請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

安寧療護靈性輔導師的故事:
為失序的生活作出貢獻

chaplain header

A New Patient

當猶太教祭司麥可·科恩(Michael Cohen)走進療養院,準備探訪一位90歲、VITAS新病人的猶太老人時,接待人員警告他,新病人可能在生哪位職員的氣。麥可仍記得當初打開門,看到屋內雜亂的樣子,確實大吃一驚。他先自我介紹一番,並詢問老人感覺如何。

「你認為我感覺怎麼樣?」老人回道。「我已經是90歲的老頭了!」 麥可說,他接著便喋喋不休,對猶太教祭司與祭司團體以及社會和西方世界大表不滿。他只喜歡一位不太出名的猶太教祭司哲學家。

「以90歲的老人來說,他還真有活力,」麥可打趣地說。「但令人不快的是, 我不知道如何找到開始談話的切入點。」

chaplain side image

Providing Spiritual Support

歡迎來到靈性輔導的領域,在此接受訓練、來自每個宗派和教派的宗教領導者都在學習如何輔導各式各樣的人群。不論是大學校園還是戰場、監獄和醫院,處處都有靈性輔導師的足跡。 麥可·科恩是 達拉斯VITAS Healthcare的安寧療護靈性輔導師。他會與虔誠的天主教徒或猶太教徒的病人會面,或是與完全沒有宗教信仰的病人會面。他的工作是去到現場了解、提供精神安慰,或安排其他的宗教領袖前往該居處。靈性輔導師永遠不會知道將發生什麼事,或人們對他們有哪些期待。

Apply to become a VITAS chaplain

但那天,麥可認出了這位老人所尊敬的不知名哲學家。更重要的是,麥可坦率平靜地談到老人的死亡, 詢問他的慢性阻塞性肺病(COPD)病況 以及他想如何使用所剩的時間。看來老人的家人最近才將他轉到這個記憶康復機構,卻沒有花時間安置他。實際上,他們也沒有時間告訴他 他在安寧療護中心. The man was infuriated by the spate of 照顧者 who kept appearing at his bedside. 他既迷惘又氣憤。

Connection Between Souls

因此,麥可與病人再交談。談那位哲學家, 談猶太教,談老人的家庭。談留下遺產,以及這對他的意義。最後,老人從暴君變成了泰迪熊。當話題轉到立下合乎倫理的遺囑時,他問麥可,「我有什麼權力告訴人家該怎麼想?」 

「時間過得很快,而我們都期待下次的會面,」麥可說道,對後來談話的結果感到高興但並不意外。「對他來說,我作為祭司的身分吸引他,也讓他視為目標。但毫無疑問的,那天是我們兩個靈魂間的交流。」

「靈性輔導師有其職責,」他深思著說。「或許在病人告訴我們的故事中,有暗喻存在。我很感激能有機會為這位老人失序的生活作出貢獻。」

相關文章:

什麼是安寧療護?它讓病患和家庭自行掌握

What is Hospice? It is a Full Range of Care

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Hospice Chaplain Story:
Making a Difference in a Disheveled Life

chaplain header

A New Patient

When Rabbi Michael Cohen walked into a nursing home to visit a 90-year-old Jewish man who was a new VITAS patient, the receptionist warned him that the new resident was angry, probably about someone on the staff. Michael remembers being surprised at the disarray of the room when he got to the door. He introduced himself and asked the man how he was.

“How do you think I feel?” the man shot back. “I'm 90 and I’m decrepit!” And he launched into a harangue, Michael says, against rabbis and the rabbinic establishment and society and the Western World. He had one warm spot, for a lesser-known Jewish rabbi philosopher.

“He was very vigorous for a 90-year-old man,” Michael quips. “But it was unpleasant. And I wondered how I would find a foothold to enter the conversation.”

chaplain side image

Providing Spiritual Support

Welcome to the world of chaplaincy, when trained religious leaders from every sect and denomination learn to minister to wide and varied populations. There are chaplains on college campuses and on battlefields, in prisons and in hospitals. Michael Cohen is a hospice chaplain for VITAS Healthcare in Dallas. He may meet with a patient who is a devout Catholic or a devout Jew. Or who is devoutly of no religion at all. His job is to be there, understand, provide spiritual comfort or make arrangements for another religious leader to come to the home. Chaplains never know quite what to expect—or what is expected of them.

Apply to become a VITAS chaplain

But that day Michael recognized the obscure philosopher the man held in esteem. More importantly, Michael addressed the man’s death frankly and calmly, asking him about his COPD and how he wanted to use the time he had remaining. It seems the man’s family had recently moved him to this memory care facility and not had time to settle him in. In fact, they hadn’t had time to tell him he was on hospice. The man was infuriated by the spate of caregivers who kept appearing at his bedside. He was confused and angry.

Connection Between Souls

So Michael and the patient talked. About the philosopher. About Judaism. About the man’s family. About leaving a legacy and what that might mean for him. In the end, the man went from tyrant to teddy bear. “Who am I to tell people what to think?” he asked Michael when the talk turned to ethical will writing. 

“The hour went by quickly, and we both looked forward to our next meeting,” Michael says, pleased but not surprised by the turn-around. “My identification as a rabbi was both a lure and a target for him. But no doubt about it, there was a connection between souls that day.

“Chaplains fill a role,” he says reflectively. “There may be a metaphor implicit in the stories our patients tell us. I feel so gratified to have the chance to make a difference in this man’s disheveled life.”

Related Articles:

What is Hospice? It Puts the Patient and Family in Control

What is Hospice? It is a Full Range of Care