請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

緩和療護與安寧療護

向年老男士講解緩和療護的醫生

什麼是緩和療護服務?

緩和療護 has been a board-certified medical specialty since 2006 in the US, but palliative care has been around for centuries. 我們都使用過緩和醫療(亦稱為舒適療護)服務。如果您的骨頭斷了,您會尋求治療:醫生會將骨頭固定使其無法移動,以便骨頭痊癒。但醫生會開止痛藥讓您感到舒服些。止痛藥是一種緩和藥物:在您配合醫生治療骨折的同時,這類藥可改善您的生活品質。

一般而言,當我們談到緩和療護時,都是在說嚴重的疾病:慢性、進行性的呼吸系统疾病;腎臟病;慢性心臟衰竭; 人體免疫缺損病毒(HIV)/愛滋病、進行性的神經系統疾病、 癌症等等。 

See also: 緩和療護可以如何幫助癌症病患?

例如:當您進行化療(用來治療癌症)時,您的醫生也會開藥解決您的噁心、憂鬱或焦慮等問題,或指示您與治療師討論或安排寵物探訪。如果您的家人備感壓力,社工或靈性輔導師會提供支持。 All of these coping mechanisms are considered 緩和: they improve the quality of your life while you and your physician cope with your cancer.

向中年女性講解緩和療護的女護士

What is the Difference Between Palliative and Hospice Care?

安寧療護類似緩和療護,但兩者之間有重要的差異。 因為超過 90%的安寧療護費用是 透過 聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利支付,安寧療護病患必須符合聯邦醫療保險的資格規定,而緩和療護病患則無資格規定。

1. 安寧療護和緩和療護的目標是減輕疼痛和症狀。

2. 療護的預後和目標往往不同。安寧療護是無治癒意圖的舒適療護;這類療護的病患不再有治癒選擇,或者病患決定不再尋求治療,因為治療產生的副作用大於好處。緩和療護是具有或不具有治癒意圖的舒適療護。

誰會拒絕接受治癒性治療?

美國臨床腫瘤學會(American Society of Clinical Oncology)明列應接受緩和療護而非治癒性治療的病患特色;這些特色也適用於患有其他疾病的病患。

  • 病患照顧自己的能力有限。
  • 病患已接受治癒性治療但不再有任何療效。
  • 病患不符合進行適當臨床試驗的資格。
  • 沒有證據顯示進一步治療會有療效。

3. 安寧療護適用資格規定要有兩名醫師的證明,表示若疾病進展過程繼續發展,病患的生命剩下不到六個月。緩和療護可由醫師和病患自行決定,且無論是否為晚期,都可隨時在疾病任何階段開始。 

4. 跨領域的療護團隊可提供安寧和緩和療護。團隊人員將會解決病患在身心靈方面的痛苦,包含他們擔心失去獨立自主、家庭幸福和覺得成為負擔等這類常見的憂慮。

5. 安寧療護的100%是由聯邦醫療保險、 州政府醫療保險 以及私人保險支付;安寧療護機構只將包括醫藥品、醫療設備、24/7使用照護、護理、社工服務、喪親哀傷支持及其他服務在內的聯邦醫療保險福利視為適合。然而,緩和療護(從診所就診到處方藥費用)的費用是由保險公司、病患或慈善機構支付。

6. 安寧療護是在住家 或如居家般的安寧療護之家、療養院、輔助型居住機構、退伍軍人機構、醫院和其他機構提供。緩和療護團隊通常是在醫院工作。

與您的家人和醫生討論您的療護目標,以及緩和療護和/或安寧療護是否能改善您的生活品質。

相關文章:

什麼是安寧療護?

安寧療護可治療的病況

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Palliative Care vs. Hospice Care

Doctor explaining palliative care to elderly man

What is Palliative Care?

Palliative care has been a board-certified medical specialty since 2006 in the US, but palliative care has been around for centuries. We’ve all had palliative medicine, also called comfort care. If you break a bone, you seek a cure: the doctor sets it and keeps it immobile in order for it to heal. But she prescribes painkillers to make you comfortable. The painkillers are palliative: they improve the quality of your life while you and your physician cope with your broken bone.

Generally when we talk about palliative care, it’s in the context of serious illness: chronic, progressive pulmonary disorders; renal disease; chronic heart failure; HIV/AIDS, progressive neurological conditions, cancer, etc. 

See also: How Can Palliative Care Help Cancer Patients?

An example: as you go through chemotherapy, which is prescribed to cure your cancer, your physician also addresses your nausea, depression or anxiety by prescribing a drug, directing you to a talk therapist or arranging for pet visits. If your family is stressed, a social worker or chaplain would provide support. All of these coping mechanisms are considered palliative: they improve the quality of your life while you and your physician cope with your cancer.

Female nurse explaining palliative care to middle-age women

What is the Difference Between Palliative and Hospice Care?

Hospice care is similar to palliative care, but there are important differences. Because more than 90 percent of hospice care is paid for through the Medicare hospice benefit, hospice patients must meet Medicare’s eligibility requirements, which palliative care patients do not.

1. The objective of both hospice and palliative care is pain and symptom relief.

2. The prognosis and goals of care tend to be different. Hospice is comfort care without curative intent; the patient no longer has curative options or has chosen not to pursue treatment because the side effects outweigh the benefits. Palliative care is comfort care with or without curative intent.

Who Rejects Curative Treatment?

The American Society of Clinical Oncology has identified the characteristics of a patient who should receive palliative care but not curative treatment; these characteristics are applicable to patients with other diseases, too.

  • The patient has limited ability to care for himself.
  • The patient has received curative treatment and is no longer benefitting from it.
  • The patient does not qualify for an appropriate clinical trial.
  • There is no evidence that further treatment would be effective.

3. Hospice eligibility requires that two physicians certify that the patient has less than six months to live if the disease follows its usual course. Palliative care is begun at the discretion of the physician and patient at any time, at any stage of illness, terminal or not. 

4. Interdisciplinary teams deliver both hospice and palliative care. They address physical, emotional and spiritual pain, including such common worries as loss of independence, the well-being of the family and feeling like a burden.

5. Hospice is paid 100 percent by Medicare, Medicaid and private insurance; it is the only Medicare benefit that includes pharmaceuticals, medical equipment, 24/7 access to care, nursing, social services, chaplain visits, grief support following a death and other services deemed appropriate by the hospice agency. Whereas palliative care, from office visits to prescription charges, is paid for by insurance, by the patient or by charity.

6. Hospice care is delivered at home or in home-like hospice residences, nursing homes, assisted living facilities, veterans' facilities, hospitals and other facilities. Palliative care teams typically work in a hospital.

Talk to your family and your doctor about your goals of care and whether palliative care and/or hospice might improve your quality of life.

Related Articles:

What is Hospice?

Conditions Treated by Hospice