請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

去除對嗎啡的恐懼

VITAS代表Maite Hernandez將討論關於嗎啡和安寧療護的迷思。

安寧療護和嗎啡

在您深入了解前,嗎啡這個字眼與安寧療護一樣令人懼怕。

「不錯,」佛羅里達州VITAS Healthcare代表且身為註冊護士的Maite Hernandez表示:「嗎啡是在醫院急症療護環境中會提供的藥物。」

無論病患預期可完全復原或正在接受安寧療護服務,嗎啡是可用在分娩到末期癌症等病況的主要止痛用藥。

But patients and 照顧者 who hear the word “morphine” sometimes fear that their physician 已經放棄了,以及認為病患本身或他們的親人將被施以大量的鎮靜劑,並靜候死神的召喚。一般醫師在平常醫療過程中不會開立過強的止痛藥處方,因此他們開立「嗎啡」處方藥時會極為謹慎處理。

但是,安寧療護和緩和療護 醫師卻都具有使用鴉片劑的專門知識和經驗,他們會儘量以最少的藥量快速控制病患的痛苦。然後,他們會以「滴定」方式監測每位病患的劑量和症狀,期望一方面達到適度止痛程度,一方面對病患造成最少副作用。

沒有人需要忍受疼痛

沒有人應該在生命的任何階段中忍受疼痛。幾乎所有的疼痛皆可以利用藥物緩解。在病患的疼痛減低到可忍耐的程度下,他可以進食和入睡、思緒敏捷並且維持一定的獨立、尊嚴和自我照顧。 最低限度:嗎啡可改進生活品質。

可以口服或透過靜脈注射使用的「鴉片劑」包括嗎啡、可待因、氫可酮、可待因酮、氫化嗎啡酮等等。鴉片劑源自天然的罌粟。「鴉片類藥物」為製造的藥品,與天然的鴉片劑有相同的效果。兩種藥物如果經過處方開立並且適當使用時,它們都是強效、安全、有效的止痛藥。

注意事項

服用嗎啡時有某些可快速、直接解決的合理疑慮:

失眠和倦怠:剛開始服用嗎啡時會有鎮靜作用,但這種作用幾天內即會減少。經由疼痛的緩解以及讓呼吸較為順暢之後,鴉片劑讓病患終於可以獲得缺乏的睡眠。當病患覺得更舒適和並且獲得充足的休息後,多半會增加對於日常活動的興趣。

噁心:剛開始可能會有噁心感,但是服用幾天嗎啡後即會逐漸消失。此外,也可以使用限量的其他藥品治療噁心現象。 

便祕:使用嗎啡和其他的鴉片劑/鴉片類藥物時預期會出現便秘,故應積極予以治療以確保病患感到舒適。

長時期使用後效果較差:當嗎啡用來控制疼痛時,耐藥性有可能出現,但多半不構成問題。更可能是經過一段時間疾病已經惡化,造成疼痛增加。如果疼痛加劇時,安寧療護醫師可增加劑量。醫師多半從低劑量的嗎啡開始;如果疼痛加劇,可增加劑量。 

上癮:因疼痛服用嗎啡的病患極少有上癮情形(少於1%)。但是,經過兩週或更多的時間使用嗎啡後確實不該貿然停用。身體需要逐漸停用鴉片劑以慢慢調適,此為正常的人體生理現象,並非上癮。

如果您或您的親人因疾病造成急性或慢性疼痛,而成藥,例如普拿疼或布洛芬皆無效時,請聯絡您的醫師洽詢開立鴉片劑的詳情。

「安寧療護的溫馨服務之一,即是當發生必須照護的急性症狀時,安寧療護可提供24小時的居家照護,」Maite表示。「因此,如果一位病患因為疼痛或呼吸困難等急性症狀而開始服用嗎啡時,安寧療護將有一位護士在旁相伴,監測情況。」

相關文章

什麼是安寧療護?它不意味著放棄,而是關乎希望

緩和療護與安寧療護

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Taking the Fear Out of Morphine

Maite Hernandez, VITAS Representative, discusses the myths surrounding morphine and hospice care.

Hospice and Morphine

Like the word hospice, the word morphine is frightening—until you learn more about it.

“Truly,” says Maite Hernandez, RN, a representative for VITAS Healthcare in Florida, “morphine is a medication that is given even in the acute care setting in the hospital.”

Morphine is the mainstay of pain relief associated with anything from childbirth to advanced cancer, whether the patient can expect a full recovery or is receiving hospice services.

But patients and caregivers who hear the word “morphine” sometimes fear that their physician has given up, that they or someone they love will be heavily sedated and left to die. And physicians who do not—in the normal course of their practice—routinely prescribe advanced pain medications can be leery of prescribing morphine.

Hospice and palliative care physicians, however, have both the expertise and experience in opiates to control their patients’ pain quickly using as little medication as possible. They then “titrate,” monitoring each patient’s dosage and symptoms to reach the right level of pain control with the fewest side effects for that patient.

No One Needs to Live in Pain

No one at any stage of life should live in pain. Almost all pain can be alleviated with medications. With pain reduced to a tolerable level, the person can eat and sleep, be mentally alert and maintain a level of independence, dignity and self-care. Bottom line: morphine can improve quality of life.

“Opiates,” which can be taken by mouth or intravenously, include morphine, codeine, hydrocodone, oxycodone, hydromorphone, etc. Opiates are derived in nature from opium poppies. “Opioids” are manufactured drugs that have the same effect as the natural opiates. Both kinds of medications are strong, safe and effective painkillers when prescribed and used appropriately.

Things to Know

There are some valid concerns about taking morphine that can be addressed quickly and directly:

Sleepiness and lethargy: Morphine can cause some sedation initially, but this effect decreases within a few days. By easing pain and making breathing easier, opiates allow the patient to finally get some much-needed sleep. Once the patient is feeling more comfortable and rested, interest in normal life activities often increases.

Nausea: Nausea may initially occur but tends to wear off after a few days of taking morphine. In the meantime, nausea can be treated with a limited amount of additional medication. 

Constipation: Constipation should be expected with morphine and other opiates/opioids, and treated aggressively to ensure patient comfort.

Less effective over time: Tolerance is possible but not often a problem when morphine is used to control pain. It is more likely that the disease has worsened over time, and that results in increased pain. The hospice physician can increase dosage if and when pain increases. Physicians generally start with low doses of morphine; if the pain increases, the dose can be increased. 

Addiction: Addiction is rare (less than 1%) in patients taking morphine for pain. However, it is true that after two weeks or more of taking morphine, it should not be halted abruptly. The body needs to be weaned off opiates so it can adjust, which is normal human physiology and not addiction.

If you or someone you love has a condition that causes acute or chronic pain and over-the-counter drugs like acetaminophen or ibuprofen are not effective, talk to your doctor about prescribing an opiate.

“One of the beautiful things that hospice can do is provide 24-hour care in the home when there's an acute symptom to manage,” says Maite. “So if a patient is started on morphine because there's an acute symptom such as pain or respiratory distress, there will be a nurse there to monitor that.”

Related Articles

What is Hospice? It's Not about Giving Up; It's about Hope

Palliative Care vs. Hospice Care