passed.

I thank you so much.

Faye H.
Seminole, Orange and Osceola Counties, FL


5 stars

We cannot thanks VITAS and the staff enough for all the support and love they provided us during such difficult times. Thanks to VITAS, my father was able to live his last moments comfortablly and without pain.

We want to recognize and thank from the bottom of our hearts certain staff members—we couldn’t have done it without all of you.

Shirly C.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

My 99-year-old mom has been in VITAS hospice care for some time as her health declines. Her care team has been outstanding. They communicate with me regularly, take appropriate medical actions, and truly care for her.

While receiving VITAS care, she has not had to be hospitalized—a sharp contrast to her time prior to this care. She lives in an assisted living facility that, rightfully, would send her to the hospital frequently—in part because her health provider, at the time, could not assess her in-home. Having VITAS medical providers available for in-home care has been vital to this success.

This has given my 100-year-old father, Mom, and me peace of mind. At her age, and with her severe hearing loss, hospitalization compounded her ongoing anxiety. In-home care also relieves my worry and exhaustion from spending days at the hospital to ensure she receives proper care, as the hospital does not know her baseline. Hospital staff was always amazed with her recovery, because they wrongly assumed that what they were seeing at admission was the most alert and interactive she could be.

Judi B.
Virginia and Washington, D.C.


5 stars

To the work team of VITAS Team 117,
To Dr. Frontela,
To the nurse Alfonso,
To the HHA Alina,
Very especially to the people of continuous care, integrated by Bettina and Michelle, who with special love shared with us the attention to my mother:

We want to recognize the excellent work they did with professionalism and dedication ... VITAS must see genuine health professionals in you.

Thank you for joining us. We are very grateful and will not forget it.

Odalis R. and Argenis G.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


May 2020

5 stars

From day one, Francis and Adrian were so caring, and we felt comforted. I did not realize how good hospice would be—they were wonderful!

Villoo H.
Houston


5 stars

I did not know initially what to expect when we were referred to VITAS for my mother. The comprehensive and attentive care we received over the past 3 weeks have been exceptional. The team consisting of the social worker, case managing nurse, physician, aide, and chaplain provided thorough and comprehensive care to my mom. I truly appreciated the amount of time the social worker spent with us every single time and his constant following-up to ensure we had the help we needed. The Chaplain we had also was personable and so compassionate. He met my mom where she was in her journey and gave her the spiritual support she needed with such cultural sensitivity, as well, and for that I’m beyond grateful.

I have nothing but positive remarks for the entire VITAS experience and am so thankful my mom had such wonderful care in her last days here.

Stephanei C.
San Francisco


5 stars

My mother came to live with myself and husband on April 27th, 2020. She therefore was taken care of not just by myself, yet also VITAS! She was very well taken care of by Team 216 and CC team! She went to be with Jesus on May 22nd 2020! May God Bless your team members, as they were very helpful and understanding through this! I myself could not ask for a more awesome team to help myself with my mom.

From my heart to your team, I thank you for all that you have done for our mother and family!

Theresa G.
Volusia, Flagler and Putnam Counties, FL


5 stars

My father had been in a nursing facility for 2½ years following our mother’s sudden death. His health had gradually deteriorated when he suddenly became very ill and was placed on hospice. We chose VITAS, and they quickly arrived and began caring for him.

Knowing he was a retired pastor and had lost his wife of 60 years a little less than 3 years earlier, they provided him with lots of spiritual assistance and music therapy to calm him. They kept my sister and me in constant contact with him and his situation. He fell unconscious and quickly deteriorated. I was far out of town, so I was told that he would not be much longer. I came as quickly as I could and arrived to him early one morning. I went to him, kissed his forehead and prayed 1 more time with him. He died 10 minutes after I walked in the room. The VITAS nurse prayed with me and was there for my grief.

I’m so thankful that these caring people were with him the final week of his life.

Timothy J.
Chicagoland


5 stars

VITAS took care of my dad for 9 months. They were patient, sweet, caring, and became part of our family. Both my mom and my dad really loved every member of Team 1718 (Sandra, Suzette, Felix, Lillian, Erin, and Dr. Kopitnik). When my dad passed, they mourned him, cried with my mom, and supported her in ways I did not expect.

VITAS also remains available for my mom for 1 year, which is an amazing benefit and very helpful for her. I saw how attached the team was to my mom and dad and I think they are simply the best.

Thank you, VITAS, for taking great care of my parents.

Darius A.
Seminole, Orange and Osceola Counties, FL


5 stars

My dad was in your care from November 2019 to May 2020. His team, consisting of Lakesha, Babette, and Dr. Mirza, along with the chaplain and social worker, were phenomenal. They were a part of our family—always there when I called.

My dad passed on, and it’s very difficult for me, but again, I am thankful for the team that was sent into our lives. Keep up the good work.

Cecilia C.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

VITAS stepped in as my husband’s Alzheimer’s was getting hard for me. Right away, he loved his “helpers,” and I loved the way everyone was so friendly—felt like I’d known them forever.

As things got worse, we had more help, and then his last week, the 24-hour care team was the best. I felt directed yet still in control. Even now, Ron’s been gone a little more than a month, and they are still there to help me get through all this, especially (Social Worker) Caroline C. My family all live out of state, but I feel like VITAS has become my family.

Daryl F.
Volusia, Flagler and Putnam Counties, FL


5 stars

As my father’s caregiver, I was struggling with his care. His primary doctor helped us get signed up with VITAS, and I have to say it has been a lifesaver in so many ways. Chella is the nurse we were assigned, and we absolutely love her. She is available whenever I need her and have never felt like I was a bother. She talks with me and always helps with any questions or issues I have with taking care of Dad.

She seems to always be one step ahead of me when it comes to his care and his meds. In this time of this virus going on, she comforts us, and her reassurance is so calming. She goes above and beyond all expectations. Between her and the wonderful Dr. Nagy, this experience with Dad has been so much easier to deal with.

Patti B.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

I have had hospice experience before with a different company, and personally and I cannot say enough positive things about VITAS. They truly were a godsend—answered my questions anytime, day or night. They were so loving and kind in everything they did taking care of my mother.

Donna J.
Milwaukee


5 stars

In honor of Nurses Week, I would like to take the opportunity to commend Nurse Chella M. for her exceptional and professional service. It is nurses like Chella that the world needs. Thank you for all you do!

Dania B.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

My mom has been under VITAS’ care for several years now. The members of her care team are all very kind, attentive, and responsive, not to mention knowledgeable and professional. We are especially blessed to have Gertha J. as our nurse. The care and attention she gives my mom is priceless.

We are so glad to have VITAS’ services. We highly recommend VITAS.

Tam E.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

How can I express my gratitude to all the VITAS Healthcare workers that have worked with my mom, Loretta. I come from a family of 8, and I may not mention all who helped with my mom’s care because I didn’t meet them all. There were more who helped my mom to have a quality and dignity of life. My sister would pass updates from the nurse, Elle. This was most important when we were not able to see her though out the quarantined days of COVID-19. Once my mom’s health showed signs of distress, you were on it. She was given great care and compassion.

April was so compassionate and answered all of our questions and made us feel safe in our mom’s progression. Connie helped two days. She gently explained our mom’s progress. She allowed our help when we wanted to partake in our mom’s care. She was the perfect one to be with us as our mom passed.

I thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all the love, care and concern you showed my mom. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Elaine O.
Cincinnati


5 stars

Before my wife’s need, I had had no personal experience with hospice. What I found in my hospice provider, VITAS, was a wonderful group of caring, compassionate people. They facilitated a comfortable and dignified passing for my wife.

I will forever be grateful to our VITAS team for the care and services provided to my wife of 60 years and me.

Bill H.
Seminole, Orange and Osceola Counties, FL


5 stars

I want to thank all the healthcare workers that have looked after my mom while she is in hospice care in my home. They have made a significant difference in both our lives during this extremely difficult time:

  • Dr. Szilvia
  • Nurse Felicia
  • Kenia, our current aide
  • Glenda, Veldi, Blandine, and all the other aides who have come out

Your compassion and dedication have provided us with more comfort than you can imagine. Thank you all!

Michelle L.
Broward County


5 stars

Lisa is my husband Ralph’s nurse. She is so knowledgeable, kind and considerate. She follows through with every request. If patients are lucky enough to have Lisa as their nurse, then they are indeed fortunate. Lisa is without a doubt the best of the best. Thank you, Lisa, for all you do for Ralph—we are so grateful for you.

Saralyn P.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

I am happy to acknowledge my family’s appreciation for the VITAS team that assisted my mother and family while at Alma Via, San Francisco, CA:

  • Dr. Raj
  • Sharon O., hospice nurse and team leader
  • Ikuko M., volunteer services
  • Ashir R., chaplain
  • Victoria C., volunteer
  • Stacy, music therapy volunteer
  • Kathryn, on SF switchboard
  • The two night nurses that came to be with us and administer care to my mother in her final hours. I am sorry I don’t remember their names.

There are no words to express the gratitude I and my family feel for this team of wonderful people. For two years while my mom lived at Alma Via San Francisco, Sharon O. and Chaplin Ashir R. were always available to my mother and my family whenever called upon. Ikuko M. found wonderful volunteers, Victoria and Stacy, to come in and be with Mom. Ashir R. would contact me before visiting Mom to get an update from me on her condition and what he could do for her. Ashir R. gave my mother great comfort through his words and especially through his singing. We will never know if she ever truly heard him, but he sang anyway, and with great gusto!

To all the staff that came to care for our mother and provide support to her and us, it will be something my family will forever be grateful for. Thank you for being so kind and compassionate.

Maria B.
San Francisco


April 2020

5 stars

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the entire VITAS Healthcare team that cared for my mother, Bertila, for the last 16 months of her life. It was very difficult to experience her steady decline during this time, and we could not have cared for her without the support, compassion and knowledge provided by the VITAS team.

Everyone that I dealt with shared their wisdom in a kind and compassionate manner. Thanks again to Dr. N., all the nurses (Annia), the chaplain (Rev. Gay), the bathers (Ariana), the social worker (Itzel), the 24-hour telephone support nurses, and the wonderful human beings that provided continuous care at the end.

VITAS provides an invaluable service to patients and their families.

Elisabet M.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

My comments are directed to the staff at the St. Augustine, Florida office. For many months, my mom has benefited from the compassionate care given by all who had contact with her.

Living 800 miles from my mother made it very difficult to physically attend to all of her needs. I thank God every day that VITAS came into our lives. From the palliative care to the end-of-life care, the staff was cognizant of not only the physical needs, but emotional needs that sometimes changed daily.

A phrase coined recently during this terrible COVID-19 pandemic is “Healthcare Heroes.” The healthcare professionals at VITAS are my heroes! Thank you all.

Sue L.
Jacksonville


5 stars

I reluctantly had to put my mom on hospice after her stroke left her with no ability to swallow food or water. Picked VITAS because we had used them before for my mother-in-law. VITAS was faithfully here 24/7 for 8 days before Mom passed away. I had so much emotional support from everyone, as well as keeping Mom comfortable.

I could never have done it without the VITAS care team.

Karen S.
Pittsburgh


5 stars

My mom passed April 2nd at the age of 96. Our family would sincerely like to thank the VITAS family for making her last few days extremely comfortable and affording her the care she so needed. We will always remember the great effort everyone made to assist her. Thank you again and again.

Tom C.
Connecticut


5 stars

I highly recommend VITAS in Peoria, IL. They provided excellence in care for my father in the nursing home and gave me peace of mind as I did not live in the area. They repeatedly went above and beyond and kept me informed as to his status and plan of care. I was fully included in making decisions in his care plan, and we worked as a team.

Beyond that, they showed him true compassion and treated him as one of their own, and I know his end-of-life care was the most comfortable it could be due to their efforts.

Jan C.
Northern and Central Illinois


5 stars

Brian G. has gone out of his way to keep us in the loop and to make his presence known and be available during this challenging time. We appreciate his efforts and his dedication to not only our patients but to all of us. You will not find a better employee or person. Thank you Brian!

Becki F.
Cincinnati


5 stars

My father started needing palliative care. It was a godsend. It was hard to get him out anymore to all his doctors' appointments, and there were many. Any call I made, someone was always there to help.

As time went on, he needed hospice care for his last months. I don’t know what I would have done without the nurses and CNAs, which some of them became friends. They were like a new family. They took amazing care of my father.

Diane H.
Volusia, Flagler and Putnam Counties


5 stars

VITAS took such good care of my mom. They found us through one of her hospital stays. I tried and tried to get her on hospice. She had COPD and AFib. When VITAS first contacted me, I was so relieved. Finally my mom would be given help to be safe and comfortable.

If something happened that I wasn’t able to handle, I called VITAS and they always responded very quickly. Any questions I had, they were always available to answer. Whatever my mom needed, they would take care of it. I felt very confident in them to help in every way.

I would highly recommend VITAS for hospice care. They’re wonderful.

Linda P.
South Jersey


5 stars

Words cannot express the admiration I have for the professionalism and care given to my husband, Myron R., by VITAS. Every need he had, including loving care, equipment, medication, and weekly visits by nurses and staff, were met unfailingly with cogent advice and no complaints.

No medical organization I have worked with (was a PT for 20 years) compares. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Marilyn R.
Virginia and Washington D.C.


5 stars

My father-in-law began receiving hospice care in September 2019 after being diagnosed with dementia and esophageal cancer. We could not have asked for more compassionate, attentive, and skilled caregivers. Our primary care provider, Heather, was quick to respond to our many texts for advice, supplies or visits, and was great at letting us know what was going on as my father-in-law’s condition gradually worsened and what to expect after he had a dramatic downturn in April 2020.

We were so thankful for the ’round-the-clock in-home care that was provided by an awesome team of RNs, LPNs and a nurse’s aide during his final week with us.

Wendy R.
Virginia and Washington D.C.


5 stars

It has been years since my wife died, and still I think of the women that came to my home to provide the excellent personal care they provided for my wife. Team 120 were all angels of mercy. I thank them all for the special care they provided for my wife and the professional guidance that helped me with getting through the loss of the love of my life.

Wendell W.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

My husband was under VITAS care for almost a year. During that time I got to know everybody on the team that was assigned to his case. Never before have I felt so supported—every single member of the team became part of my family! I truly feel my husband had the best possible care and I will always be grateful to VITAS hospice care!

Mary F.
Chicagoland


5 stars

I want to say “thank you” to VITAS Healthcare Team 142, Broward, FL. My husband was assigned to this exceptional group of dedicated professionals when he signed into VITAS Healthcare, hospice home care. I am most grateful to the following members:

Dr. Szilvia N. attentively provided him with the best home medical healthcare and comfort. I was very pleased Dr. Szilvia was my husband’s doctor, especially when other visiting home health professionals confirmed her dedication and excellent performance with other patients. Yes, Dr. Szilvia, I am very grateful for your dedication you gave my husband.

Second to none, I want to say “thank you” to Registered Nurse Gertha J. She is not just a dedicated nurse, but also a compassionate, intelligent person who visited our home with respect, providing, coordinating, and procuring all the services, medicines, pertinent home items, and anything necessary under the program for my husband’s comfort and quality of life. Yes, Ms. Gertha is an exceptional member of Team 142.

Mr. Georges E., certified respiratory therapist, was a complement to Team 142. His expertise and performance were essential to the quality of life and comfort provided to my husband by VITAS. Mr. Georges personally took care of making sure my husband had all the necessary equipment, air systems and supplies required to complete this difficult tasking. Thank you very much, Mr. Georges.

Also, I want to extend my gratefulness to Mr. Barry C., team leader; Ms. Liz F., social worker; Chaplain Ceasar J.; the Continuous Care nurses, the after-hour personnel and all the personnel in HME. Thank you to all the equipment personnel, especially Maria J., scheduler; Juliet; and all the technician/delivery drivers.

Thank you, VITAS.

Lourdes R.
Broward County


5 stars

When I was informed by the doctors that there was nothing else they could do and my father was going into hospice, it was a devastating event. Making a decision on which provider to choose was a huge challenge. Selecting VITAS among the several options at the time was not only the best decision, but a GREAT decision.

VITAS service and care ALWAYS went FAR BEYOND the most optimistic EXPECTATIONS our family could have had. VITAS cared for my father in the most professional, caring, and loving way. All of the, doctors, nurses, management, support staff, maintenance crew, etc. always went above the call of duty and the performance of a great business enterprise. All interactions, from responses to all of our concerns to a proactive approach at all times, were always flawless.

I cannot think of a single instance in which any member of the VITAS team did not go above and beyond anything we, as the family of the patient, could have expected.

Andres V.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

We had our visit with the physical therapist today. Her name is Grace S. She is the most amazing PT I have met. She was so professional and intelligent and caring. I can tell she was trying to put together the physiology of Mom’s neurological problem with the kinesiology and movement of her muscles. She is putting a plan together to help my father, who is Mom’s caregiver, that will help him greatly.

Nancy H.
Brevard County


5 stars

Since being in the care of my hospice team, I’m starting to really relax more. I’m understanding more about my disease, end-stage COPD. They give me great advice as to how to manage my pain, take my time when walking. If I need someone to talk to, l call my social worker; if things are not feeling right, they send a nurse to come check on me.

Thank you, Team 401—Daisy, Michael, David, Barbara—and all workers for VITAS in Dallas, Texas.

Kathy I.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

My mother was under hospice care for over 3 years. VITAS always maintained the highest level of interest and compassion for my mother. They communicated several times per week with updates. They have been more than supportive and caring. Would have been lost without them. Thank you!

Jane S.
Milwaukee


5 stars

We switched to VITAS from another agency that we had a very negative experience with. Our nurse, Carly, was AMAZING! She was so patient and caring and included the family in all discussions and helped to prepare us for our grandmother’s passing.

I would highly recommend VITAS to anyone who is needing at home services for their loved one. Thank you!!!

Erika D.
East Bay


5 stars

I would like to say “thank you” to nurse Stephanie and CNA Leslie who have been very polite and taking great care of my father. Both have cleaned up after themselves once the care has been done and even took their time to introduce themselves to my dog, Scooby, who stopped barking.

Sandra W.
Seminole, Orange and Osceola Counties


5 stars

I cannot say enough positive things about our experience with VITAS. Everyone took wonderful care of my father. The care and attention were phenomenal! The chaplain provided much needed spiritual support. He was there when my father passed away and stayed to console our family. He was absolutely AMAZING!

We highly recommend VITAS! Thank you all for your services! You made a difficult situation much more bearable by taking care of all of my father’s needs! We are forever grateful!

Mylene H.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

When my father became terminally ill, we chose you to care for him. We were so grateful for the wonderful care he received until the end. When my mom became terminally ill, we were once again grateful for the wonderful care.

Julie S.
San Antonio


March 2020

5 stars

My mother just passed at VITAS hospice in Lecanto, Florida. The staff was very caring and respectful of my mother and my family. We are so grateful that my mother’s last days were in this loving and beautiful place and we were able to be with her to the end. Thank you.

Angela D.
Citrus and Nature Coast


5 stars

My dad passed away on March 18th. His VITAS team cared for him for well over a year. I cannot say enough about them and the wonderful care they provided.

There are no words to express my gratitude to Carolyn (nurse), Mary (nurse), and Steve (chaplain) for their care and support to me during the last few days of Dad’s time here on earth. I have to also thank the nurse’s aides for their special care, too, especially the last day of his life. The last two days of Dad’s time here on earth were made much easier for him and for me thanks to this wonderful group of people.

Thank you and may God continue to bless this organization and this special team.

Gina V.
Brevard County


5 stars

My mother was in a memory care facility. As she was slowly slipping away, the staff at VITAS became involved. They helped in so many ways with the extra care she needed. I would recommend them highly for anyone who needs help and comfort.

Jonathan W.
Jacksonville


5 stars

I will always be grateful for the compassionate and loving care the VITAS team gave my beautiful wife Carla during her final days. In addition, they have continued to provide wonderful grief support to me during these very difficult days since her passing. I cannot recommend them highly enough. I will always be grateful!

Don S.
San Antonio


5 stars

I used your service in January 2000 for my husband. We lived in Cleburne, TX. He was terminal with a liver disease. He did not want to go to a nursing home. Your people came and explained what kind of care was needed and what you could provide—told me that anything I needed, to call, available 24/7, and what could be done to stay humane in all decisions and care. Everything you offered was given, all needs met beyond my expectations.

When the time came that I could no longer care for him at home, you found a place for him. You made all the arrangements for transferring from home to the nursing home. He was alert and knew what was happening. He agreed. I found that you were there for me during that week. It was the last week of his life. He slipped into a coma in 4 days there and died peacefully on Friday that week. I was able to stay with him at the facility.

You came when he died through the snow and ice storm. We prayed together as ultimate healing had come. It was so precious and caring care. The chaplain called and checked on me several times before he died. He also followed up a year later to see how I and the family were doing. As a nurse, I was able to be a wife in this time. Someone else became the nurse—I was a caregiver, there is a difference as his wife.

I will never forget what happened this last month of his life. I don’t remember your names that came, but you were the greatest. I recommend this organization to many. I have faith in their care, genuine concern for the patient and all family members.

Sharon R.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

I would like to thank VITAS, and especially Team #310. The incredible work everyone did—throughout the week and the 24-hour observation of my mother until she passed away—and staying and supporting me with the grief, I greatly appreciated that. Thank you so much.

Paul G.
Palm Beach County


5 stars

My experience with VITAS was wonderful. They made my brother feel comfortable in his last days. I was very impressed with the women that came to the house. They were very helpful to me and my brother—such a good program.

Torosa D.
Broward County


5 stars

I would like to thank VITAS for sending two angels to help us with our mom. Their names were Mabel and Joann, and they were so kind and gentle with our mom; they treated her like their own mom.

It was a very hard time for us, but we had our angels. I will never forget them. God bless them.

Steve B.
Inland Empire


5 stars

Just wanted to let you know how wonderful your staff was during our time of need. They provided palliative care for my mother through her last days, and I couldn’t have asked for a better group of care givers. It is really great to see such services being available for those in need!

Brent S.
Orange County


5 stars

My aunt was at VITAS in hospice. The facility was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. After her passing, the staff continue to reach out to me with support. Thank you, VITAS staff.

Linda G.
North Jersey


5 stars

I am infinitely grateful to VITAS, with Team #117 in Hialeah. They gave us very good help in the last days of my children’s grandmother and all the staff were like my family. Thanks, VITAS.

Victoria G.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

Kris, the admission nurse, was so helpful and gave us all the information needed for my brother. She did a great job.

Javelo A.
San Francisco


5 stars

The care provided by VITAS was “over the top” as my mom would say. My family was so very pleased with the hospice service provided. VITAS truly provided 24/7 care — answered, questions, solved issues, provided resources — whatever was needed, when it was needed. Most importantly, the staff cared for my mom with compassion and love, giving us such comfort during a difficult time. We are so appreciative and grateful!

Kathy E.
Milwaukee


5 stars

Everyone affiliated with VITAS was amazing, but one person was most definitely a gift from God. Max J, Dad’s LPN for the final 3 days of his life, was the most kind, gentle, caring nurse I’ve met. He made Dad’s last days comfortable for all of us, especially for Dad. The loving way he took care of Dad was so touching.

I wasn’t there when Dad passed today, but knowing Max was there made my leaving a little easier. This man is an angel on earth sent by God to ease your loved one’s transition. I can’t imagine a better person for the job. Sending hugs and grateful thanks to Max.

Jill T.
Lake and Sumter Counties


5 stars

Words cannot express the way my husband was cared for by the Hospice Team 233. Dr. Lee, Teresa, Rene, Marlena, Kimberly, John, Jim and Robbie were not only professional, but kind and caring of my husband, my special needs daughter and our family. They worked tirelessly to keep my husband pain-free, clean and extremely well-cared-for round the clock.

Our family can’t thank this team enough and are hopeful they will be recognized for their dedication to perform the duties with care and respect. Our expectations were exceeded in every way, and we thank them for getting us through the toughest moments of this process. Thank you, Team 233!

Jean A.
Polk, Highlands and Hardee Counties


February 2020

5 stars

Thank you a million times, VITAS. I brought my 92-year-old mother who is on hospice care to see my new place in Fort Lauderdale, and you made mom and I feel at home. I cannot say enough how much I appreciate the personal care you showed us.

I got mom back home to Ohio in January. She made it about a month more. We made great memories while we were here in Florida. Your kind attention made it happen.

Anthony M.
Broward County


5 stars

VITAS Team 199 sprang into action right away after my grandmother received approval on December 28, 2019 to receive their care. Nicolette first visited with my grandmother on December 29, 2019 quickly communicating my grandmother’s condition with the VITAS doctor and my grandmother’s nursing home primary doctor, ensuring she received the care she needed. Nicolette explained details to our family so we could understand medical information about my grandmother. Chaplain David was truly God-sent because he arrived on December 30, 2019; providing support, prayer and singing a song to comfort to our family. VITAS provided needed crisis care by providing around-the-clock nurses to ensure my grandmother was comfortable, clean and free of pain.

I cannot express enough how much our family appreciated what Nicolette, Mitchell and Chaplain David did to help us through the process of my grandmother’s final days on Earth before she passed away on January 14, 2020. Finally, I also appreciated how both Chaplain David and Mitchell remembered mama and how she recovered while in VITAS care in 2016. Thank you again and God bless.

Silver C.
Seminole, Orange and Osceola Counties


5 stars

We lost our father about a month ago, and the team at VITAS made the process so much easier than it could have been. From the time a family friend referred us to them, they were there holding our hands every step of the way and cared for my dad like we did, with love and support.

I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to have them along the way to assist in making the transition home so easy for our family, and especially so easy on my dad. He was a great man and deserved so much more, I’m truly thankful VITAS was able to give us the aid we need to make his final wish truth, and come home to be at peace! Thank you, VITAS!

Kevin B.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

My grandmother was only on hospice for approximately 4 days, but the service provided by this company was something I will always be grateful for. The nurse who came every day to check on us was so helpful with explaining things, answering our questions and just providing support. The social worker who came was so amazing at giving suggestions on what to do and how to handle certain situations. She was so kind to ask about my grandma and genuinely seemed like she wanted to hear the stories about her life.

The chaplain also came the day my grandmother passed away. She arrived a few hours before it happened, and I can tell you her timing couldn’t have been more perfect. She led our family in prayer along with singing a few hymns to help “soothe” us as we sat at her bedside. Her voice was incredible, and the comfort and compassion she showed will be something I will always cherish. I know my grandfather especially appreciated her visit.

To all the staff that came to care for my grandma and provide support to her/us, it will be something my family will forever be grateful. Thank you for being the kind, compassionate people that you are.

Samantha R.
Fairview Heights


5 stars

I’m finally leaving my feedback 3 years after my mom’s passing. This has been a hard, troubling journey as she was my best friend. On June 21, 2016, I had to say goodbye to my beautiful mother. The VITAS employee was very compassionate with me, and I will never forget how she made me feel on the darkest day of my life. I would like to thank her and thank you all as well. She really made a difference on that day for me.

Veronica G.
Los Angeles and Ventura Counties


5 stars

Please extend our graciousness to all of the VITAS caregivers who have cared so kindly and professionally to our matriarch.

Sheila S.
Virginia and Washington, D.C.


5 stars

The providers were all so special, knowledgeable and kind. I’m not sure how I would have gotten through the days before my mom's passing. Thank you all so very much for your compassion and dedication to such a difficult job.

Kimberley D.
Fairview Heights


January 2020

5 stars

No words can express the extreme gratitude we have for our mom’s team. Ara, who is an angel, went above and beyond the call of duty—so kind, loving and very helpful in every way. Mom loved her visits and enjoyed her sharing pictures of her family. We will miss having Ara in our home. Chaplin Ed is so kind and understanding—so pleasant to speak to. To the off-duty nurses who came in a few times, thank you. We miss our mom so much! From the bottom of our hearts, thank you for giving our mom the best care.

Robin S.
East Bay


5 stars

VITAS was a shining light in the dark tunnel of seeing my dearest wife’s life ending. I really have no words rich and expressive enough to convey my gratitude for what they did for us, all of them, from top to bottom. They do a great job in a field that must be very hard to work, they have and gave the greatest of humanity and empathy I could expect, and then some.

Choosing hospice care and VITAS to deliver it was one of the best decisions I made, period.

Benjamin Z.
Chicagoland


5 stars

I would just like to recognize and thank VITAS Healthcare and the awesome nurses who cared for my mother in her final days. From Sandra, Theresa and Ibrina to the awesome Chaplain Myron—they were the most caring and wonderful nurses I’ve witnessed in my long career as a medical professional. I felt so blessed.

Sharon S.
Houston


5 stars

Team 235 was a godsend durning my sister’s last days. VITAS became family. Team assistant Christina and Brandi are two amazing young ladies. Brandi always went above and beyond for my sister and our family, no matter the need. If she didn’t know an answer she didn’t stop until it was found. Team 235 assistant Christina became not just a friendly voice on the other end of a phone, but a true friend. She never became impatient with any of our needs or my sister’s phone calls. I would ask my sister, “Who are you calling?” and she would say, “My friend Christina.” She had a way of always making her feel at ease.

VITAS is an amazing company, and you couldn’t ask for better service. They don’t just hire employees: They hire individuals who are truly passionate about what they do. Brandi and Christina, my family will forever be grateful to you ladies. No words could ever say what you have given of yourself to another. Thank you, VITAS. Thank you, Team 235.

Kelly L.
Polk, Highlands and Hardee Counties


5 stars

I want to give a special thank-you to the aide that spent 4 days over Christmas with us. My husband lost his battle with cancer December 27. Joy was her name, and she was so full of love and compassion. My family welcomed her into our home with love, and my last moments with my husband she guided me through. Thanks, you all—as a nurse myself, I felt so much compassion from the nurses and aides.

Teresa G.
Houston


December 2019

5 stars

Thanks a million to the entire VITAS team. We appreciate the personal concern everyone has shown my family. You have been so kind and caring that we have felt right at home while here in Broward County.

Anthony M.
Broward County


5 stars

My brother was there only overnight, but the social worker kept me informed of his care. He died the next day, and she was very helpful to me in making the decisions. I just received a commemorative letter recognizing his service to his country. This meant so much to me and my husband. It is wonderful to have such caring people. Thank you.

Maryann T.
Philadelphia


5 stars

The VITAS team showed us kindness and all the team members were personally concerned with my mom's well being. Thank you so very much VITAS.

Anthony M.
Volusia, Flagler and Putnam Counties


5 stars

Kris did a great job. He went above and beyond. Everyone was kind and treated me and my family with love and respect.

Juan V.
San Diego


5 stars

Just wanted to thank everyone who took care of my husband. They made him very comfortable during his passing. Thanks to all the wonderful night nurses and day CNAs and also the nurse in charge. You were so wonderful to me.

Christine W.
Brevard County, FL


November 2019

5 stars

My mom was a resident of Penney Retirement Community in Penney Farms, Florida. When it became apparent that she was losing her grip on life at age 96, I was referred to VITAS out of Jacksonville. From the first intake staff member, to her team nurse Kim, to the staff I spoke to when we had a problem, and the nurses that responded to our needs, I was so impressed with the efficiency and caring that I witnessed.

When a change in medication was needed, the doctor on call would always be available to the nurse making the request. When someone needed to come out and evaluate the situation, someone always came, whether it was Kim during the day or the nurse on call. Even though we did not take advantage of personnel to come and bathe her, since her caregivers at her facility wanted that privilege, it was nice to know it was offered.

Thank you, VITAS, for making the last 2 months of my mom’s life more comfortable.

Nancy E.
Jacksonville


5 stars

My father was under the care of your hospice for a few days and passed away this past Saturday afternoon. The tender and loving care from Polly and the chaplain and the hospice RN was above excellent—so appreciated in our time of grieving. Thank you so much for taking such loving care of my daddy in his last moments.

Elisabeth T.
Los Angeles and Ventura Counties


5 stars

Office 709 providers went above and beyond in all areas! They were so kind, professional, knowledgeable, and genuine! My grandpa was Ronald J.

Jill C.
Chicagoland


October 2019

5 stars

My mom was in need of hospice care, and I could not have asked for a better choice than VITAS. So caring, compassionate. From the chaplain to the nurses to the front office. Awesome people.

Sandra S.
San Diego


5 stars

My family and I became part of the VITAS family last week for my uncle, who could not overcome his age and health issues while at Medical City Arlington. Irene, Admissions Nurse and Angel on Earth, could not have been more helpful and caring for us all. The hospice experience is not something anyone wants their loved one to have to do because we never want to say goodbye, but Irene and VITAS made a difference in the life of our loved one and our family that made the end of life peaceful and painless and comforted us all throughout. Cannot thank you enough...!

Jacqueline F.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

My husband was under continuous care for 12 days, and every single person that came to care for him was extremely competent and compassionate. The nurses are all truly angels. The case workers and the doctor were very informative, helpful and compassionate, as well. I am truly grateful to have had this wonderful organization assist me and my family in our time of need. The end of my husband's life would have so much harder without them. Thank you all so much for your love, compassion and commitment. You are truly providing a great service to this community.

Vickie S.
Treasure Coast


5 stars

We wanted to move my wife home from the hospital. We turned to the VITAS organization associated with the Sentra Hospital, Woodbridge, Va. The contacts were in the hospital, so discussing the services VITAS provides was very easy. Once the decision to move my wife from the hospital, VITAS literally took it from there. The hospital contacts keep me informed. Transportation, the bed in our home, home health aides and nurses were all arranged.

Although my wife passed quickly, the services that were provided were excellent, in particular, the access to nurses. Several times in the middle of the night I called, and a nurse came to the house to observe my wife's condition and to answer my questions. This was very typical of the support I received. Without the access to the nurses and their hotline, I would have been lost. Thank you so much for the care you provided my wife and me.

Bing H.
Virginia and Washington D.C.


5 stars

When my mom was in the hospital and not doing well, one of the doctors suggested we meet with a doctor from VITAS. We did, and he felt that we were not ready yet for their services; he said we'd know when we were ready. A week later, we contacted them and put her into VITAS hospice care. She passed after a couple of weeks, but the staff took us through all of the phases of what was going on and what we were going through. They were so compassionate and caring up to and after she passed. They have contacted me in the month since she passed a couple of times to see how I am doing and to ask if I need any of the grief services that they provide. Needing hospice is not a fun thing, but they definitely make this sad journey easier.

Randy K.
Broward County


5 stars

I had to put my aunt on hospice after her body was not strong enough to handle dialysis anymore. So I called VITAS to help me through the process. I have never been in that kind of situation, so obviously I was very nervous and not sure what to expect, and felt very alone in the situation. But after calling VITAS, everything changed. They did an awesome job at sending me the right people at any time I needed. So I felt some support that allowed me to make it to the end.

They were very informative on the phone, and in person as well. Camille was an excellent nurse – so caring, so informative and patient. Meagan was wonderful on her visit to provide information and brought me educational brochures for future use. Emily, can't say enough about her – she was full of kindness, experience and knowledge. Never seen anyone bathe and tend to a sick person with such an ability and kindness. Really, everyone was just excellent. I would recommend VITAS Healthcare to anyone in need of medical help with their loved ones... Call them and tell them your situation, and they will tell you how they can help, it's an excellent service provider. Thank you, VITAS, for all you did to make my aunt’s departure smooth and my dealing with the matter easier. God is good and knew who I needed.

Patricia W.
Houston


September 2019

5 stars

On behalf of our family, we want to extend our sincerest thanks to Team #1163 for having been so unbelievably and incredibly kind with my father during his last moments. The CNAs, the nurses, the doctors, the chaplain – everyone gave us their very best, not only in caring for my ailing father but also in caring for my mother, who most certainly needed support.

My father passed away with love in his heart and joy in his soul, of this we are certain. Thank you again and may God always give your employees the fortitude and grace to do such important work.

Yvonne C.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

Our family is forever grateful to the VITAS staff members who came into our home to care for my husband.

Each person you chose was outstanding and we will always remember the love and compassion they all shared with us during this difficult time. May God bless all of you always!

Joyce P.
Palm Beach County


5 stars

We had the pleasure of working with team 937. Jan and her team came to us during a very hard time. They all came together to make our journey easier. They held our hands literally and figuratively throughout the last days of my baby boy's life. They knew when we needed them and also when we needed to be alone. Jan, Carly, Connie, John, Suzanne, Peggy and all the therapists that came by, they all became part of our circle. They were and are the people we turned to for everything we need. From healing my son's wounds to playing music for him and my daughter, they thought of everything. While I wish we were never in this position, I cant imagine not having this team with us, we are so grateful and feel blessed to have had all of them by our side, guiding us.

Ericka L.
Orange County, CA


5 stars

I would like to thank VITAS for the care they provided my wife and I in her last days. The whole team was very caring and treated us with dignity and respect. I would particularly like to thank Bill D., Kathy L., and Chaplin John for all the care and comfort they provided us. They were excellent people to work with at this time of stress. I also have praise for the on-call nurses who came in the middle of the night and weekends. Also the very courteous drivers who delivered the medical equipment.

Steven P.
Chicagoland


5 stars

I wanted to thank the VITAS team who took care of my mother, especially the nurses who were with her 24/7 during her last days. Everyone at VITAS was very professional and caring, and their communication and attentiveness was very much appreciated. Thank you again for your help and support during a difficult time.

Evelyn L.
Broward County


August 2019

5 stars

I was reluctant to sign my dad up for hospice care. Since he resided in a nursing home, I didn't think it was necessary. He was on 24-hour comfort care for 3 days before he died and I don't know how I would have managed without the help of VITAS nurses, aides, and the chaplain. Since there was always someone with him, I could step out for a meal, or leave to get some sleep. They advocated for us and made sure Dad received his pain medications on time. The chaplain prayed with us and brought a song Dad would enjoy. VITAS helped make Dad's passing peaceful and pain-free.

Lisa H.
Chicagoland


5 stars

We’d like to thank you for all your efforts and compassionate care during our stay at Irvine Medical Center. Mom, Josephine A., passed away peacefully on Saturday, August 10th and we were blessed to have a wonderful team from VITAS there by her side. Mary H., James G. and Art C. worked closely with us during this challenging time and were there daily to help make sure mom was comfortable. Alfred was there in the middle of the night to help us during mom's passing and we appreciate your entire team. Everyone was professional, compassionate, kind and patient and we truly appreciate everyone. We’re grateful to have met all of you and will give nothing but high praise for VITAS to all we know.

Frank and Frances B.
Orange County, CA


5 stars

I wanted to take a minute to thank all the folks that took care of my dad in his final moments. Our experience with the care given was unbelievable. ... All the VITAS caregivers on the 5th floor of Good Samaritan hospital were very kind and caring. He was there the last week of July 2019. My mom stayed there day and night, and I cannot thank you enough for how well she was treated.

Gerald A.
Palm Beach County


5 stars

Thank you for an amazing experience with my father during his last days. He had a beautiful death. [The physician] took very good care of my father. He is an amazing person. He was very personable and spent time with me helping me to understand the process we were embarking on. And thank you so much to Lee Ann who was Dad's nurse and was there with us on the day of his passing. She allowed us to have our time with Dad and respected our wishes in taking longer because we wanted the prayers and blessings of a priest before he left the house.

Susan C.
St. Louis


July 2019

5 stars

My dad was in VITAS Healthcare's hospice care. I cannot express how pleased my family is with the exceptional care that he received. Dad's home health aide, Deidre, was not only professional, but a caring, friendly individual who kept my dad in good humor while she was attending to his personal needs. His RN, Catherine also exemplified the highest standards of nursing care. She was so kind to our family at Dad's passing. Everyone from VITAS with whom we came in contact could not have been more attentive to Dad's and our family's concerns. I can recommend their services without any hesitation.

Barbara J.
Delaware


5 stars

I am so thankful to every person we encountered with VITAS. This was a horrible thing to go through with my husband being diagnosed with Stage 4 Pancreatic Cancer on Memorial Day and the disease being so aggressive. He passed on July 3. Five weeks and none of us were prepared to deal with this. Every single person from VITAS was so caring, helpful, understanding and gave us great guidance through the process. Those who I got to know the most were Pastor Don, Leah, Terri and Wendy. Each one of them had their special place in our experience. I wish this was something we never had to go through, but knowing that VITAS was there for us made a world of difference. Thank you all.

Joyce T.
Pittsburgh


5 stars

Thank you Kim, you are a wonderful asset to VITAS Hospice. God placed you there for a reason. You made me feel special and you made me feel that my mom really matters. Thank you.

Angela F.
Philadelphia


5 stars

I knew in advance that hospice would offer my mother, a quite healthy 95-year-old, the best care in delivering my promise to her to never leave her alone and have her be made as comfortable as possible and live as close to a normal life as possible at home. We were assigned Team 148 and every day of the week, at any hour, someone was available to help stabilize my mother. The team approach is one you cannot get through your PCP. Often, time is wasted between referrals and extensive waits at doctors' office. VITAS was there every step of the way. I never would have known all of the resources available to us if it hadn't been for our social worker, our chaplain, and our primary nurses. Without hesitation, each of member of the team provided prompt answers and made transitions very smooth. They cared for me as well, always available to talk, support, and direct me when I found things overwhelming or questioned exactly what I was doing. My mother passed peacefully while on Continuous Care at home. A social worker arrived at 2 a.m., 40 minutes after her last breath. I have never felt so close with a team of healthcare professionals. They never missed a step. They helped me fulfill my promise to my mother as I watched her take her last breath. I will be forever grateful and amazed at the passion they all have for their roles in end-of-life care. They taught me what true LOVE is.

Lorraine C.
Broward County


5 stars

All the nurses were wonderful. Great bedside manner, gentle with my mom and would explain everything in a way that made it very easy to understand. They were always on time, efficient, compassionate and kind. They have taken care of my father, my sister and my mom.

Louise D.
Dallas and Fort Worth


5 stars

I have been a caregiver for my husband through a long battle with health problems. Finding the right healthcare providers for my loved one has been a difficult choice. Our VITAS care manager has been a resourceful and a compassionate coordinator of care for our family. She has ensured the great quality of care and flexibility that we have needed. I recommend VITAS to others without hesitation.

Roya M.
Delaware


5 stars

VITAS is first-class all the way. Your tech ... was so kind and professional, I just wanted to give him a shout-out. You ALL have given me my husband back. Thank you again for all your loving care.

Paulette W.
Sacramento


5 stars

My father has been in hospice for palliative care at home for Alzheimer’s. But as the disease progressed, we needed more help since my mother is his caretaker and they’re both in their 80s. It has been very hard to place my father in a nursing home since he is a bit agitated and the long-term beds are not easy to acquire. My father got very ill, and I had to take him to the hospital. When the hospice nurse came to visit, I told her that there was no way he can go back home, that we needed to place him somewhere. So I was offered to move him until they can place him somewhere in the VITAS unit in Hialeah Hospital. The entire staff was helpful since I came into the unit with my father. ... I am very grateful I found help with VITAS at this time when we had no idea were to start from.

Lizzette F.
Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties


5 stars

I have never had such a wonderful experience as I had with VITAS. They were here within 24 hours of calling them. They knew just what you needed, meds and all. It was such a great way they would call for a bed, or tray table, or wheelchair — anything you might think you might possibly need, even if you didn’t feel you needed it yet. Sure enough, within a couple of hours, you need it.

Connie M.
Citrus and Nature Coast


5 stars

It is my pleasure to leave a great review for VITAS Healthcare. My mom was the recipient of care. From the beginning to the end of the hospice service, VITAS provided exceptional service. They guided my family through every step of the process. They sent out nurses, counselors and social workers to evaluate the situation and then they provided all services that were needed. They helped us through a relocation process and recommended next steps to make my mom comfortable. They were always accommodating, they were extremely knowledgeable, and they made a difficult situation very easy to manage. I would highly recommend the team of people that cared for my mother again and again, as they responded to every question and concern during the hospice process and they did their jobs with true professionalism. They were always empathetic and sensitive to the nature of the family and the patient. Thanks, VITAS, for making our lives bearable during a challenging time. You ROCK!

Candice S.
Chicagoland


June 2019

5 stars

VITAS hospice staff took care of my dad in his final hours. From the first coordinator who met us at the hospital, to the last nurse that was with him... everyone was wonderful. They addressed every concern and took care of everything for us, so we could concentrate on our remaining time with my dad. I highly recommend their hospice service, in the unfortunate instance you would ever need them.

Christine L.
Polk, Highlands and Hardee Counties, FL


5 stars

Our entire family is grateful and very pleased with the excellent and very professional care and support from the entire staff of Team 149. You guys not only provided the best care for our mother but were very compassionate in dealing with our entire family in this difficult moment for us. Our family appreciates all your support and we are eternally grateful to you guys.

Andres R.K.
Broward County, FL


5 stars

In the short amount of time that my father had hospice the care was exceptional. I can’t thank you enough for everything you did for my dad. His nurse Linda was definitely heaven sent. She sat all night and chatted with all of us and was amazing to my mom. This has been a roller coaster of emotions and we are still in shock he passed so fast, but you made it so much easier on all of us. We absolutely loved the whole team my dad had caring for him, but Linda, thank you for taking the time to talk to us and for letting us tell you stories about my dad. It made the night a little easier on all of us.

Holly B.
Pittsburgh, PA


5 stars

I brought my dad home on hospice. VITAS had all the equipment delivered I needed within 24 hours. They helped me schedule a vehicle to pick him up. The nurses were caring and supportive. I believe the team was 923. The night he passed I had LVN Mabel with us. In the morning they contacted the mortuary. They gave me the tools I needed to care for Dad. All the nurses were caring and patient. Thank you for helping me.

Dana A.
Inland Empire, CA


5 stars

VITAS cared for my wife in our house for her final days. I can't say enough about the care and compassion shown by everyone who came through our front door. The delivery of the medical equipment was prompt, all the nurses took care to make sure she was comfortable, and her aide Pearl was especially caring and pleasant with my wife during her daily visits. It really did make our family's situation more bearable.

David A.
New Jersey North


May 2019

5 stars

I wasn't sure what to expect when we brought my mom home for hospice, but everyone at VITAS was wonderful. They helped my husband and me throughout the process. I have never met a more caring group of people. Because of VITAS and their wonderful caregivers, we were able to honor my mom's wish to pass away at home. Thank you for making my mom's last days comfortable and peaceful.

Katie C.
Miami, Dade, and Monroe Counties, Florida


5 stars

The team who cared for my mother over the past few years have been unbelievably loving and caring, but never so much as they were when she passed recently. I was so impressed that they came and sat with us, called the funeral home, filled out police reports, etc., and stayed with her until she was no longer in their care. Words cannot describe how much I appreciate her team. Thank you just doesn't cover it! But I want to express how much it meant to me and my family. Especially Mary, her nurse, who has been such a blessing and support. Bless you all!

Rhonda R.
Columbus


5 stars

VITAS cared for my mom and she enjoyed with the nurses Sharon-RN, Patricia-LN, and specially with aide Ana. Their kindness, love, concern and incredible support made my mom and our family happy. They worked with us as a family, listen to us and shared our feelings during the difficult situations of my mom's life. They demonstrated very strong professionalism on their service. I cannot express how thankful we are and thanks VITAS.

Dona L.
Orange County, California


5 stars

The consistently compassionate & thorough care given to my husband by VITAS workers was truly a continuing blessing. They were always cheerful & willing to help regardless of my husband's circumstances or disposition. I felt confident giving him over to their care which was a tremendous relief to me. Thank you over & over.

Linda H.
Milwaukee


5 stars

I’m very late adding this because I never thought to leave a comment. My husband passed away in 2011, but I’ll never forget how wonderful VITAS treated us. They helped me keep all his many medications in order. And every person that came really cared about my husband, and even me. I’m not sure if this is still the routine, but as he got closer to death, they were even at our home all night. It would have been really hard by myself since my husband passed away around 3 am. They took care of everything. It was such a blessing during a terrible time. God bless everyone who worked with my husband and me. Excellent service. Highly recommended.

Kathleen C.
Pittsburgh


April 2019

5 stars

Thank you so much for giving my mom the loving care and the environment for a peaceful passing. I could not have asked for a more perfect place for my mom final days.

Martha Y.

5 stars

I'd like to express my deepest and infinite gratitude for the invaluable help and support that gave my family and my mother, during his Illness. May God multiply in blessings of light to each and every one of those who work in such an extraordinary organization! Thank you!

Carolina P.
Miami, Dade, and Monroe Counties, Florida


5 stars

I was living in Justin, Texas when I was blessed by VITAS. My husband was very ill with cancer. They were so kind and caring. Ms. Gail was his nurse. I have wanted to tell you all how much it meant to me to be able to keep him home with us and know he was getting the best care possible. [My husband] was very tough and had been battling cancer for many years. We lost that battle on August 29, 2018. Thank you Ms. Gail and also others that were there for us.

Judith W.
Dallas and Fort Worth, Texas


5 stars

This was our first experience with hospice and VITAS made it memorable. Everyone at the facility in University Hospital in Tamarac, FL, was caring, helpful, pleasant and professional with patients and
family. The rooms and surrounding area were clean and inviting. We will not forget their kindness while my husband was there. Thank you all!

Carol P.
Broward County, Florida


5 stars

We turned to VITAS during the last days of my husband’s illness as we were looking for any help to alleviate his pain. The VITAS team was absolutely amazing under the leadership of Szilvia Nagy and Greta Joseph. My husband received round the clock care of the highest quality. The VITAS team was available to us 24/7 and helped us through a very difficult time in our lives. As a result, my husband’s last days were as good as they could have been and his family was able to spend as much quality time with his as possible.

Margit B.
Broward County, Florida


5 stars

They had just opened the Rockledge VITAS (4 days freshly open) when my Nana was moved there from the hospital. Her prognosis was 2 weeks and they made her last week so amazing! The nurses who were there for her and for us were truly amazing people! The support offered there was incredible, especially grief therapy opportunities. I made a canvas board there with my Nana and my hands making a butterfly.

Danielle C.
Brevard County, Florida


5 stars

Jeanie was our evening nurse called to the care home to assess [the patient]. It was determined that we needed to get his daughter here ASAP, as she was out of state at the time. Jeanie quickly research flights and carriers to see what we could do on short notice and she found the perfect solution to get [the patient's] daughter to the care home in the early morning hours of Tuesday, 4/2/19.
All of us were with [the patient] when he took his last breath 6 hours later. Jeanie was our "Angel" that we needed to accommodate our urgent crisis. We are forever grateful!

Phyllis H.
East Bay, California