請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533
要求資訊

照顧生命末期的LGBTQ病人

照顧生命末期的LGBT病人

平等的優質安寧療護

表明自己為LGBTQ的病人可在VITAS® Healthcare獲得貼心照顧。他們感到安心,因為知道我們長達數十年的經驗以及與LGBTQ群體的關係,足以了解他們的顧慮、偏好以及獨特的需求。

VITAS人員為患有各種局限生命疾病的病人提供盡心的照顧,這些疾病包括,但不限於:癌症、 心臟病, 愛滋病(AIDS)、中風、 肺病, 肝病, 腎臟病、多發性硬化症、肌萎縮性脊髓側索硬化症、 阿茲海默症 以及帕金森氏病。 VITAS人員也為病人的伴侶、親人及 照顧者提供支持

為病人及醫師建立LGBTQ趨勢

我們為什麼主張對於LGBTQ病人的安寧療護採取包容性方式?首先,VITAS是LGBTQ族群的一部分。我們歡迎並且支持表明為LGBTQ的工作人員、他們的家人及朋友。

第二,我們自1978年起至今就一直是美國安寧療護運動的領導者,為療護標準作出定義。從早先1980年代的愛滋病危機開始,一直到數十年的LGBTQ平權舉措、立法勝利及立法判決等,VITAS始終秉持在尋求醫療照護時,每個人都有權獲得安全避風港的信念。

我們重視高品質的 安寧療護服務、它的保密性;更尊重處於各種環境中的所有LGBTQ病人,無論是在家中得到家人細心的照顧、覺得被家人拋棄,或因為住在療養院或老人社區而覺得被迫困在自我之中。

我們確保末期病人及其家人能在病人生命末期時享有自在、尊嚴的生活,不論其種族、國籍、宗教、性別認同、性別表達或性別取向為何。

VITAS是一個安全港

我們對於LGBTQ病人及轉介醫師提供的解決方案包括:

  • 在病人稱為家的地方提供全面安寧療護服務 - 家包括私人住宅、生活輔助社區、療養院、醫院或住院病房等。我們重在控制疼痛、管理症狀、減少不安,並提供情緒上及精神上的支持;這一切都希望有助病人在其生命的最後數個月、數週或數天中能活得自在、有尊嚴。我們的Telecare服務隨時將病人及照顧者與一位可取得病人病歷的病人照護專家相連;這位專家可於醫院下班後、週末、假日期間提供諮詢和支持;或必要時可派遣團隊成員至病人的病榻前提供協助。當病人有醫療需求時,加護舒適療護®可在病人的家中提供每天多達24小時急性症狀控制的臨時輪班服務。
  • 處理我們所服務的每位病人在身體、靈性、情緒上需求的VITAS療護團隊。安寧療護醫生、護士、護佐、社工、靈性輔導師、喪慟經理及義工將監督療護的所有層面,從症狀及疼痛管理,至靈性與情緒支持、個人護理、使用社區資源、追悼會規劃等等。
  • 醫療照護事前規劃及生前遺囑專業知識。 生命末期療護對於LGBTQ病人可能尤為艱困,必須視醫療保健法律、政策及態度而定。VITAS社工可在病人作出醫療保健決定的過程中引導病人避開障礙及關卡,同時我們的社區聯絡人會舉辦會議交流、教育社區團體、支持及參加活動,並建立合作關係以改善對於LGBTQ社群的服務。

誰負責支付安寧療護費用?

聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險(在加州為MediCal),以及私人計劃負責支付100%的安寧療護費用。 病人或其至親無需支付VITAS服務的 自付費用 。VITAS負責與末期診斷相關的所有處方藥、醫療設備及用品。

深入了解VITAS安寧療護服務。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.
REQUEST INFORMATION

Caring for LGBTQ Patients Near the End of Life

Caring for LGBT Patients at the EOL

Equality in High-Quality Hospice Care

Patients who identify as LGBTQ can find compassionate care at VITAS® Healthcare, secure in the knowledge that we understand their concerns, preferences and unique needs because of our decades-long experience and affiliation with the LGBTQ community.

VITAS staff members provide personally affirming care for patients with a wide range of life-limiting illnesses, including but not limited to cancer, heart disease, AIDS, stroke, lung disease, liver disease, kidney disease, multiple sclerosis, ALS, Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease. VITAS staff also provide support for the patient’s partner, loved ones and caregivers.

An LGBTQ Trend-Setter for Patients and Physicians

Why do we advocate for an inclusive approach to hospice care for LGBTQ patients? First, VITAS is part of the LGBTQ community. We embrace and support our staff members, their family members and friends who identify as LGBTQ.

Second, we have been a leader in the American hospice movement since 1978, helping define standards of care. Beginning with the 1980s AIDS crisis and continuing through decades of LGBTQ equal rights initiatives, legislative victories and legal rulings, VITAS has been guided by our conviction that everyone deserves a safe haven when seeking medical care.

We place a premium on high-quality hospice services, confidentiality and respect for all LGBTQ patients across multiple settings, whether they receive loving care at home, feel abandoned by their families, or feel forced back into the closet as residents of nursing care or senior care communities.

We ensure that terminally ill patients and their loved ones live in comfort and dignity near the end of life, no matter their race, nationality, religion, gender identity, gender expression or sexual orientation.

VITAS is a Safe Haven

Our solutions for LGBTQ patients and referring physicians include:

  • A full spectrum of hospice services to patients wherever they call home—a private residence, assisted living community, nursing facility, hospital or inpatient unit. Our protocols control pain, manage symptoms, reduce anxiety, and provide emotional and spiritual support, all of which help patients live with comfort and dignity in their last months, weeks or days. Our Telecare service connects patients and caregivers 24/7 with a patient care specialist who has access to patient records and can advise, support or dispatch a member of the team to the bedside when needed—after hours, weekends and holidays. When medically necessary, Intensive Comfort Care® provides temporary shifts of acute symptom management in the patient’s home for up to 24 hours a day.
  • A VITAS interdisciplinary team that addresses the physical, spiritual and emotional needs of every individual we serve. A hospice doctor, nurse, aide, social worker, chaplain, bereavement manager and volunteer oversee all aspects of care, from symptom and pain management to spiritual and emotional support, personal care, access to community resources, memorial planning and more.
  • Advance planning and living will expertise. End-of-life care can be particularly challenging for LGBTQ patients, depending on healthcare laws, policies and attitudes. VITAS social workers can help navigate barriers and obstacles to making healthcare decisions, while our community liaisons facilitate meetings, educate community groups, support and attend events, and forge partnerships to improve services to the LGBTQ community.

Who Pays for Hospice Services?

Medicare, Medicaid (MediCal in California) and private plans cover the hospice benefit 100%. There are no out-of-pocket expenses to patients or loved ones for VITAS care. VITAS covers all prescription drugs, medical equipment and supplies related to the terminal diagnosis.

Learn more about VITAS hospice services.