請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

什麼原因讓安寧療護護士如此不凡?

安寧療護護士的關懷

In a Word: Compassionate

伊莉莎白是VITAS的護士,工作時間從下午4點至上午8點,負責 Telecare®回應病人或家屬半夜時的呼叫。 有時候他們僅需要有人回覆他們的呼叫,以安撫他們,或讓他們道出恐懼。 But most callers want a skilled, calm, compassionate 安寧療護護士 to walk in the front door and know what to do. That's when Elizabeth shines.

Search VITAS Healthcare nursing jobs and apply online

「有時候我前去提供說明。我們為了控制疼痛而施打嗎啡,家屬會擔心劑量過高而對他們的至親造成傷害。有時候我前去提供支持。他們擔心病人已經兩天沒進食,一直在睡覺,沒有反應。病人這種症狀與中午時是相同的狀況,但是發生在午夜時就格外令人害怕。

Guiding Families

「有時我前往宣佈死亡。呼叫者說病人的狀況正在惡化中,而我立刻發覺她其實是瀕臨死亡。於是,我們坐下來陪她,目睹最安詳的轉變,特別是如果她先前處於痛苦狀態或無法呼吸。死亡是一件美麗的事;它讓人從這個世界的痛苦中解脫。

「但是,這時候我的思維轉向家屬,因為即使他們知道她終將死亡,卻仍然是一種震驚。我協助他們決定某些事情、聯絡葬儀社、當遺體從家中移走時,我會陪伴著他們,因為這可能會帶來極大的心靈震撼。

「但是我熱愛這份工作!」 伊莉莎白表示。「我擔任護士已經很多年了,我在VITAS的工作經驗,讓我第一次開始愛上這份工作。病人和家屬對我的反應與醫療界中的事情不同。死亡是大家最難承受的一件事,但是我可以協助他們。」

相關文章:

帶來喜悅的安寧療護護士

無微不至的安寧療護護士

專注的安寧療護護士

What Makes Hospice Nurses Great?

安寧療護護士是病患的最大支持者

A Day in the Life of a Hospice Nurse

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

What Makes a Hospice Nurse Great?

Hospice Nurse Compassion

In a Word: Compassionate

Elizabeth is a VITAS nurse working 4 p.m. to 8 a.m., responding to Telecare® calls from patients or families in the middle of the night. Sometimes all they need is a call back to reassure them or let them voice their fears. But most callers want a skilled, calm, compassionate hospice nurse to walk in the front door and know what to do. That’s when Elizabeth shines.

Search VITAS Healthcare nursing jobs and apply online

“Sometimes I go to explain things. We administer morphine for pain control, and families are worried about overdosing their loved one. Sometimes I go to offer support. They’re worrying that the patient hasn’t eaten in two days, sleeps all the time, isn’t responding. It’s the same symptoms the patient had at noon, but it’s more frightening at midnight.

Guiding Families

“Sometimes I go to pronounce a death. The caller says the patient is declining, and I see immediately that she is actively dying. So we sit with her, and we watch the most peaceful transition, especially if she was in pain or struggling to breathe. Death is a beautiful thing; it’s a rest from this world’s turmoil.

“But then I turn to the family, because even though they knew she was going to die, it’s always a shock. I guide them in making some decisions, call the funeral home, stay with them as the body is removed from the home, which can be traumatizing.

“But I love this work!” Elizabeth says. “ I’ve been a nurse for years, and my experience with VITAS is the first time I’ve loved it. The response I get from my patients and families is unlike anything in medicine. Death is one of the most difficult things people can endure, and I am able to guide them.”

Related Articles:

Joyful Hospice Nurses

Thorough Hospice Nurses

Dedicated Hospice Nurses

What Makes Hospice Nurses Great?

Hospice Nurses are Patient Advocates

A Day in the Life of a Hospice Nurse