請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

心臟病和您的家族病史

您的家族病史和心臟病

您的家族可能有心臟病病史,但這並不代表您一定會罹患此疾病。

我們需為自己的健康程度以及如何控管自己的健康負全部責任:我們的飲食習慣為何、運動量為多少、如何應對每日所遇到的挫折和煩惱。

但並非一切都在我們的掌控之下。例如,家族遺傳全憑運氣;您的祖母可能會遺傳給您心臟病因,但她也會給予您一口美牙和捲翹的睫毛。如果您是非裔美人或拉丁裔,種族是您心臟健康的另一個遺傳風險來源。

您不能改變基因,但可自我教育並了解如何降低風險因素。

兩位女性朋友

您必須了解的資訊

透過了解關於您的兄弟姊妹、父母和祖父母的健康及死因的相關問題和資訊開始。 Listen for terms like stroke, heart attack, 心臟病, heart failure, CHD, a coronary, coronary heart disease, cardiovascular disease and related conditions like high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes.

  • 如果他們仍活著,他們如何應對健康問題?
  • 如果他們已經過世,死因為何?
  • 他們曾經有什麼其他健康問題?
  • 了解所有家庭成員幾歲被診斷出有病症。

您無須調查較祖父母更早之前的資料,但您需要取得與寫下正確資訊,並告知您的醫療服務提供者。

控制您能做的部分

結合家族病史,您可以改變會增加罹患心臟病機率的環境因素。而這部份完全在您控制的範圍內,並能直接影響您可能遺傳到的基因風險。您能閱讀文章、參加烹飪課程、到健身中心運動、安排進行健康篩檢或進行完整身體健康檢查等都是良好的應對方法。

逐漸改變生活習慣;同時進行太多改變時可能會讓人喘不過氣。請注意:建立健康習慣並非「一蹴即成」的程序。當您養成一個健康習慣後,要接著繼續下去。最重要的步驟是下定決心改變。

小小的改變會產生很大的差異:

健康食品

讓自己偶爾能「作弊」一下,但同時也能欣賞從事有益健康事務的感受、減輕體重、自由呼吸、讓自我感覺更好。

  • 午餐不要訂薯條,改訂生菜沙拉附清淡沙拉醬。
  • 選擇喝水,不要喝汽水。
  • 不要抽煙,外出快走。 
  • 和至親或密友抒發情緒,而不要尋求以食物為慰藉。

照顧者注意事項

身為照顧者,您需要注意更多的環境因素(以及擔負如何維持健康的責任)。您可能需要與至親好友一同散散步,在您的烹飪方式中融合其飲食需求,找出更健康方式應對隨著照護所帶來壓力、挫折和煩惱。您並不孤獨;有許多能幫助您維持心臟健康的資訊可取得。 就從 美國心臟協會(American Heart Association)的網站開始吧

就如同您的家族病史,您作為照顧者的角色是不變的。由您來決定是否要改變您所能改變的事情。

相關文章:

照顧者壓力和心臟病

照顧者的療護

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Heart Disease and Your Family History

Your Family History and Heart Disease

Heart disease may be in your family history, but it doesn’t have to be your outcome.

We are all responsible for how healthy we are and how we control our health: how we eat, how much we move around, how we react to daily frustrations and worries.

However, not everything is within our control. Family genetics, for example, is the luck of the draw; your grandmother passed down her propensity for heart disease, but she also gave you your beautiful teeth and curly eyelashes. If you are African American or Latino, your ethnicity is another genetic risk to your heart health.

You cannot change your genetics, but you can educate yourself and know how to mitigate your risk factors.

Two female friends

What You Need to Know

Begin by asking questions about the health and cause of death of your siblings, parents and grandparents. Listen for terms like stroke, heart attack, heart disease, heart failure, CHD, a coronary, coronary heart disease, cardiovascular disease and related conditions like high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes.

  • If they are living, are they coping with health problems?
  • If they’ve passed away, what was the cause of death?
  • What other health problems did they have?
  • For all family members, find out how old they were when diagnosed.

You don’t need to research much further back than your grandparents, but you do need to get accurate information, write it down and share it with your healthcare provider.

Control What You Can

Armed with your family history, you can change the environmental factors that increase the chance of heart disease. That part is entirely within your control, and has a direct affect on the genetic risks you may have inherited. You can read articles, take a cooking class, join a gym, schedule screenings or get a complete physical—all are good steps.

Make changes gradually; it's easy to feel overwhelmed when many changes are taking place. Remember: establishing healthy habits is not an all or nothing process. Once you've established a habit move on to the next. The most important step is to make up your mind to make a change.

Small Changes Make a Big Difference:

Healthy Groceries

Give yourself permission to “cheat” on occasion, but also celebrate how it feels to do something healthy, to lose a pound, to breathe easier, to feel better about yourself.

  • Instead of ordering fries at lunch order a salad with lite dressing.
  • Opt for water instead of soda.
  • Go for a brisk walk instead of smoking a cigarette. 
  • Communicate your emotions to your loved ones rather than turning to food for comfort.

Caregiving Considerations

As a caregiver, you have additional environmental factors to consider (and additional responsibilities for which to remain healthy). You may need to take a walk with your loved one, incorporate his dietary needs into your healthy cooking, and find healthier ways of coping with the stress, frustrations and worry that accompany caregiving. You don’t have to do it alone; there’s lots of information available to keep your heart healthy. Start at the American Heart Association’s website.

Like your family history, your role as a caregiver is a given. It’s up to you to change the things you can.

Related Articles:

Caregiver Stress and Heart Disease

Caring for the Caregiver