請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

義工的故事:安寧療護義工的工作內容為何

潔西卡·拉莫斯深信能為他人服務是至高無上的快樂。她30多歲,已婚,是一個熱情洋溢的繼母。但是數年前,在胎死腹中和一次流產後,她受到極大的打擊。

不會自憐自艾的潔西卡當時沒有工作,於是前往VolunteerMatch.org找尋可讓自己投入而忘卻自身悲傷的事物。她精通英文和西班牙文,住在佛羅里達州的邁阿密-戴德郡。無可置疑,一定有人需要她的幫助。

擁抱機會

VITAS的一個廣告引起了她的興趣,但是當她接到VITAS邁阿密-戴德郡 義工服務經理凱茜▪阿戈斯蒂的電話時,潔西卡到Google搜尋有關安寧療護的資料。她對它不甚了解。「但是我身旁一直都有老人和病患,」她解釋道。「我對於氛圍的反應靈敏,病患也深信我這方面的天賦。」 因此她把握住這個機會。 

她花了一天的時間接受新義工訓練;總共約有十位參加,年齡從高中生到年長者不等。 They learned what their role as volunteers would be, what the legal and medical ramifications are for volunteers, and what it’s like to visit a hospice patient or his or her family.

雖然義工提供服務的頻率通常從每月一次至每週一次不等,但是潔西卡選擇每週三次探訪四位病患,這些人都住在她家附近一間機構的同一層樓。VITAS的個案經理在她第一次前往時陪同她一道探訪,將她介紹給大家以協助她建立關係。 

花時間與病患相處 

一位較潔西卡僅年長十歲的病患 因癌症而在死亡邊緣掙扎,表現出憤怒。個案經理親切、和善且鎮定。「我從這位專案經理獲得指點,」潔西卡表示。「我完全沒有感到不知所措,反而迎接這位病患的挑戰。」 當我從電話得知他於昨晚去世時,我覺得很難過沒能花多些時間陪伴他。」

所以她將精力放在剩下的三位病患身上,這三位全是老人。潔西卡每週當義工三次,前後將近達四個月,直到她和她的先生搬到另一個郡為止。每次當義工時她大約探訪每位病患約一個小時。

在接近聖誕節和情人節探訪時,潔西卡會帶些小禮物。但是光是她的出現即可讓她的病患臉上綻放笑容。他們不記得她的名字,但每位看到她都很高興。

蘇菲、瑪格麗特和威爾遜

來自古巴的蘇菲必須使用輪椅。她的先生每天在午餐時間來看她,因此潔西卡也認識了她的先生。來自巴拿馬的瑪格麗特,她的子女也住在同一區裡,但是她希望能有更多的訪客。她喜歡潔西卡坐下來聽她說話。 

但是真正讓潔西卡了解服務真義的人是威爾遜。威爾遜長年臥病在床。他患有阿茲海默症和創傷後壓力症候群(PTSD)。他必須服用嗎啡紓解疼痛,他一直睡覺。潔西卡來訪時,都會竭盡所能讓他醒來。

她聽說 阿茲海默症病患對於音樂會有感應,因此她詢問他所最愛的音樂是什麼,威爾森含糊說道「鄉村音樂」。因此她帶來一些Clint Black的音樂。華特是密西根人,因此她在網上查詢密西根的圖片,然後他們一起欣賞這些圖片。

但是,威爾森大部分的時間仍然沒有反應。潔西卡詢問她的義工經理有關可以提供協助的方法。凱茜告訴她,只需相伴一旁,即使都沒有說任何的話,對於像威爾森的病患而言也意義重大。潔西卡對此有所質疑。 

但是當凱茜打電話給潔西卡,告訴她可以去探望有另一位較有反應的病患時,潔西卡才開始接受威爾森的狀況。以及她自己。

「我開始時擔任這項工作時,我覺得有權這樣要求,」她現在說。「我希望威爾森成為我想要的樣子,但是當他達不到時,我覺得難過。但是我必須學習完全接受威爾森的狀況。我來是為了提供威爾森所需要的服務,而不是為了自己的需求」。 

找尋療癒

最後,潔西卡也滿足了她自己的需求。「我無疑地已經找到我所追尋的療癒,然後,我找到了一些,」她表示。 「我會再回去。我懷念邁阿密-戴德郡,但是我已經在布羅瓦郡和VITAS計劃的義工經理見過面了,我將會 登記加入那裡的義工 行列。 

「即使對於威爾森,」她懷念地說,「我也知道我已經牽動了他的心。」   

相關文章

安寧療護義工和聯邦醫療保險法

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Volunteer Story: What it's Like to Be a Hospice Volunteer

Jessica Ramos believes the best thing you can do for yourself is to be of service to others. She’s in her 30s, married and an enthusiastic stepmom. But after suffering a stillbirth and a miscarriage several years ago, she was devastated.

Not one to mope and feel sorry for herself, and not working at the time, Jessica went to to find something to immerse herself in, something that would take her away from her own sorrow. She is fluent in English and Spanish and living in Miami-Dade County, Florida. Surely someone needed her help.

Embracing the Opportunity

She clicked on an ad for VITAS , but when she got a call from Cathy Agosti, VITAS volunteer services manager for Miami-Dade County, Jessica had to Google hospice. She wasn’t sure what it was. “But I’ve always been around the elderly and sick,” she reasoned. “I’m good at feeling vibes, and patients feel that in me.” So she embraced the opportunity. 

She spent a day in orientation, one of about ten new volunteers who ranged in age from high school students to seniors. They learned what their role as volunteers would be, what the legal and medical ramifications are for volunteers, and what it’s like to visit a hospice patient or his or her family.

Although volunteers typically work anywhere from once a month to once a week, Jessica signed up to visit four patients three times a week, all living on the same floor of a facility near her home. Their VITAS case manager accompanied Jessica on her first visit, to introduce her and help establish relationships. 

Taking Her Time with Patients 

One patient, just a decade older than Jessica, was dying of cancer, angry and acting out. The case manager was kind, gentle and unruffled. “I took my cue from the case manager,” Jessica says. “Instead of feeling inadequate, I welcomed the challenge of this patient. When I got a call that he had died that night, I was sorry not to have had much time with him.”

So she concentrated on her remaining three patients, all elderly. Jessica volunteered three times a week for almost four months, until she and her husband moved to the next county. She saw each patient for about an hour each time she volunteered.

Jessica brought little gifts when she arrived near Christmas and Valentine’s Day. But her mere presence put a smile on her patients’ faces. They didn’t remember her name, but each was delighted to see her.

Sophie, Margaret and Wilson

Sophie, in a wheelchair, was originally from Cuba. Her husband visited every day at lunchtime, so Jessica got to know him as well. Margaret, who was from Panama, had children in the area but yearned for more visitors. She loved for Jessica just to sit and listen to her talk. 

But it was Wilson who taught Jessica about being of service. Wilson was bedridden. He had Alzheimer’s and PTSD. He was on morphine for pain, and he slept. Jessica would rouse him as best she could when she arrived.

She’d heard that music can reach Alzheimer’s patients, so she asked him what his favorite music was, and Wilson mumbled “country music.” So she brought in some Clint Black. Walter was from Michigan, so she Googled images of Michigan and they looked at them together.

But still Wilson remained mostly unresponsive. Jessica went to her volunteer manager to ask what she could do. Cathy assured her that just sitting together, even if neither said a word, can be important to a patient like Wilson. Jessica was unconvinced. 

But by the time Cathy called to say there was another patient Jessica could see who was more responsive, Jessica had come to terms with Wilson. And herself.

“I came into the role feeling entitled,” she says now. “I wanted Wilson to be a certain way, and I felt bad when he wasn’t. But I needed to appreciate Wilson for who he was. I was there to meet Wilson’s needs, not my own.” 

Finding Healing

In the end, Jessica met her own needs as well. “I definitely found the healing I was looking for, and then some,” she says. “And I’ll go back. I miss Miami-Dade, but I’ve met the volunteer manager at the VITAS program in Broward County, and I will sign up to volunteer there. 

“Even with Wilson,” she says, “I know I made a difference.”   

Related Articles

Hospice Volunteering and Medicare Law