請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

學習接受難以承受的事

安慰母親的女兒

人們因為愛而感到哀傷。道理很簡單;更深入來說,我們因為有能力愛,所以能從絕望的哀傷中走出來。哀傷情緒的表達,每個人不盡相同; 並且,哀傷可能是一段數月或數年的困難過程。

不相信事實的保護心理

至親者過世後抱持不相信態度是一種調適性的情緒反應;這種反應可免去失去親人的痛苦,也讓喪親者可在親人過世後立即處理一切後事細節。

不相信事實通常是暫時性的。一般人無法輕易或立即接受痛苦的事實,且這可能是令人身心俱疲的過程。當人們感到喪親之痛時,通常會陷入極度的悲傷中。人們無法想像沒有親人的生活,且會懷疑一切是否會再好起來。

親人過世會讓在世者失去信心。配偶過世會讓另一方認清再度成為單身的事實,並承擔另一半以前所做的工作。

想哭且易怒的情緒

有些喪親者無法和其他人相處。聊天起不了作用。許多人會突然哭泣或容易發怒。有些人對自己的情緒感到慚愧,有時覺得他們「現在早就應該感到好多了」。

至親者過世後,另一種常見的情緒是有罪惡感。有些喪親者會想如果自己做更多,親人是否就不會過世或遭受痛苦。他們會對自己放鬆心情、獨活或不傷心覺得有罪惡感。他們會對彼此關係中曾經或不曾經發生的事感到有罪惡感。

此外,幾乎所有喪親者在哀傷過程中一度會感到生氣。他們會對自己、親友感到生氣,甚至對上帝讓他們的親人去世感到生氣。

覺醒

但是,經過一段時間後,喪親者漸漸會接受事實並覺醒過來。此時,精神和希望開始回來。許多人可以分清對自己有意義的事,並有信心自己有能力學習好完成至親者以前所做工作的技能。以前的人際關係會恢復;會建立新的人際關係。

所有這些感覺都是哀傷過程的一部份,且都是正常的。雖然這些都是很痛苦的經驗,但人們還是要抒發這些情緒,生活才能繼續向前遇進。哀傷過程可讓人們在過程的開始所無法想像的方式成長。

相關文章:

幫助哀傷兒童指引

預想性哀傷


(由 舊金山灣區的VITAS Healthcare提供。MSW的Robin Fiorelli是VITAS喪慟和義工服務的全美資深總監)。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Learning to Accept the Unacceptable

Daughter comforting mother

People grieve because they have loved. It’s that simple. What’s more, it is our ability to love that allows us to heal from the despair of grief. Grief is unique to each person and can entail hard work over a period of months or years.

Protective Disbelief

The feeling of disbelief that follows the death of a loved one is an adaptive response—one that protects from the pain of loss and also allows the bereaved to manage the details involved in making final arrangements immediately following the death.

The disbelief is usually temporary. Embracing the painful reality does not happen quickly or easily, and it can be an exhausting process. When the loss sinks in, it is typical to feel profound sadness. It is difficult to imagine life without this loved one, and there are doubts about ever feeling OK again.

Death can shake confidence in surviving family members. Death forces the surviving spouse to establish an identity as a single person again, to take on tasks his or her partner used to perform.

Tears and Irritability

Some bereaved people have difficulty being with others. Small talk seems trivial. Many cry unexpectedly or are irritable. Some feel embarrassed about the emotions they have, and sometimes feel like they “should be feeling better by now.”

Guilt is another common emotion after the death of a loved one. Some bereaved question whether they could have done more to prevent death or suffering. They may feel guilty at their relief, that they survived or that they feel no sorrow. They may feel guilty about things that did or did not happen in the relationship.

In addition, almost all bereaved people feel angry at some point during their grief process. They may feel angry at themselves, at their family and friends, and even at God for letting their loved one die.


Over time, however, there is a growing acceptance and a reawakening. Energy and hope begin to return. Many are able to define what is meaningful to them and find confidence in acquiring skills to accomplish tasks previously performed by their loved ones. Old relationships are restored; new ones are formed.

All these feelings are a part of the grieving process and are normal. Even though they are painful to experience, they need to be expressed in order to move forward in life. The grieving process allows people to grow in ways they could not imagine at the beginning of the process.

Related Articles:

Guidelines for Helping Grieving Children

Anticipatory Grief

(Provided by VITAS Healthcare in the San Francisco Bay Area. Robin Fiorelli, MSW, is senior national director of bereavement and volunteer services for VITAS.)